Maine Center for Disease Control and Prevention
WIC Nutrition Program

Effective: October 1, 2012 Policy No. OM-14
Revised: August 1, 2016

Mandated Reporting and Confidentiality

Authority

Chapter 958-A; 81981, C. 527 §1, (Adult Protective Services Act Heading) Subchapter 1-A,
81981, C. 705, 82 (Reporting of Abuse, Neglect or Exploitation)

Title 22 §4011-A, Subtitle 3 (Income Supplementation)

Public Law 1973, C. 790, 81 (AMD) Part 3: Children, Chapter 1071 (Child and Family Services
and Child Protection Act) Subchapter 2 (Reporting of Abuse and Neglect)

Title 22 84002 (Definition of Child Physical Abuse, Neglect, Sexual Abuse/Exploitation,
Emotional Abuse)

22 MRSA, Chapter 958-A, 83477 (Maine Adult Protective Services Act)

Title 17-A 8555 (Definition of an Incapacitated Adult)

Policy

1.

As mandated reporters under State law, State and Local Agency staff shall be required to
report known or suspected child abuse, neglect or jeopardy to health or welfare of a child.

A report shall be required when a person knows or has reasonable cause to suspect that a
child has been or is likely to be abused or neglected.

Procedure

1.

1.1.

For suspected adult abuse, WIC staff shall be responsible for making a report to Adult
Protective Services when the staff member has reasonable cause to suspect that an
incapacitated or dependent adult has been or is in danger of abuse, neglect, or
exploitation.

WIC staff shall be legally required to make a report to Adult Protective Services
Intake at 1-800-624-8404 (TTY 1-800-624-8404), or using the online form
(https://www.maine.gov/dhhs/oads/aging/aps/intake.shtml), immediately or as soon
as possible, if they suspect abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a dependent or
incapacitated adult who does not have developmental disabilities. The Intake Unit is
available to receive reports 24 hours a day.

For suspected child abuse by a caretaker or parent, WIC staff shall be legally required to
make a report to the Child Protective Intake Unit of the Department of Health and Human
Services at 1-800-452-1999 (TTY Maine Relay 711) immediately or as soon as possible,
if the abuse of a child is by a caretaker or parent. The Intake Unit is available to receive
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4.1.

4.2.

4.3.

4.4,

reports 24 hours a day. See Appendix OM-15-A Mandated Reporting Worksheet for
information that may be asked when making a report to Child Protective Intake.

For suspected child abuse by someone other than the caretaker or parent, WIC staff must
make a report to the appropriate county District Attorney's office:

1st Prosecutorial District Attorney (York County)
207.363.7434

2nd Prosecutorial District Attorney (Cumberland County)
207.871.8384

3rd Prosecutorial District Attorney (Androscoggin/Franklin/Oxford Counties)
207.753.2500

4th Prosecutorial District Attorney (Kennebec/Somerset Counties)
207.623.1156

5th Prosecutorial District Attorney (Penobscot/Piscataquis Counties)
207.942.8552

6th Prosecutorial District Attorney (Knox/Lincoln/Sagadahoc/Waldo Counties)
207.594.0424

7th Prosecutorial District Attorney (Hancock/Washington Counties)
207.667.4621

8th Prosecutorial District Attorney (Aroostook Counties)
207.498.2557

In making a report, State and Local Agency staff may disclose confidential applicant and
participant information including the name and address of the child or adult; name and
address of the person responsible for care, custody, or welfare of the child or dependent
adult; and any other pertinent information concerning the alleged or suspected abuse
without the consent of the participant or applicant to the extent necessary to comply with
such law.

When a report is made, all the information provided, when and to whom the
information was given, must be documented in the client’s file.

State law requires mandated reporters to identify themselves when they call, however,
confidentiality may be requested.

Confidentiality means that the caseworker shall not reveal the reporter’s identity
unless the case goes to court.

WIC staff may use their own judgment to determine what constitutes pertinent
information and may refuse to release information requested by investigators if the
information is not believed to be pertinent. CPS or APS may contact WIC clinics to
assist with cases that did not stem from a report originally filed by WIC staff.
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4.5.

6.1.

6.2.

6.3.

6.4.

In this situation, WIC staff may inform the CPS or APS investigator about the federal
WIC confidentiality provisions and the need for client permission to provide any
information.

Child abuse or neglect means a threat to a child’s health or welfare due to physical,
mental or emotional injury, sexual abuse or exploitation, deprivation of essential needs or
lack of protection from these by a parent or caregiver responsible for the child.

Examples of jeopardy to health or welfare of a child include but are not limited to:

Deprivation of adequate food, clothing, shelter, supervision, care, or education when
the child is at least age 7 and has not started school.

Deprivation of necessary health care when the deprivation places the child in danger
of serious harm.

Abandonment of the child or absence of any person responsible for the child that
creates a threat of serious harm.

The end of voluntary placement, when the imminent return of the child to his or her
custodian causes a threat of serious harm.

Reporting of suspected child or adult abuse does not constitute a violation of
confidentiality provisions.

WIC staff who make a report in good faith are protected under the law from being sued in
civil court.

Mandated reporter training may be accessed on the DHHS Child and Family Services
website at http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/ocfs/cps/.
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