Business Answers About Licensed Facilities
On this page:
- Do I need a license to operate a hotel, motel, or bed & breakfast?
- How do I apply for a Department of Health and Human Services license?
- How much does a license to operate a hotel, motel, bed & breakfast, or other lodging place cost?
- How soon can I open?
- Who is my district health inspector?
- How do I request an inspection?
A Department of Health and Human Services license is required for any building or part thereof which is used, maintained, advertised or held out to the public as a place where sleeping accommodations comprised of 4 or more rooms are offered as a business. Some examples include:
- Guest homes, and
Bed and breakfast facilities require a license regardless of the number of rooms offered, and must conform to the Maine Food Code.
Top of Page
How do I apply for a Department of Health and Human Services license?
You may download an application or call the Health Inspection Program’s main line at 207-287-5671 for a hard copy.The application requires you to provide information about the business owner and the proposal. You must provide a copy of a water test if you use a well as a water supply, and a copy of your septic system’s design if you are not on a public sewer; and provisions for food preparation and storage, a menu, and floor plan.
Please refer to the fee table located within the application.
Once the Health Inspector has given approval for you to operate your establishment, within 30 days of receipt of a complete application, if there are no outstanding issues, the Health Inspector will inform the Licensing Clerk to issue your license. This generally is within a week once the Health Inspector informs the Licensing Clerk.
You may call the Health Inspection Program main line at 207-287-5671 to find out who the inspector is for your town, or view a list in xls format.
Top of Page
How do I request an inspection?
Once your application has been submitted, your district health inspector will be in contact with you to set up a pre-operational inspection.If you need a routine inspection, you may contact the district health inspector directly.
This depends on the Health Inspectors schedule as inspections are prioritized. Once the Health Inspector has completed your inspection and given approval to operate, you may operate your establishment. You do not need to wait for the license as your inspection with the approval of the inspector is written on the report. You will generally receive your license within a week after approval. By statute the Health Inspection Program shall issue a license within 30 days of receipt of a complete application, if the establishment is found to comply with rules adopted by the Department.
The Health Inspector will make that determination based on how well he or she knows the establishment, history, and if you are making renovations or changes to your menu.
Top of Page
Who do I speak with if I have technical questions about the requirements to operate my restaurant?
Your district health inspector can assist you with these questions. You may call the Health Inspection Program main line at 207-287-5671 to find out who the inspector is for your town, or view a list in xls format.
No. Health Inspection Program licenses are not transferable.
Other regulations which may affect operation of a lodging place include, but are not limited to, the Maine Food Code; the Subsurface Wastewater Disposal Rules; the Drinking Water Rules; the Life Safety Code; and the Internal Plumbing Rules; Fire Marshall’s Office; and Liquor Licensing. You should also check with your local municipal officials to see if there are local zoning issues or permits that you must obtain before operating your establishment.
The Rules Relating to Lodging Establishments (CMR 206) can be downloaded from our website, or we can mail you a hard copy. Download a copy of the Rules.