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Maine Workplaces  
Support Nursing Moms 

Additional Breastfeeding                 
Protection in Maine:  
The Nursing in Public Law 

 
Maine law (5MRSA §4634) provides  
protection for women who nurse in  
public. A mother may breastfeed her 
baby in any location, public or private, 
where the mother is otherwise  
authorized to be.  
  
For More Information on  
Working and Pumping Visit:  
 
www.wicforme.com 
www.workandpump.com 
www.llli.org 

 Why do Maine workplaces  
 support nursing moms? 

 
Average annual savings equal  
   $400 per breastfed baby (lower     
 medical costs with fewer health  
  insurance claims) 

 
Reduces employee turnover 

 
Lowers employee absenteeism 

 
Improves employee productivity 

 
Raises employee morale and  

    company loyalty 
 
It’s the Law 

 
  
 What can Employees do  
 to make nursing in the  
 workplace easier? 
 
 Understand Maine’s Nursing  
     Mothers In The Workplace Law 

 Create “back to work” plan  
     before your baby is born 

 Exclusively breastfeed during  
    maternity leave 

 Determine scheduling and  
    support needs and talk to your  
    employer as soon as possible 

 Do a workplace walk-through,  
     and suggest ideas 

  What can Employers do to  
  support nursing mothers in  
  the workplace? 
 
Develop workplace policy and  
  determine who oversees  
  implementation  

 
Inform employees of new policy 

 
Determine clean, private place 

with access to electric outlets and 
a chair. Consider a walk through 
with your employee 

 
Offer flexible breaks 

 In September 2009, Maine’s  
  labor law was amended to  
  include the following: 
 
(a) For an employee who is a nursing 
mother, the employer shall for three 
years after the birth of a child:  
 
* provide adequate unpaid break   

time, or permit an employee to use 
paid break time or meal time each 
day to express breast milk for her 
nursing child. 

  
* make reasonable efforts to provide   
 a clean room or other location, 
 other than a bathroom, where an 
 employee may express breast milk 
 in privacy. 

 
(b) An employer may be exempted  

 from this section if providing time or   
an appropriate private space for  
expressing breast milk would  
substantially disrupt the employer’s 
operations. 

 
(c) An employer shall not retaliate or 
discriminate against an employee 
who exercises the right provided  
under this section. 

What can employees do if  
they feel their rights have  
been violated? 
 
An employee who believes her right to 
express milk has been violated should 
contact: The Maine Department of  
Labor Wage and Hour Division  
207-623-7900 or (TTY) 1-800-794-1110  
www.maine.gov/labor  
 
Maine Human Rights Commission  
207-624-6050 or TTY: 1-888-577-6690 
www.state.me.us/mhrc/ 
 
An employer who is found to have  
violated this law through a hearing  
process must pay a civil penalty of  
$100-$500 for every violation. 



DHHS 
Non-Discrimination Notice 

   The Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) does not discriminate on the basis of disability, race,    
color, creed, gender, sexual orientaƟon, age, or naƟonal origin, in admission to, access to, or operaƟons of its    
programs, services, or acƟviƟes, or its hiring or employment pracƟces.  This noƟce is provided as required by Title II 
of the Americans with DisabiliƟes Act of 1990 and in accordance with the Civil Rights Act of 1964 as amended,    
SecƟon 504 of the RehabilitaƟon Act of 1973, as amended, the Age DiscriminaƟon Act of 1975, Title IX of the      
EducaƟon Amendments of 1972 and the Maine Human Rights Act and ExecuƟve Order Regarding State of Maine 
Contracts for Services.  QuesƟons, concerns, complaints or requests for addiƟonal informaƟon regarding the ADA 
may be forwarded to DHHS’ ADA Compliance/EEO Coordinators, 11 State House StaƟon – 221 State Street,         
Augusta, Maine 04333, 207‐287‐4289 (V), 207‐287‐3488 (V), TTY users call Maine relay 711.  Individuals who need 
auxiliary aids for effecƟve communicaƟon in program and services of DHHS are invited to make their needs and 
preferences known to the ADA Compliance/EEO Coordinators.   
   The United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) prohibits discriminaƟon in its programs on the basis of race, 
color, naƟonal origin, sex, age, and disability. Persons with disabiliƟes who require alternaƟve means for            
communicaƟon of program informaƟon (Braille, large print, audiotape, etc.) should contact USDA’s TARGET Center 
at 202‐720‐2600 (voice and TDD). To file a complaint, write the Administrator, Food and NutriƟon Service, USDA, 
3101 Park Center Drive, Alexandria, Virginia 22302. USDA is an equal opportunity employer. 

                  
                   Caring…Responsive…Well-Managed 

                We Are DHHS. 


