
 

 

To:  MaineCare Member 

From:   Stefanie Nadeau, Director, Office of MaineCare Services   

   

Date:   March 9, 2012   

  

NOTICE OF REDUCTION IN MAINECARE SERVICES 
 

Starting April 1, 2012, some MaineCare services will be reduced or changed. These changes are required as 

part of the Department of Health and Human Services’ Supplemental Budget, which was signed by Governor 

LePage on February 26, 2012.  PUBLIC Law, Chapter 477, LD 1816, 125
th

 Maine State Legislature.   

 

MAINECARE SERVICE REDUCTIONS AND CHANGES ARE LISTED BELOW: 

MCBM Section 75: Vision Services  

 

Adults on MaineCare will only get a routine eye exam once every three (3) years. MaineCare had paid for these 

routine exams once every two (2) years.  

 

Members in ICF-MR will continue to get one (1) routine eye exam per year.  

 

MaineCare will still pay for exams by ophthalmologists if needed.  For example, if you have a medical 

diagnosis such as diabetes or use certain medication such as the use of Plaquinil, then you may be able to get an 

exam more often.   

 

These changes apply only to adults.  

MCBM Section 15: Chiropractic Services   

 

Chiropractic Services will be limited to 12 visits each year. This change applies only to adults.  

MCBM Section 80: Pharmacy Services  

 

Two brand limit – MaineCare Services will now pay for only two brand-name prescriptions each month.  

However, you can get more than two brand name drugs each month if there is no generic available or you get 

Prior Authorization.  

 

This new limit will not apply to some people and some types of drugs.  Some examples of when the two-brand 

limit does not apply include: 



 

 children under the age of twenty-one,  

 pregnant women,  

 brand-name drugs required by federal law,  

 brand-name drugs for the treatment of cancer, HIV or AIDS,  

 brand-name antipsychotic drugs,  

 brand-name drugs that the Department has determined to be more cost-effective than a generic.  

 

45-day narcotic limit – There will be a limit of 45 days for new narcotic prescriptions. This does not include 

prescriptions for members who are receiving cancer treatment, HIV/AIDS or Hospice Care. This change applies 

only to adults.  

 

For MaineCare members who have been receiving opioids for the treatment of chronic pain for greater than one 

year, this 45-day limit will start on September 1, 2012.  

 

Smoking cessation – This change only affects adults. There will be new yearly limits for MaineCare members. 

These limits have not been determined. This information will be provided by the Department as soon as 

possible.  

 

Discontinue reimbursement for nutritional products at retail pharmacies – MaineCare will no longer pay 

for nutritional supplements, such as baby formula or Ensure, at retail pharmacies.  

 

MaineCare will still pay for nutritional supplements if purchased at medical supply dealers. In some cases, you 

may be able to get these products through the Woman, Infants and Children (WIC) program.  

 

These products may be covered for members who have a chronic illness or trauma and cannot eat orally but 

Prior Authorization is required.  

MCBM Section 60: Durable Medical Equipment  

 

Durable Medical Equipment (DME) by mail – MaineCare members will be required to buy certain DME 

supplies by mail. The full list of supplies that members will need to buy through mail will be provided at a later 

date. 

 

Reduction of DME supplies to medical supply stores – MaineCare members will not be able to purchase 

some DME supplies at medical supply stores. You will need to buy them at a retail pharmacy. These include 

diabetic supplies such as: Lancets, Lancet Device, Syringes/Needles, Monitor devices, and Test strips. 

 

No Appeal Rights:  MaineCare members have no right to appeal these reductions in MaineCare services or to 

request a hearing because the MaineCare Benefits Manual (MCBM) is being amended by rulemaking to reduce 

these services.  

 

Please remember that all of these changes will start on April 1, 2012. Your provider will be able to answer 

questions about what Policy Section covers your services and if your services will change in any way. If you 

have questions, please contact Member Services at 1-800-977-6740. The TTY number is: 1-800-977-6741.   

 

You can also find MaineCare rules at: http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/oms/rules/provider_rules_policies.html. 

http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/oms/rules/provider_rules_policies.html

