Maine Registry of Certified Nursing Assistants (CNA Registry)
The Maine Center for Disease Control has updated its website with useful information for child care providers regarding Recreational Water Illness. For more information, about healthy swimming.
Notice: To report complaints of abuse, neglect, or misappropriation call the complaint line: 1(800)383-2441
To get on the Maine Registry, you must be able to provide official documentation of formal CNA training that meets Maine’s Rules and Regulations, whether for immediate placement on the Registry or completing the Bridge Testing Process. If you can’t do this, you will need to successfully complete an approved 180-hr CNA course before you can be placed on the Registry. (Maine and federal laws do allow you to work as a CNA for up to 4 months in a long-term care facility while you are fulfilling the requirements for getting on the Registry.
Employers can only hire CNAs who are on Maine ’s CNA Registry, in good standing.
Lists those CNAs who, through training, competency testing, and clinical work experience, meet the federal and state requirements to work as Certified Nursing Assistants in Maine.
CNA Registry Questions
List of Employment Restrictions in Maine
Work as a CNA - Frequently asked Questions
Employers check the CNA Registry before hiring a CNA.
Legislature Statues for provider information about CNA education and training and a provider faqs
- Respond to inquiries
- Respond to inquiries from the public, health care providers, individual CNAs and other state CNA Registries;
- Protect the public
- Enhance public safety by annotating information related to known criminal convictions as required by Maine law and substantiated complaints as required by Federal law;
- Provide Information for CNAs
- Provide information regarding any State or federally mandated employment restrictions;
- Determine eligibility of applicants for placement on the Registry;
- Participate in appeals hearings.
- Post Training information to become a CNA
- Provide the opportunity for competency testing for non-traditional CNAs (CNAs who have not worked within the past two years, or those with comparable training of 150 hours or more trained in the military, out of state, or out of country) by issuing a contract with an independent contractor for testing;
- Determine eligibility of CNA candidates to take the Bridge Examination and provide a list of candidates to the Department of Education (Note: taking a Bridge Course is no longer an option.);
- Determine eligibility of CNAs to take the Medication Aide (CNA-M) Standardized Medication Course as prescribed by the Maine State Board of Nursing (MSBON).
Every state has a Registry
- Federal law requires every state to have a CNA Registry. The Maine Registry of Certified Nursing Assistants is operated in accordance with the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1987 (OBRA), state statutes and the Maine State Board of Nursing requirements (see Chapter V of their regulations).