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Maine Tax Credit Certification for Primary Care Professionals 

 
2014 Tax Year Instructions 

and 
2015 Tax Year Instructions 

 
 Subject: Instructions for completing either the 2014 Tax Year Initial Application and Attestation  
   Form OR the 2015 Tax Year Initial Application and Attestation Form  
   Deadline: Application must be postmarked no later than July 22, 2016 
 

Dear Primary Care Professional: 
 

The purpose of this document is to provide instructions for completing the application for an income tax 
credit for tax year 2014 or tax year 2015. The Tax Credit Certification Program for Primary Care 
Professionals allows up to five eligible primary care professionals, who are paying outstanding student 
loans, to be certified by the Division of Licensing and Regulatory Services (DLRS) to receive an income 
tax credit each year the program is in effect.  
 
Applications are subject to a competitive order of receipt process (so called “first-come first served”) as 
set out in the rules at Section 4.11.  Apply today. 
 
The Legislature has funded this program for five tax years: 2014 through 2018. The income tax credit 
claimed may not exceed $6,000 in the first year of certification; $9,000 in the second year; $12,000 in the 
third year; $15,000 in the fourth year; and $18,000 in the fifth year. DLRS will submit the names of the 
certified individuals to the Maine Revenue Services (MRS) that manages the income tax credit through 
the certified professional’s annual income tax return.  
 
To determine if you are eligible to be certified for an income tax credit, carefully read the statute and rules 
that are posted at http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/36/title36sec5219-LL.html  (statute) and 
http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/dlrs/rulemaking/adopted.shtml  (rules). 

 
This document contains specific instructions for the 2014 tax year and the 2015 tax year. Complete and 
submit the 2014 or the 2015 application (you cannot submit an application for both the 2014 and the 2015 
tax years).  Please note the following requirements: 

• Applications must be completed in pen (preferably blue ink). 
• All information must be legible. 
• The application must be filled out completely and all required documents must be submitted 

with the application. 
• Applications must be submitted by postal mail. Applications transmitted by any other means, 

such as fax or email will not be considered.  
• Only envelopes with a single (1) application will be considered for competitive review. 
• Applications that do not comply with these instructions will not be eligible for consideration. 

 
2014 Tax Year:  
Instructions for completing the Initial Application and Attestation Form  
 
(Page 1 of application form) 

• Print your full legal name 
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• Complete your Personal Residence Address 
• Complete all information under Health Profession Information and select an Eligible 

Professional Type.  NOTE:  If your licensure is not on the list provided, you are not eligible for 
the Tax Credit. 
Note: If you did not begin practicing primary care in an underserved area on or after 
January 1, 2013, you are not eligible for the 2014 tax credit.  

• Choose one of the three options under Attestation – Practice Establishment and indicate the date 
you joined, purchased or established a primary care medicine practice. 
 

 (Page 2 of application form)  
• Fully complete your Designated Practice Location. 
• Place a check-mark next to the Designated Underserved Area Type where the practice is  

located.  To confirm the type of designated practice, refer to the Primary Care Health  
 Professional Shortage Area map or the Medically Underserved Areas/Populations map  located 
on the Maine Rural Health and Primary Care Program website at: 
 http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/dlrs/rhpc/hpsa.shtml . 

• In the Required Supporting Documentation Check List, check off all documents required to be 
submitted with your application, and include copies of the documents with the application.  All 
required documents must accompany an application for the application to be considered 
complete. 

• Check all boxes in the Attestation- Commitment to Practice section. 
Sign your name and date the form. 
 

2015 Tax Year: 
Instructions for completing the Initial Application and Attestation Form: 

 
(Page 1 of application form) 

• Print your full legal name 
• Complete your Personal Residence Address 
• Complete all information under Health Profession Information and select an Eligible 

Professional Type.  NOTE:  If your licensure is not on the list provided, you are not eligible for 
the Tax Credit. 

• Choose one of the three options under Attestation – Practice Establishment and indicate the date 
you joined, purchased or established a practice. 
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• Fully complete your Designated Practice Location. 
• Place a check-mark next to the Designated Underserved Area Type where the practice is 

located.  To confirm the type of designated practice, refer to the Primary Care Health 
Professional Shortage Area map and/or the Medically Underserved Areas/Populations map, 
located on the Maine Rural Health and Primary Care Program website at: 
http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/dlrs/rhpc/hpsa.shtml  

• In the Required Supporting Documentation Check List, check off all documents required and       
submit copies of the documents with the application. All required documents must accompany an 
application for the application to be considered complete.  

• Check all boxes in the Attestation- Commitment to Practice section. 
• Sign your name and date the form.   

 
Completed forms must be mailed to: 

 
Director, Rural Health and Primary Care Program 

Division of Licensing and Regulatory Services 
41 Anthony Avenue 

#11 State House Station 
Augusta, Maine 04333-0011 


