
STATE OF MAINE 
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES 

Maine Center for Disease Control and Prevention  
Division of Environmental and Community Health 

 

Child Care Application 
SECTION 1: Provider/Facility Information 
1. Provider/Owner Name:       Date of Birth:       

     Former Names (i.e. maiden name, aliases):                                  Driver’s License #:       

2. Director Name (Facility/Nursery School only):       Date of Birth:       

     Former Names (i.e. maiden name, aliases):                                   Driver’s License #:       

3. Facility Name:       

4. Physical Address of Child Care Program:   
Street Address:       

City:                                                           State:                            Zip:                              County:       

5. Mailing Address of Child Care Program:  
Street Address or Post Office Box:       

City:       State:       Zip:        

6. Telephone No.: (     )     -      Fax No.: (     )     -      

Email Address:       
 

SECTION 2: Services 
 

What is the largest number of children to be in your care at any time:  
☐ Family Child Care:   ☐  3-6               ☐  7-12   

☐  Child Care Facility / Nursery School / Occasional Care Program: 

☐  3–12 (Small Facility)           ☐  13-20            ☐  21-49         ☐  50      ☐  more than 50 (indicate requested capacity):       

What age ranges of children do you intend to serve? Check all that apply: 

  ☐  6 weeks – 3 years   ☐  3 – 5 years of age ☐  5-12 years of age 

Source of Water Supply:  

☐  Municipal ☐  Well - Private Water Source Reminder: Submit the results with your application ☐  Other:       
 

 

Section 3: Fees 

Program Type:      ☐  Family Child Care                    ☐  Child Care Facility                     ☐  Nursery School 

New applications are for a provisional license/certificate with a term of one year.  Renewal applications are for a full license/ 
certificate with a term of two years.  

Fee Calculation Section 
 
Application Type: 

Program 
Type: 

Family Child 
Care 

Child Care 
Facility 

Nursery 
School 

Total 

☐  New application  $80 $120 $10 $ 
☐  Renewal      License #:       $160 $240 $10 $ 
☐  Change in Capacity                            $10 $ 
☐  Change in Director (Facility/Nursery Only)                           $10 $ 

Total check/money order enclosed: $ 

Make check or money order payable to “Treasurer, State of Maine”. 
Do not send cash. Credit card payments are not accepted. Application fees are non-refundable. 



SECTION 4: Background 
 
Are you now, or have you ever been, licensed, registered, or certified to provide services for children or adults??  
     ☐  No 
     ☐  If “yes”, please indicate the type of care, approximate dates of service, and name(s) under which you are or were    

licensed, registered, or certified to provide services for children or adults:        
 

Have you had any prior license or certificate sanctions issued to you, such as a conditional license/certificate, 
license/certificate suspension, denial of an application for a license/certificate, fine, or revocation regarding a child or 
adult care license, certificate, or approval issued to you? 
    ☐  No 
    ☐  Yes, please explain:         
 

Have you, or has anyone employed by you, (or, for family child care providers has anyone living in or frequenting your 
home) been:  

1) Convicted of a crime, including OUI and vehicle offenses?                               ☐  No  ☐  Yes 
2) Investigated by Child Protective Services or the Out of Home Investigations Unit? ☐  No  ☐  Yes 
3) Named as a defendant in a Protection from Abuse Order?                               ☐  No  ☐  Yes 
4) Named in a court order resulting in removal of children from care or custody?            ☐  No  ☐  Yes 

 

If you checked yes to any of the above, please explain:        
Failure to provide accurate and/or complete information may be grounds for denial and/or constitute a Class D crime. 

 
Have you ever been treated for drug and/or alcohol abuse?  
    ☐  No 
    ☐  Yes, please explain:        
 
Have you ever received mental health services?  
    ☐  No 
    ☐  Yes, please explain:       
 
Is there any other information that would be useful in assessing your ability to provide care for children?  
    ☐  No 
    ☐  Yes, please explain:       
 

SECTION 5: Submission Attachments 
 
Please submit the following documents with your completed application.  

  ☐ A non-refundable check or money order made payable to “Treasurer, State of Maine”  

  ☐ Authorization for Release of Information  (Must be signed by all adult household members and/or staff/volunteers 
for Family Child Care) 

 

Applications for increase in capacity must also include:  

   ☐ Documentation of zoning/code approval from the municipality where the program is physically located. 

 
New applications (ONLY) must also include the following documents: 

   ☐  Three (3) references 

   ☐  Floor plan 

   ☐  Documentation of zoning/code approval from the site municipality 

   ☐ Director’s transcript and proof of training (Child Care Facility / Nursery School ONLY) 

   ☐  Proof of Insurance (Child Care Facility / Nursery School ONLY) 

Incomplete applications will be returned. 



SECTION 6: Legal Structure 
 

Type of Operation:  
  ☐  Sole Proprietorship                  ☐  Partnership                  ☐  For-profit Corporation         ☐  Non-profit Corporation                                             
  ☐  Limited Liability Company      ☐  Association                  ☐  Trust    
Other (describe): _____________________________________________________________  

Legal Name and Charter Number:       

 
SECTION 6: Declaration 
I/We have received, read and understand the Rules governing the type of child care program for which I am/we are 
applying: 

☐  Rules for the Licensing of Child Care Facilities (effective 8.27.08) 

☐  Rules for the Licensing of Nursery Schools (effective 9.27.04)  

☐  Rules for the Certification of Family Child Care Providers (effective 7.1.09). 

I/We understand that this application authorizes representatives of the Department of Health and Human Services and 
the State Fire Marshal’s Office to make such visits and inspections as may be necessary to ensure that the facility is in 
compliance with the laws and rules pertaining to the operation of child care programs. 

I/We also understand that the signing of this application effectively serves as a release of information and gives 
permission to the Department of Health and Human Services to obtain any criminal, child protective, Out of Home 
Investigation, and motor vehicle records for owner/operator/director which may be on file in any Country, State or 
Federal Office. 

I/we understand that failure to disclose any criminal convictions, including operating under the influence (OUI), may 
result in denial of this application. 

 I/We certify that all information contained in this application is complete and accurate, and understand any falsification 
of statement may be grounds for denial and may be Unsworn Falsification, a Class D crime under 17-A M.R.S. §453. 
 
_______________________________________  _____________________________________  ____________________ 
Print name of Provider/Owner     Signature of Provider/Owner    Date 

_______________________________________  _____________________________________  ____________________ 
Print name of Director/Co-Applicant    Signature of Director/Co-Applicant   Date 

 
 

 
 
 

For questions regarding this program and/or application, please contact the following: 
 

Department of Health and Human Services 
Maine Center for Disease Control 

Division of Environmental and Community Health 
Child Care Licensing Unit 
286 Water St., 3rd Floor 
11 State House Station 

Augusta, ME 04333-0011 
 

Tel: (207) 287-5020   Fax: (207) 287-9304 Toll Free: 1-800-791-4080  TTY users call Maine relay 711 
 

Email: info.dhhs@maine.gov Web: http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/childcare  
 
 

mailto:info.dhhs@maine.gov
http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/childcare


Authorization for the Release of Personal History Information  
Provider, Adult Members of Household, Employees, and Volunteers of Family Child Care Providers 

 
Provider:  
By signing below, I authorize the release of confidential records or information regarding any criminal record, child protection 
record, Out of Home Investigation record, and/or motor vehicle record to the Department of Health and Human Services, 
Division of Environmental and Community Health. I understand that any information obtained as a result of this release of 
information will remain confidential, as required by law, and will be used solely for the purpose of determining whether a 
license or certificate to operate a child care should be granted or renewed.  This consent may be revoked by me, in writing, at 
any time, excepting information that has already been obtained.  

 
If any criminal record, child protection record, Out of Home Investigation record, or motor vehicle record indicates that a prior 
conviction or substantiated finding exists, the provider will need to provide evidence to the Division of Environmental and 
Community Health that any prior history has been addressed and the individual will not compromise or threaten the safety of 
any children in care. 
I understand that each adult member of my household, employee, and volunteer must complete the lower portion of this form, 
and that failure to do so is a violation of the child care licensing rules and may result in licensing action. 
 
Provider Name:            Family Child Care Certificate Number:       

Familiar Names (i.e. maiden name, aliases):       

Address:       

Telephone: (     )      -        Driver’s License #:        Date of Birth:       

Signature:          Date:          

 
Adult Household Members, Staff, and Volunteers: 
By signing below, adult household members and staff/volunteers authorize the Department of Health and Human Services, 
Division of Environmental and Community Health to obtain and disclose confidential records or information regarding that 
person’s criminal record, substantiated Child Protection Services record, substantiated and indicated Out of Home Investigation 
record, and/or motor vehicle record to the provider named above. Failure to disclose any criminal convictions, including 
operating under the influence (OUI), may result in licensing action. 
 

Full Name:       

Street Address:       

City, State & Zip:       

Telephone #:       

Date of Birth:       

Former/Maiden Name(s):       

Driver’s License #:       

 

Signature: _________________________________________ 

Full Name:       

Street Address:       

City, State & Zip:       

Telephone #:       

Date of Birth:       

Former/Maiden Name(s):       

Driver’s License #:       

 

Signature: _________________________________________ 

Full Name:       

Street Address:       

City, State & Zip:       

Telephone #:       

Date of Birth:       

Former/Maiden Name(s):       

Driver’s License #:       

 

Signature: _________________________________________ 

Full Name:       

Street Address:       

City, State & Zip:       

Telephone #:       

Date of Birth:       

Former/Maiden Name(s):       

Driver’s License #:       

 

Signature: _________________________________________ 
 

 



Adult Household Members, Staff, and Volunteers: 
 

 

Full Name:       

Street Address:       

City, State & Zip:       

Telephone #:       

Date of Birth:       

Former/Maiden Name(s):       

Driver’s License #:       

 

Signature: _________________________________________ 

 

Full Name:       

Street Address:       

City, State & Zip:       

Telephone #:       

Date of Birth:       

Former/Maiden Name(s):       

Driver’s License #:       

 

Signature: _________________________________________ 

 

Full Name:       

Street Address:       

City, State & Zip:       

Telephone #:       

Date of Birth:       

Former/Maiden Name(s):       

Driver’s License #:       

 

Signature: _________________________________________ 

 

 

Full Name:       

Street Address:       

City, State & Zip:       

Telephone #:       

Date of Birth:       

Former/Maiden Name(s):       

Driver’s License #:       

 

Signature: _________________________________________ 

 

Full Name:       

Street Address:       

City, State & Zip:       

Telephone #:       

Date of Birth:       

Former/Maiden Name(s):       

Driver’s License #:       

 

Signature: _________________________________________ 

 

Full Name:       

Street Address:       

City, State & Zip:       

Telephone #:       

Date of Birth:       

Former/Maiden Name(s):       

Driver’s License #:       

 

Signature: _________________________________________ 

 

Full Name:       

Street Address:       

City, State & Zip:       

Telephone #:       

Date of Birth:       

Former/Maiden Name(s):       

Driver’s License #:       

 

Signature: _________________________________________ 

 

Full Name:       

Street Address:       

City, State & Zip:       

Telephone #:       

Date of Birth:       

Former/Maiden Name(s):       

Driver’s License #:       

 

Signature: _________________________________________ 
 


