
 
Instructions for Completing the State of Maine Application Form for 

Licensing as an Asbestos or Lead Business 
 
 
General Requirements: 
 
 Complete all sections of the application either by handing printing in ink or typing. 
 

 The application form must be legible or it will be rejected. 
 

 Separate application forms must be submitted for each license category you are applying for. 
 

 Include the appropriate application fee either by check or money order made payable to the Maine 
Environmental Protection Fund.  If there are not sufficient funds to cover the check transaction an insufficient 
funds fee will be assessed by the Department in accordance with State of Maine laws and policies. Until that 
insufficiency (by money order or bank check) is resolved, the Department will not accept any additional checks 
from the party. 

 

 Do Not send your original training certificates or education documents.  We accept photo copies. 
 

 Attach additional sheets as necessary. 
 

 Be sure to sign the completed application form. 
 

 No Walk-ins please.  We cannot process applications same day.  You can schedule an appointment with 
Department staff to review your application. 

 

 Please review the recordkeeping requirements for asbestos or lead businesses as outlined in Chapter 425 
(Asbestos) and Chapter 424 (Lead) and the requirement to make certain documents available upon request within 
24 hours to the Department. 

 
Licensing Category Requirements: 
 
 Refer to the chart on the following pages for required submittals. 
 

 For renewal applications, if the required information submitted in the original application is still in effect 
and unchanged, submit a signed statement to that effect on your company’s letterhead along with the 
completed License Application Form and required fee. 

 
Denial of Application by the Department:  The Department may deny an applicant for any of the following: 
 
 Failure to submit documentation demonstrating his or her ability to comply fully with applicable requirements, 

procedures, and standards set forth in the regulations. 
 

 A history of incompetence or negligence, as determined by the Department based on previous compliance 
inspection(s), review of operating record(s), or other documents. 

 

 Submission of false information on an application. 
 

 Submission of an incomplete application.  If the Department requests further information and does not receive it in 
full within 30 calendar days, the application will be denied. 

 

 Failure to submit the required fee. 
 

 Past violations(s) of State or federal laws or regulations pertaining to asbestos/lead abatement activities. 
 
Questions & Comments Contact: 
 
State of Maine  
Department of Environmental Protection 
Lead & Asbestos Hazard Prevention Program 
17 State House Station, Augusta, ME  04333-0017 
TEL  (207) 287-2651    FAX  (207) 287-6220 
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State of Maine Asbestos Business License Category Requirements and Submittals 

 
 

Category New Renewal 
 
Asbestos Contractor 
 
(includes Full and Limited 
categories) 
 
Asbestos In-House 
Abatement Unit 

Completed License Application Form Completed License Application Form 
$650 fee $650 fee 
(A)  A list of the names of the applicant’s owner(s) or operator(s), 
principal(s), and officer(s). 

(A)  Update as needed 

(B)  A list of all other entities, performing asbestos abatement activities 
or asbestos associated activities, of which the applicant, owner or 
operator(s), principal(s), or officer(s) is an owner or operator, principal or 
officer. 

(B)  Update as needed 

(C)  A list of all names (or acronyms) by which the applicant’s firm is 
known or under which it does business. 

(C)  Update as needed 

(D)  A current list of all employees certified by the Department as 
Asbestos Professionals and proof that at least one employee is certified 
as an Asbestos Abatement Project Supervisor.  For new start-up 
companies, submit certification applications for Asbestos Professionals 
with this application. 

(D)  A current list of all employees certified by the Department as 
Asbestos Professionals and proof that at least one employee is certified 
as an Asbestos Abatement Project Supervisor. 

(E)  A signed statement acknowledging the Department’s requirements 
for bulk sampling & project monitoring disclosures as specified in 
Chapter 425 Asbestos Management Regulations (disclosure forms are 
provided by the Department). 

(E)  Keep on file at place of business 

 
The following documents must be maintained at the applicant’s 
principal place of business & made available to the Department 
upon request within 24 hours.  Do Not submit the documents listed 
below with this application: 
 

 
The following documents must be maintained at the applicant’s 
principal place of business & made available to the Department 
upon request within 24 hours.  Do Not submit the documents listed 
below with this application: 
 

A written worker protection program, including a respiratory protection 
program which conforms to the requirements of OSHA’s Respiratory 
Protection Standard (29 CFR 1910.134, effective April 8, 1998). 

Update as needed 

A medical monitoring program that conforms to the requirements of 
OSHA’s Asbestos Standard for Construction (29 CFR 1926.1101, 
effective August 10, 1994) which includes the identity of the occupational 
health clinic utilized, number of employees enrolled in the program, and 
locations of employee exposure records. 

Update as needed 

A written standard operating procedures containing detailed summaries 
of standard procedures for removal, monitoring, clearances, design and 
inspection, including a clear description of procedures to be followed if 
unexpected ACM is found or if previously intact stable ACM becomes 
friable during handling. 

Update as needed 

Proof of access to a licensed asbestos disposal site. Update as needed 
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State of Maine Asbestos Business License Category Requirements and Submittals 

 
 

Category New Renewal 
 
Asbestos Consultant 
 
(includes Full and Limited 
categories  

Completed License Application Form Completed License Application Form 
$650 fee $650 fee 
(A)  A list of the names of the applicant’s owner(s) or operator(s), 
principal(s), and officer(s). 

(A)  Update as needed 

(B)  A list of all other entities, performing asbestos abatement activities 
or asbestos associated activities, of which the applicant, owner or 
operator(s), principal(s), or officer(s) is an owner or operator, principal or 
officer. 

(B)  Update as needed 

(C)  A list of all names (or acronyms) by which the applicant’s firm is 
known or under which it does business. 

(C)  Update as needed 

(D)  A current list of all employees certified by the Department as 
Asbestos Professionals and proof that at least one employee is certified 
as an Asbestos Abatement Design Consultant, Asbestos Inspector, or 
Asbestos Air Monitor.  For new start-up companies, submit certification 
applications for Asbestos Professionals with this application. 

(D)  A current list of all employees certified by the Department as 
Asbestos Professionals and proof that at least one employee is certified 
as an Asbestos Abatement Design Consultant, Asbestos Inspector, or 
Asbestos Air Monitor. 

(E)  A signed statement acknowledging the Department’s requirements 
for bulk sampling & project monitoring disclosures as specified in 
Chapter 425 Asbestos Management Regulations (disclosure forms are 
provided by the Department). 

(E)  Keep on file at place of business 

 
The following documents must be maintained at the applicant’s 
principal place of business & made available to the Department 
upon request within 24 hours.  Do Not submit the documents listed 
below with this application: 
 

 
The following documents must be maintained at the applicant’s 
principal place of business & made available to the Department 
upon request within 24 hours.  Do Not submit the documents listed 
below with this application: 
 

A written worker protection program, including a respiratory protection 
program which conforms to the requirements of OSHA’s Respiratory 
Protection Standard (29 CFR 1910.134, effective April 8, 1998). 

Update as needed 

A medical monitoring program that conforms to the requirements of 
OSHA’s Asbestos Standard for Construction (29 CFR 1926.1101, 
effective August 10, 1994) which includes the identity of the occupational 
health clinic utilized, number of employees enrolled in the program, and 
locations of employee exposure records. 

Update as needed 

A written standard operating procedures containing detailed summaries 
of standard procedures for, monitoring, design and inspection. 

Update as needed 

Procedures for providing an electronic file or upon request a paper copy, 
of each 3 year reinspection & management plan recommendation report 
conducted in accordance with the requirements of AHERA to the LEA 
and the State of Maine BGS within 60 days of completion of each 
reinspection. 

Update as needed 
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State of Maine Asbestos Business License Category Requirements and Submittals 

 
 

Category New Renewal 
 
Asbestos Analytical 
Laboratory 
 
(includes Air and Bulk 
Analysis) 

Completed License Application Form Completed License Application Form 
$400 fee $400 fee 
(A)  A list of the names of the applicant’s owner(s) or operator(s), 
principal(s), and officer(s). 

(A)  Update as needed 

(B)  A list of all other entities, performing asbestos abatement activities 
or asbestos associated activities, of which the applicant, owner or 
operator(s), principal(s), or officer(s) is an owner or operator, principal or 
officer. 

(B)  Update as needed 

(C)  A list of all names (or acronyms) by which the applicant’s firm is 
known or under which it does business. 

(C)  Update as needed 

(D)  A current list of all employees certified by the Department as 
Asbestos Professionals and proof that at least one employee is certified 
as an Asbestos Air Analyst or Asbestos Bulk Analyst as applicable.  For 
new start-up companies, submit certification applications for Asbestos 
Professionals with this application. 

(D)  Update as needed 

(E)  Number and location of satellite laboratories that the firm will 
operate.  (Note: satellite laboratories do not require separate licensure.) 

(E)  Update as needed 

(F)  A copy of relevant aspects of the QA/QC program for ensuring 
accuracy of analysis of air & bulk samples, including a description of the 
annual QA/QC training for all air & bulk analysts. 

(F)  Update as needed 

(G)  Proof of proficiency, as determined by NVLAP or AIHA.  New 
laboratories shall have 1 year to submit proof of proficiency to the 
Department. 

(G)  Proof of proficiency, as determined by NVLAP or AIHA. 

(H)  Results of the last four quarters of PAT or round robin tests, 
including round number, date of participation in the round, & PAT results, 
including each analyst(s) results. 

(H)  Update as needed 

 
The following documents must be maintained at the applicant’s 
principal place of business & made available to the Department 
upon request within 24 hours.  Do Not submit the documents listed 
below with this application: 
 

 
The following documents must be maintained at the applicant’s 
principal place of business & made available to the Department 
upon request within 24 hours.  Do Not submit the documents listed 
below with this application: 
 

A copy of standard operating procedures which prevent contamination or 
recontamination of a facility and the environment and which protect the 
public & employee health from the hazards of exposure to asbestos. 

Update as needed 

Proof of access to a licensed asbestos disposal site. Update as needed 
 
 
Note:  Recognized analytical methods are listed in the State of Maine Chapter 425 Asbestos Management Regulations, as amended (effective April 3, 2011) 
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State of Maine Asbestos Business License Category Requirements and Submittals 

 
 

Category New Renewal 
 
Asbestos Training 
Provider  

Completed License Application Form Completed License Application Form 
Completed Course Approval Form Update as needed 
$500 fee $500 fee 
(A)  A list of the names of the applicant’s owner(s) or operator(s), 
principal(s), and officer(s). 

(A)  Update as needed 

(B)  A list of all other entities, performing asbestos abatement activities 
or asbestos associated activities, of which the applicant, owner or 
operator(s), principal(s), or officer(s) is an owner or operator, principal or 
officer. 

(B)  Update as needed 

(C)  A list of all names (or acronyms) by which the applicant’s firm is 
known or under which it does business. 

(C)  Update as needed 

(D)  The name & qualifications of the Training Director.  The Training 
Director must maintain certification as a Maine Asbestos Abatement 
Design Consultant (submit a copy of the current certification with this 
application).  In addition, the Training Director must have a post-
secondary degree in adult education or successful completion of a “Train 
the Trainer” acceptable to the Department and at least a bachelor’s 
degree or any valid Asbestos Professional certificate (excluding 
Asbestos Abatement Worker) for 3 years, or some other combination of 
training, education & experience approved by the Department. 

(D)  Update as needed 

(E)  A list of the qualifications & resumes of primary instructors.  Primary 
instructors must have successfully completed a Department-approved 
initial training course in the discipline being taught. 

(E)  Update as needed 

(F)  A list of the qualifications & resumes of secondary instructors. (F)  Update as needed 
(G)  A detailed description of the number & quality of supplies & 
equipment & the availability audio/visual teaching aids. 

(G)  Update as needed 

(H)  A physical description of the primary training facility that includes 
dimensions, class capacity, sufficient lights, room size, table size, 
adequate air circulation, minimal background noise, at least two means 
of egress & a statement that any other facility used for training or hands-
on will meet these requirements. 

(H)  Update as needed 

(I)  A copy of the course sign-in/sign-out log used to track the times 
students arrive/depart the course including lunch break. 

(I)  Update as needed 

(J)  A sample original student certificate issued upon successful 
completion of the course.  The certificate must contain the following 
information:  course name indicating whether an initial or refresher 
course, number of training hours, name & address of training provider, 
training provider ID #, training director signature, training instructor 
signature, date(s) of training, examination date, certificate expiration 
date, examination score & location of training. 

(J)  Update as needed 
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State of Maine Asbestos Business License Category Requirements and Submittals 

 
 

Category New Renewal 
 
Asbestos Training 
Course Approval 

Completed Course Approval Form Update as needed 
(A)  Course agenda including the amount of time allotted for each topic (A)  Update as needed 
(B)  Copy of any printed materials (texts, pamphlets, etc.) that will be 
provided to students. 

(B)  Update as needed 

(C)  Copy of the bank of questions the training provider will use to create 
the final course exams 

(C)  Copy of the bank of questions the training provider will use to create 
the final course exams 

 
Note: 
 

• Student to teacher ratio not to exceed 10:1 for hands-on sessions. 
• Training Providers are required to forward to the Department within 5 days of course completion the names, social security numbers & exam scores of class participants. 
• Training Providers are required to issue student certificates within two weeks of successful course completion. 
• Training Providers are required to maintain student records for a period of seven years & make them available to the Department upon request within 24 hours. 
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State of Maine Lead Business License Category Requirements and Submittals 

 
 

Category New Renewal 
 
Lead Contractor Completed License Application Completed License Application 

$275 fee $275 fee 
(A)  A list of the names of the applicant’s owner(s) or operator(s), 
principal(s), and officer(s). 

(A)  Update as needed 

(B)  A list of all other entities, performing asbestos abatement activities 
or asbestos associated activities, of which the applicant, owner or 
operator(s), principal(s), or officer(s) is an owner or operator, principal or 
officer. 

(B)  Update as needed 

(C)  A list of all names (or acronyms) by which the applicant’s firm is 
known or under which it does business. 

(C)  Update as needed 

(D)  A current list of all employees certified by the Department as Lead 
Professionals and proof that at least one employee is certified as a Lead 
Project Supervisor.  For new start-up companies, submit certification 
applications for Lead Professionals with this application. 

(D)  A current list of all employees certified by the Department as Lead 
Professionals and proof that at least one employee is certified as an 
Lead Project Supervisor. 

 
The following documents must be maintained at the applicant’s 
principal place of business & made available to the Department 
upon request within 24 hours.  Do Not submit the documents listed 
below with this application: 
 

 
The following documents must be maintained at the applicant’s 
principal place of business & made available to the Department 
upon request within 24 hours.  Do Not submit the documents listed 
below with this application: 
 

A written worker protection program, including a respiratory protection 
program which conforms to the requirements of OSHA’s Respiratory 
Protection Standard (29 CFR 1910.134, effective April 8, 1998), the 
General Industry Standard, effective April 8, 1998 and the Standard for 
Lead in Construction (29 CFR 1926.62, effective May 4, 1993). 

Update as needed 
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State of Maine Lead Business License Category Requirements and Submittals 

 
Category New Renewal 

 
Lead Training Provider  Completed License Application Form Completed License Application Form 

Completed Course Approval Form Update as needed 
$500 fee $500 fee 
(A)  A list of the names of the applicant’s owner(s) or operator(s), 
principal(s), and officer(s). 

(A)  Update as needed 

(B)  A list of all other entities, performing asbestos abatement activities 
or asbestos associated activities, of which the applicant, owner or 
operator(s), principal(s), or officer(s) is an owner or operator, principal or 
officer. 

(B)  Update as needed 

(C)  A list of all names (or acronyms) by which the applicant’s firm is 
known or under which it does business. 

(C)  Update as needed 

(D)  The name & qualifications of the Training Manager.  The Training 
Manager must have a post-secondary degree in adult education, or 
successfully completed a 40 hour “train-the-trainer” course approved by 
the Department, or at least two full years experience teaching adults.  In 
addition, the Training Manager must have successfully completed at 
least 16 hours of accredited lead-specific training. 

(D)  Update as needed 

(E)  A list of the qualifications & resumes of Principle Instructors.  
Principle Instructors must have successfully completed at least 16 hours 
of accredited lead-specific training. 

(E)  Update as needed 

(F)  A list of the qualifications & resumes of Secondary Instructors. (F)  Update as needed 
(G)  A detailed description of the number & quality of supplies & 
equipment & the availability audio/visual teaching aids. 

(G)  Update as needed 

(H)  A physical description of the primary training facility that includes 
dimensions, class capacity, sufficient lights, room size, table size, 
adequate air circulation, minimal background noise, at least two means 
of egress & a statement that any other facility used for training or hands-
on will meet these requirements. 

(H)  Update as needed 

(I)  A copy of the course sign-in/sign-out log used to track the times 
students arrive/depart the course including lunch break. 

(I)  Update as needed 

(J)  A sample original student certificate issued upon successful 
completion of the course.  The certificate must contain the following 
information:  course name indicating whether an initial or refresher 
course, number of training hours, name & address of training provider, 
training provider ID #, training director signature, training instructor 
signature, date(s) of training, examination date, certificate expiration 
date, examination score & location of training. 

(J)  Update as needed 

 
Note: 
 

• Training Providers are required to issue student certificates within two weeks of successful course completion. 
• Training Providers are required to maintain student records for a period of seven years & make them available to the Department upon request within 24 hours. 
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State of Maine Lead Business License Category Requirements and Submittals 

 
Category New Renewal 

 
Lead Training Course 
Approval 

Completed Course Approval Form Update as needed 
(A)  Course agenda including the amount of time allotted for each topic (A)  Update as needed 
(B)  Copy of any printed materials (texts, pamphlets, etc.) that will be 
provided to students. 

(B)  Update as needed 

 (C)  Copy of the bank of questions the training provider will use to create 
the final course exams 

 
Note: 
 

• Student to teacher ratio not to exceed 10:1 for hands-on sessions. 
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State of Maine 
Department of Environmental Protection 
Lead & Asbestos Hazard Prevention Program 
17 State House Station, Augusta, ME  04333 
TEL  (207) 287-2651    FAX  (207) 287-6220 
 

 

License Application Form 
 

Asbestos Business & Public Entities 
Lead Business & Public Entities 

 

Applicant Legal Company Name & Address: 
 
Company Name:  
 
Mailing Address:  
 
City:                                                                 State:                                  Zip: 
 
Company e-mail:  
 
Physical address if different: 
 
                                            
 
Telephone:                                                             FAX: 
 
Contact:                                                                                     Title: 
 

Department Action: 
 
Received:    
 
Fee:     
 
Check #:    
 
Approved:    
 
License #:    
 
License Exp:    
 
Notes: 
 
 
 

License Category: 
(select only one category per application): 
 

Asbestos 
 
    New                         Renewal 
 
If Renewal list Maine License Number: 
 
License # 
 
    Contractor Full                      fee $650 
 
    Contractor Limited                fee $650 
 
           Roofing 
 
           Siding 
 
           Demolition by Large Equipment 
 
    In-House Abatement Unit      fee $650 
 
 

License Category: 
(select only one category per application): 
 

Asbestos 
 
    New                         Renewal 
 
If Renewal list Maine License Number: 
 
License # 
 
    Consultant Full                       fee $650 
 
    Consultant Limited                 fee $650 
 
           Inspection 
 
           Design 
 
           Monitoring 
 
    Analytical Laboratory             fee $400 
 
           Air Analysis 
 
           Bulk Analysis 
 

License Category: 
(select only one category per application): 
 

Lead 
 
    New                         Renewal 
 
If Renewal list Maine License Number: 
 
License # 
 
 
    Contractor                              fee $275 
 
___________________________________________________ 
 

Training Provider License 
 
    Asbestos                               fee $500 
 
    Lead                                      fee $500 
 

Note: Submit Course Approval 
Form with this application 

 

Signature: 
 
By signing this statement the applicant verifies that the representations herein are true.  By making false statements on this document, I 
realize I am committing a crime punishable under Maine law.  I further attest that I will comply with State of Maine standards and other 
applicable requirements as described in Chapter 424 (Lead Management Regulations) and/or Chapter 425 (Asbestos Management 
Regulations).  I am also aware that all aspects of asbestos and lead abatement activities are subject to inspection at any time by the 
Maine Department of Environmental Protection. 
 
 
__________________________________________________                              ___________________________ 
 
Signature  (Application is not valid unless signed by applicant)                                                 Date 
 
 
________________________________________________________ 
Print Name 
 
 
 



 

 
 

State of Maine 
Department of Environmental Protection 
Lead & Asbestos Hazard Prevention Program 
17 State House Station, Augusta, ME  04333 
TEL  (207) 287-2651    FAX  (207) 287-6220 
 

 

Course Approval Form 
 

Asbestos Training Courses 
Lead Training Courses 

 

Training Provider Legal Company Name & Address: 
 
Company Name:                                                                                              Company e-mail: 
 
Mailing Address: 
 
City:                                                                 State:                Zip:                  Telephone:                               FAX: 
 
Physical address if different: 
 
Contact:                                                                                     Title: 
 

 

Asbestos Initial Courses 
(select all for which approval is requested): 

 
    Abatement Worker           (32 hours) 
 
    Abatement Supervisor     (40 hours) 
 
    Management Planner      (16 hours) 
 
    Air Monitor                       (16 hours) 
 
    Air Monitor                       (40 Hours) 
 
    Inspector                         (24 Hours) 
 
    Design Consultant          (24 Hours) 
 
    Air Analyst                      (40 Hours) 
 
    Bulk Analyst                   (40 Hours) 
 

 

Asbestos Refresher Courses 
(select all for which approval is requested): 

 
    Abatement Worker           (8 hours) 
 
    Abatement Supervisor     (8 hours) 
 
    Management Planner      (4 hours) 
 
    Air Monitor                       (4 hours) 
 
    Inspector                         (4 Hours) 
 
    Design Consultant          (8 Hours) 
 

 

Lead Initial Courses 
(select all for which approval is requested): 

 
    Abatement Worker          (24 hrs., including 8 hrs. hands-on) 
 
    Abatement Supervisor     (32 hrs., including 8 hrs. hands-on) 
 
    Inspector                          (32 hrs., including 8 hrs. hands-on) 
 
    Design Consultant            (16 hrs.) 
 
    Risk Assessor                  (16 hrs., including 4 hrs. hand-on) 
 
    Lead Dust Sampling Technician   (8 hrs.) 

 

 

Lead Refresher Courses 
(select all for which approval is requested): 

 
    Abatement Worker          (8 hrs.) 
 
    Abatement Supervisor     (8 hrs.) 
 
    Inspector                          (8 hrs.) 
 
    Design Consultant           (8 hrs.) 
 
    Risk Assessor                 (8 hrs.) 
 

Signature: 
 
By signing this statement the applicant verifies that the representations herein are true.  By making false statements on this document, I 
realize I am committing a crime punishable under Maine law.  I further attest that I will comply with State of Maine standards and other 
applicable requirements as described in Chapter 424 (Lead Management Regulations) and/or Chapter 425 (Asbestos Management 
Regulations).  I am also aware that all aspects of each of these courses are subject to audit at any time by the Maine Department of 
Environmental Protection. 
 
 
__________________________________________________                              ___________________________ 
 
Signature  (Application is not valid unless signed by applicant)                                                 Date 
 
________________________________________________________ 
Print Name 
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