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Maine Center for Disease Control and Prevention 

WIC Nutrition Program 

Effective: October 1, 2012                Policy No. CE-1 

Revised: August 1, 2014 

Eligibility Application Process, Identification Requirements and 

Documentation 

Authority 

7 CFR §246.4(a)(6), (10), (11)(i) and (19); §246.7; 

22 MRSA §255 and §1951; 

10-44 CMR, Chapter 286 §II.F; 

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) of 1990; 42 USC 12101 et seq.; 

Rehabilitation Act of 1973; 29 USC 794 §504 

Public Law 105-336 §203(a)(1)  

FNS Policy Memo #96-1, Non-Birth Mothers Certified as Breastfeeding Women  

FNS Policy Memo #99-4, Self-Declaration of Residency 

Policy 

1. The State Agency shall require all Local Agencies to use a standardized application 

process for all persons applying for the Maine CDC WIC Nutrition Program. 

2. To be certified as eligible for the Program, applicants must meet residency, identity and 

physical presence requirements as follows: 

2.1 Live in Maine 

2.2 Meet the Maine CDC WIC Nutrition Program’s income eligibility guidelines  

2.3 Meet the Maine CDC WIC Nutrition Program’s nutrition risk criteria; and 

2.4 Be in one of the following categories: 

2.4.1  A pregnant woman 

2.4.2 A nonbreastfeeding woman within 6 months of delivery 

2.4.3 A breastfeeding woman within 12 months of delivery who is 

breastfeeding or pumping at least once per day 
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2.4.4  An infant from birth through 12 months of age; or 

2.4.5  A child from age 12 months (1 year) to 60 months (up to the 5
th

 

birthday). 

3. A pregnant woman who is physically present and meets the income eligibility standards 

may be presumed eligible to participate in the program, and may be certified for 

participation immediately without an evaluation of nutrition risk.  Verification of 

residency and identity must be done at this visit. 

4. Local Agencies may issue such presumptively eligible participants up to 30 days of food 

benefits and schedule an appointment for a complete certification visit, at which time 

income eligibility and nutrition risk must be assessed and assigned.  

5. The State Agency shall require documentation of residency, identity and income at the 

time of certification.  If residency information is missing, the Local Agency shall require 

a signed statement explaining why documentation of residency is not available. 

6. An applicant with no proof of identity and/or residency cannot be certified or issued food 

instruments except in situations where the applicant is a victim of theft, loss, or disaster; 

or a homeless individual, a migrant, or an individual who is institutionalized. 

7. The State Agency shall use temporary (up to 30-day) certifications for individuals who 

do not present necessary proof of income at the time of application. 

8. The State Agency shall require that the applicant be physically present at the time of 

certification or that a valid exception be documented.  Valid exceptions shall include: 

8.1 The applicant or parent/caretaker is an individual with disabilities which prevent 

him/her from being physically present at the WIC clinic (e.g., medical equipment, 

bed-rest, or serious illness exacerbated by coming in to clinic). 

8.2 The applicant is an infant or child receiving documented ongoing health care from 

any health care provider, including the Local Agency; being physically present 

would pose an unreasonable barrier; or the infant or child was present at his/her 

initial WIC certification. 

8.3 The applicant is an infant under 8 weeks of age who cannot be present at the time 

of certification (for a reason determined to be appropriate by the Local Agency) 

and for whom all necessary certification information is provided. 

Procedure 

1. Proof of identification must be shown for all applicants and individuals serving as 

authorized representative/proxy at all certification appointments. The table below lists 

acceptable forms of identification: 
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Generally Available: Other Sources: 

Women (All Categories) 

Driver’s license/State ID Pay stubs 

MaineCare Card Utility bills 

DHHS case paperwork Hospital discharge summary 

School picture ID/Registration Immunization record 

Passport/Green Card Ultrasound record 

Military ID  

Social Security Card  

Birth Certificate  

Infants/Children 

Birth Certificate Hospital discharge summary 

Social Security Card/application Head Start enrollment 

paperwork 

Immunization record  

Hospital Nursery Crib Card  

Hospital bracelet  

Passport  

MaineCare Card  

DHHS case paperwork listing child’s 

name 

 

Court Appointed Custody Order  

2. Applicants must show proof of residency at each certification/recertification.  

2.1 Proof of residency must include documentation of physical residence address.  

Potential sources for verifying residency include:  

Generally Available: Other Sources: 

Voter registration card Home visit 

Job offer/rejection letter Collateral contact 

Utility bills Telephone directory 

Rent receipts, mortgage receipts, 

lease agreements 

Tax office records 

Driver’s license Church or synagogue records 

Piece of mail received at stated 

residence address  

 

Real estate tax receipts  

Renter’s, home owner’s, or standard 

fire insurance policy 

 

School registration  
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2.2 Active enrollment in an adjunctively-eligible program (MaineCare/TANF/SNAP) is 

considered proof of residency for the household. 

2.3 Self-declaration of residency is not acceptable for eligibility. 

2.4 Migrant farm works are considered Maine residents as long as their temporary abode 

is within Maine borders.  

3. Participant/Authorized Representative Certification Signatures: At each certification or 

recertification for program benefits, WIC staff members must do the following: 

3.1 Document proof of income, residency and identification in the participant 

electronic record 

3.2 Document physical presence in the participant electronic record 

3.3 Review program rights and responsibilities (located inside the WIC ID Folder, 

Appendix CE-A1) with the participant or authorized representative/proxy. 

3.4 Have the participant or authorized representative/proxy sign the SPIRIT signature 

pad, acknowledging understanding and agreement to participant program rights 

and responsibilities.  

4. Physical presence at certification must be documented in the participant electronic record.  

Documentation to establish an exception to the physical presence requirements as 

enumerated in the above policies must be maintained in the participant electronic record.  

Acceptable forms of documentation include a statement from a physician or other health 

care provider. 

5. In accordance with the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) of 1990 and Section 504 

of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, WIC agencies must provide “reasonable 

accommodations” for persons with disabilities.  If an applicant, participant or authorized 

representative has a disability that makes it difficult to come to a WIC clinic for 

certification, the applicant or participant may be certified without being physically 

present. 

5.1 Not all persons with a disability are categorically exempt from the physical 

presence requirement. 

5.2 Only those disabilities that create a current barrier to the physical presence 

requirement may serve as a basis for an exception. 

6. Local Agencies must make every effort to schedule working clients, parents and 

guardians at times that will not jeopardize their employment.  Early morning, lunch hour 

and evening appointment times should be made available to reduce barriers to 

certification. 
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7. The length of time an applicant may be exempt from the physical presence requirement 

will be handled on an individual basis. 

7.1 The exemption is only applicable to the certification period for which it was 

provided and must be reassessed at a subsequent certification. 

7.2 The Local Agency director or nutritionist must confirm the need to continue the 

exemption.  This may be based on the previous documentation or a phone consult 

with the client’s health care provider. 

8. Persons living in institutions may participate in the Maine CDC WIC Nutrition Program 

if the following provisions are met:  

8.1 The institution does not financially benefit from the person’s participation in the 

Program (e.g. the institution does not reduce the quantity of food the person is 

receiving because he/she is receiving WIC foods).  

8.2 The WIC foods are not used for communal feeding. 

8.3 The institution does not place constraints on the WIC participant’s ability to use 

WIC foods or the available WIC services. 

9. Homeless persons without a permanent address are eligible for Program benefits.  Those 

living in institutions serving the homeless are eligible as long as the facility complies 

with the requirements previously listed for institutionalized individuals.  

9.1 Institutions may be required to sign a written statement agreeing to comply with 

these conditions.  On-site monitoring of the institution may be performed by State 

or Local Agency staff. 

10. U.S. citizenship is not required for persons who are otherwise eligible to participate in the 

Maine CDC WIC Program. Maine CDC WIC regulations prohibit either acknowledging 

participation by non-citizens or releasing any information (including names and 

addresses) to the Immigration and Naturalization Service (INS).  Categories of aliens are 

as follows:  

10.1 Non-Resident Illegal Aliens- those who have resided in the U.S. since before 

January 1, 1982 and have applied for amnesty under the Immigration and Reform 

Act of 1986, and those who are in the U.S. illegally and not eligible to apply for 

amnesty.  

10.2 Resident Legal Aliens- aliens who have green cards 

10.3 Non-Resident Legal Aliens-legal aliens such as students or tourists who are in the 

U.S. temporarily 
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11. Foster Children:  A foster child for whom the State is legally responsible shall be 

considered a one-person family. 

12. One Maine CDC WIC ID Folder (Appendix CE-A1) is issued to each family upon 

enrollment into the program.  The ID folder is signed by the participant/authorized 

representative and the proxy(ies) (if designated).  The folder contains program 

information as well as the current authorized WIC food list. 

12.1 The Local Agency must store unused WIC ID Folders in a secure location.  

12.2 Local Agency WIC staff issue one family ID folder per family unit when 

applicant(s) is/are initially certified. 

12.3 Authorized representative/participant shall sign on the designated line.  

12.4 If a proxy(ies) has been named, the authorized representative is instructed to have 

the proxy(ies) sign the proxy signature line before the next appointment.  

12.5 If no proxy has been designated, the proxy portion of the folder is crossed through 

with an X in pen by WIC staff.  

12.6 Local Agency name, address and phone number are stamped in the available area 

on the folder.  

12.7 Family/Household ID number is written on the designated line inside the folder.  

12.8 If the WIC ID folder is lost or stolen, the participant/authorized representative’s 

identity must be verified before another folder can be issued.  

12.8.1 Identifying documents such as a driver’s license, State ID card, or another 

official document shall be used for verification of participant’s identity for 

folder replacement. Identification cannot be based on staff recognition.  

12.8.2 Local Agency staff must document the date of the replacement and the 

reasons for the issuance of a new ID folder in the participant electronic 

record. 

12.9 ID folders are mailed only under unusual circumstances. The reasons for mailing 

must be documented in the participant electronic record.  When mailing ID 

folders, Local Agency staff must ensure the following: 

12.9.1 ID folders must be mailed via first-class mail. 

12.9.2 ID folders must be mailed in envelopes which contain the return address 

of the Local Agency. 
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12.9.3 Envelopes with ID folders must say “Return Service Requested”.  

13. The Local Agency must verify the identity of each participant at the initial certification 

and each recertification and document proof of identity in the participant electronic 

record. 

14. A woman who is breastfeeding a WIC infant she did not give birth to is eligible to be 

certified as a breastfeeding woman (FNS Policy Memo #96-1).  Examples may include a 

wet nurse, an adoptive mother or a foster mother.  

14.1 For non-birth women who are breastfeeding, all certification requirements 

(income, residency and nutrition risk) must be met at enrollment.  

14.2 Women expressing milk for donation to a milk bank do not qualify.  

14.3 If a woman who is breastfeeding a WIC infant she did not give birth to has a 

medical condition which contraindicates breastfeeding, she must be given the 

same information and referrals as a birth mother with the same condition(s).  In 

this instance, Local Agency staff is not obligated to certify the woman as 

breastfeeding.  

14.4 If a birth mother is eligible for the program and her infant is being breastfed by 

another woman, Local Agency staff may enroll the birth mother as 

nonbreastfeeding and the breastfeeding woman as a breastfeeding participant.  

Only one woman may be certified in the breastfeeding status, even if both women 

apply for that status.  

14.5 In determining eligibility, the infant is not required to reside with the non-birth 

breastfeeding woman.  Family size is determined by the woman claiming to have 

the infant in her residence.  The breastfed infant may not be counted in the family 

size of both women.  

14.6 The age of the WIC infant determines the length of time the non-birth 

breastfeeding woman may participate in the program.  The non-birth woman who 

is breastfeeding a WIC infant may participate in the program until she stops 

breastfeeding at least once per day, or when the infant turns 12 months of age, 

whichever occurs first.  


