Maine Injury Prevention Program

Safe Communities

Group of kids

Safe Communities Coalitions are groups of individuals and/or organizations working together in a common effort for a common purpose to make more effective and efficient use of their resources.

Characteristics of a safe community coalition include:

  • Collaboration,
  • Coordination,
  • Cooperation,
  • Networking, and
  • Partnering.

Some key indicators of a working Safe Community coalition are:

  • Shared Resources,
  • Joint Planning,
  • Common Goals,
  • Shared Sense of Purpose, and
  • Shared Responsibility of Outcomes.

List of Safe Communities Coalitions in Maine:

  • Farmington
    Sandy Richard (non funded)
    Leah Binder
    Health Community Coalition
    PO Box 566
    Farmington, Maine 04938
    Phone: 778-7724 or 778-7283
    Fax: 778-7195
    Srichard@fchn.org
    Lbinder@fchn.org
  • Lewiston/Auburn
    Tammy Lachance (non funded)
    Sarah Buswell
    Lisa Asselin
    Injury Prevention
    Central Maine Medical Center
    300 Main Street
    Lewiston, Maine 04240
    Phone: 795-2839
    Fax: 795-2726
    Lachanct@cmhc.org
    Buswells@cmhc.org
    Asselinl@cmhc.org

    Melissa Toussaint (funded)
    Child Passenger Fitting Stations
    625 Court Street
    Auburn, Maine 04210
    Phone: 782-5437, ext. 30
    Fax: 753-0105
    Mtsaint@exploremaine.com
  • Lubec
    Mike Doran (funded)
    Regional Medical Center at Lubec
    Downeast Safe Kids
    RR 2, Box 380
    Lubec, Maine 04652
    Phone: 733-4760
    Fax: 733-2847
    Mdoran@rmcl.org
     
    Robin Gautier, Supervisor
    Phone: 733-2939

Links: