Great news for Maine’s children -- as of January 1, 2010, all children 18 and under in Maine will be eligible to get hearing aid benefits through their health insurance!
MCD fought for many years to get Maine’s Legislature to pass a law requiring health insurers to provide hearing aid benefits for kids. There is an exception: many kids are not covered by this law because their parents’ health insurance comes from self-insured employers. If you fall into that category, ask your employer to voluntarily provide the hearing aid benefit. Contact MCD for help!
New rules for Maine Newborn Bloodspot Screening:
As of December 1st 2009, The Maine Newborn Bloodspot Screening Program has adopted new program rules. One notable change in these program rules is the increase in the price of filter paper from $52 to $110. Please feel free to contact us with questions or concerns.
SIBSHOPS are a celebration of the many contributions made by brothers and sisters.This national program's primary goal is to increase the availability of peer support and education opportunities for these brothers and sisters.
For more information contact
Lori Griffiths (207) 859-8778 ext. 4413
Lindsay Tardiff (207) 859-8778 ext. 4411