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Revised: 52016


http://www.maine.gov/professionallicensing

APPLICANT INFORMATION GUIDE

The application material you have requested from the Board of Dental Examiners is enclosed. It
contains all the relevant materials you need to complete your application for licensure in the State of
Maine. Please read all the information carefully. If you have any questions after reading this packet,
please call or e-mail our office.

FURNISHED TO APPLICANT

Application Information Guide
Individual Permit Application

Certification of Nitrous Oxide Course Completion Form

Maine’s Mandated Reporter Requirements for Suspected Child Abuse website

Maine’s Medical Professionals Health Program website

ADDITIONAL RESOURCES

Board of Dental Examiners Statute, Title 32, Chapter 16

Please read these carefully and review periodically for changes. You are responsible for

knowing and complying with all Maine Laws throughout your licensure.

Available: http://legislature.maine.gov/legis/statutes/32/title32ch16sec0.html or call (207) 287-3333

Board of Dental Examiners Rules

Please read these carefully and review periodically for changes. You are responsible
for knowing and complying with all Board Rules throughout your licensure.
Available: http://www.maine.gov/sos/cec/rules/02/chaps02.htm#313 or call (207) 287-3333

e Statutory Authority, Titles 5 & 10

Available: http://www.mainelegislature.org/leqgis/statutes/10/title10ch901sec0.html

http://www.maineleqgislature.org/legis/statutes/5/title5¢ch341sec0.html



http://legislature.maine.gov/legis/statutes/32/title32ch16sec0.html%20or
http://www.maine.gov/sos/cec/rules/02/chaps02.htm#313
http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/10/title10ch901sec0.html
http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/5/title5ch341sec0.html

APPLICATION INFORMATION GUIDE

» Certificate of Education Form: The Board requires that your nitrous oxide course be
verified by the educational institution/organization and submitted directly to the Board.

» Mandated Reporter Requirements for Suspected Child Abuse: Maine law requires that
dentists and dental hygienists immediately report or cause a report to be made to the Maine
Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) when the licensee knows or has
reasonable cause to suspect that a child has been or is likely to be abused or neglected or
that a suspicious child death has occurred. Mandated Reporter Training and additional
information regarding mandated reporting can be found at:
http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/ocfs/cps/

> Please submit your application materials to the Board by mail or hand delivery to our office.
Faxed submissions will not be accepted. Your application will be reviewed and
processed in the order that it was received. Application reviews generally take at least two
weeks, barring any action required by the full Board, or any high volume renewal of
licensure periods.

» If there are deficiencies with your application, you will be notified by mail. You may also
check the Board’s website at www.maine.gov/dental. It is the responsibility of the
applicant to see that all documentation is completed and returned to the Board for
consideration.

APPLICATION MATERIALS

STANDARD APPLICATION

An application for examination shall include:

[0 Completed and signed Application (pgs. 1-7)
Payment of an Application Fee of $16.00

Payment of a Permit Fee of $16.00

Completed Certificate of Nitrous Oxide Course Form
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Current; valid CPR Certification


http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/ocfs/cps/
http://www.maine.gov/dental

STATE OF MAINE / BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS
Mailing Address: 143 State House Station, Augusta, Maine 04333-0143 Courier address: 161 Capitol Street, Augusta, Maine 04330
Phone: (207) 287-3333 Fax: (207) 287-8140 TTY users call Maine Relay 711 W ebsite:www.maine.gov/dental

Frequently Asked Questions:

e Where do | send my application? Our mailing address is 143 State House Station, Augusta, Maine
04333- 0143.

e Where are you located? 161 Capitol Street, Augusta, Maine.

e What hours are you open? 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. weekdays.

e Canlcometo Augustato drop off my application? Yes. You will not leave with a license, though.
e Canlcometo Augustato pick up my license? No. Your license will be mailed to you.

¢ How can | check the status of my application? You can check our website:
www.maine.gov/dental

e How far back do | go answering the criminal conviction question? Any conviction, ever.

e Can | fax my application? No.

NOTICES

BACKGROUND CHECK: Pursuantto 5 M.R.S.A. 85301 - 5303, the State of Maine is granted the authority to take into consideration an
applicant’s criminal history record. The Maine Board of Dental Examiners requires a criminal history records check as part of the application
process for all applicants.

PUBLIC RECORD: This application is a public record for purposes of the Maine Freedom of Access Law (1 MRSA 8401 et seq). Public
records must be made available to any person upon request. This application for licensure is a public record and information supplied as part
of the application (other than social security number and credit card information) is public information. Other licensing records to which this
information may later be transferred will also be considered public records. Names, license numbers and mailing addresses listed on or
submitted as part of this application will be available to the public and may be posted on our website.

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER: The following statement is made pursuant to the Privacy Act of 1974 (§7(B)). Disclosure of your Social
Security Number Is mandatory. Solicitation of your Social Security Number is solely for tax administration purposes, pursuant to 35 MRSA
8175 as authorized by the Tax Reform Act of 1975 (42 USC 8405(C)(2)(C)(1)). Your Social Security Number will be disclosed to the State Tax
Assessor or an authorized agent for use in determining filing obligations and tax liability pursuant to Title 36 of the Maine Revised Statutes. No
further use will be made of your Social Security Number and it shall be treated as confidential tax information pursuant to 36 MRSA 8191.

Before you seal the envelope, did you:

» Complete every item on the application including the criminal background disclosure question?

» Sign and date your application?

» Include the required fee(s). Make checks payable to “Maine State Treasurer” or complete the
credit card section on the application. DO NOT SEND CASH.

» Make a copy of your application to keep for your records.



http://www.maine.gov/dental
http://www.maine.gov/dental

STATE OF MAINE
BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS

INDIVIDUAL PERMIT APPLICATION

APPLICANT INFORMATION (please print)

FULL LEGAL NAME FIRST MIDDLE INITIAL LAST

ANY OTHER NAMES EVER USED

DATE OF BIRTH mm/ dd/yyyy SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER

MAILING ADDRESS

CITY STATE ZIP CODE COUNTY

PHONE () FAX () E-MAIL

CRIMINAL BACKGROUND DISCLOSURE
NOTE: Failure to disclose criminal convictions may result in denial, fines, suspension and/or revocation of a license.

1. Have you ever been charged, summonsed, indicted, arrested or convicted of any criminal offense, including when
those events have been deferred, set aside, dismissed, expunged or issued a stay of execution?

(circle one) NO YES
If yes, enclose a detailed description of what happened (including dates), police report and a copy of the court judgment.

By my signature, | hereby certify that the information provided on this application is true and accurate to the best of my knowledge and
belief. By submitting this application, | affirm that the Maine Board of Dental Examiners will rely upon this information for issuance of
my license and that this information is truthful and factual. | also understand that sanctions may be imposed including denial, fines,
suspension or revocation of my license if this information is found to be false.

SIGNATURE DATE
Board of Dental Examiners
Office Use Only
Required Fee: $80.00 2619 - $16.00
2631 - $16.00
Please Select License Type: Office Use Only
O Standard (NOX) — Nitrous Oxide Permit Check e
Cash #:
License #:

PAYMENT OPTIONS:
Make checks payable to “Maine State Treasurer” - If you wish to pay by credit card, fill out the following:

NAME OF CARDHOLDER (please print)

| authorize the Maine Board of Dental Examiners to charge my

OVISA awm/cC ODiscover the following amount: $
Card number: Expiration Date /
SIGNATURE DATE




High School Education

Name of Academic Institution:

Mailing Address:

City: State: Zip Code:

Major: Degree Granted: Date Conferred:

Dental Hygiene Education

Name of Dental School Attended:

Mailing Address:

City: State: Zip Code:

Degree Granted: Date Conferred:

Current or Intended Place of Employment

Name of School or Program Affiliation:

Mailing Address:

City: State: Zip Code:

Dates:

Name of School or Program Affiliation:

Mailing Address:

City: State: Zip Code:

Dates:

Name of School or Program Affiliation:

Mailing Address:

City: State: Zip Code:

Dates:




Previous Employment
List in chronological order all professional experience including full work history.

Dates

Name of Practice

Address

Name of
Supervising Dentist




Licensure / Disciplinary Questions

Please circle each answer. If any of the following questions are answered yes, please provide details on a
separate sheet and attach to application.

1. Have you ever been denied licensure in any state, Canadian province or other country?
YES NO

2. Have you ever possessed a license to practice that was suspended, revoked or subjected to
other disciplinary action?

YES NO
3. Have your practice privileges ever been restricted?

YES NO

4. Have you ever left a dental licensing jurisdiction (INCLUDING MAINE) while a complaint or
allegation was pending?

YES NO

5. Have you ever been denied registration or had your ability to administer, prescribe, dispense
controlled substances modified, restricted, suspended, revoked, or voluntarily suspended by:

a. U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA)? YES NO

b. Any state, territory of the U.S., including Maine? YES NO

6. Have you ever received a sanction from the Center for Medicare and Medicaid Services or
any state Medicaid program?

YES NO

7. Have you ever rendered services illegally?
YES NO

8. Are you now, or have you ever been, addicted to the use of alcohol, narcotic or other drugs?
YES NO




Licensure / Disciplinary Questions

Please circle each answer. If any of the following questions are answered yes, please provide details on a
separate sheet and attach to application.

9. Are you now, or have you ever been hospitalized or undergone treatment for alcohol or
drug dependency?

YES NO

10.Have you ever been hospitalized for the treatment of mental illness?
YES NO

11.Have you ever been diagnosed with or treated for a medical, mental health, or addictive
condition which in any way currently limits or impairs your ability to practice dentistry or to
function as a dentist?

YES NO

12.Have you ever been diagnosed with or treated for any medical mental health, or addictive
disorder that impaired your behavior, judgment, understanding, or ability to function in
school, work or other important life activities?

YES NO

13.Have you had a disabling physical or mental iliness(es) that resulted in any hospitalization
or that prevented you from working or carrying out your usual daily responsibilities for
more than 30 days?

YES NO

14.Have you raised the issue of consumption of drugs or alcohol or the issue of a medical,
mental health or addictive disorder as a defense or in mitigation of, or as an explanation
for your actions in the course of any administrative or judicial proceeding or investigation;
any inquiry or other proceeding; or any proposed termination action (educational,
employer, government agency, professional organization, or licensing authority)?

YES NO

15. Are you currently engaged in the use of illegal use of drugs or misuse of any drugs?
YES NO




Licensure / Disciplinary Questions

Please circle each answer. If any of the following questions are answered yes, please provide details on a
separate sheet and attach to application.

16.Have you ever had a claim or suit alleging malpractice liability in which you are/were
named as a defendant, including nuisance suits settled, adjudicated by a court in favor of
the other party, or settled by your insurance company/representatives without your
express consent?

YES NO

17.Are you currently in default on payment of student loans?
YES NO

18.Have you read the laws and rules governing dental practices in Maine?
YES NO

Affidavit of Applicant

I have read and completed this application and attest that all information is true to the best of my knowledge.
Should | furnish any false information in this application, | hereby agree that such act shall constitute cause for denial,
suspension or revocation of my license to practice podiatry in the state of Maine.

I hereby authorize all hospitals, institutions or organizations, personal physicians, employers (past and present), business
and professional associations (past and present), and all government agencies and instrumentalities (local, state, federal or
foreign) to release to the Maine Board of Dental Examiners, my references and information, files, or records requested by
the Board in connection with processing of this application. | hereby authorize the Maine Board of Dental Examiners to use
photocopies of this authorization and waiver in lieu of the original.

| further authorize | further authorize the Maine Board of Dental Examiners to release to the organizations, individuals and
groups listed above, any information which is material to my application.

Signature of Applicant: Date:




STATE OF MAINE
BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS

CERTIFICATE OF COMPLETION = NITROUS OXIDE COURSE
| am applying to use nitrous oxide under the direct supervision of a dentist in the state of Maine.
The Maine board requires verification of successful completion of a nitrous oxide course. This is

your authority to release any information in your files directly to the Maine Board at the address
below.

THIS SECTION TO BE COMPLETED BY THE APPLICANT.

Applicant's name:

Applicant's address:

Dates of attendance: from to

THIS SECTION MUST BE COMPLETED BY THE DEAN, SECRETARY OR REGISTRAR OF
THE SCHOOL OR PROGRAM.

| hereby certify that the above named applicant successfully completed a nitrous oxide course. | am
also affirming that the course included 8 hours of didactic and clinical components and that the
applicant passed the exit examination with a score of 75% or higher.

Name of school/organization

Address of school/organization

Date course was completed:

Name & title of school/organization official:

Official's signature dated:

PLEASE PLACE
SCHOOL SEAL HERE ,
(If applicable)

Mailto:
Maine Board of Dental Examiners
143 State House Station

Augusta, ME 04333-00143



Maine's Prescription Monitoring Program

Maine's Prescription Monitoring Program (PMP) is a tool created to prevent and detect prescription drug
misuse and diversion, and improve patient care through better coordination of care. PMP maintains a
database of all transactions for schedule Il, Ill and IV controlled substances dispensed in the State of
Maine. This database is available free online to prescribers and dispensers by the Office of Substance
Abuse and Mental Health Services (SAMHS) in the Maine Department of Health and Human Services. The
database is searchable online, so it is available anywhere one has Internet access. Clinicians can use the
program to check the history of a new patient and to monitor on-going treatment. PMP is another tool
clinicians can add to their toolkit for preventing and intervening against misuse and diversion of prescription
drugs. FMI about the program visit: http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/samhs/osa/data/pmp/index.htm

Maine’s Mandated Reporter Requirements for Suspected Child Abuse

Maine law requires that dentists and dental hygienists immediately report or cause a report to be made to
the Maine Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) when he/she knows or has reasonable
cause to suspect that a child has been or is likely to be abused or neglected or that a suspicious child
death has occurred. Recently enacted legislation also requires mandated reporters to obtain training every
four years. FMI regarding mandated reporting and training, please visit the following website:
http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/ocfs/cps/

Maine’s Medical Professionals Health Program

The MPHP works cooperatively with six Maine boards of licensure, hospitals, medical staffs, and
professional associations to ensure that professionals in need of treatment and services get the help they
need. The MPHP is not a treatment program, but our staff will help professionals to find the resources they
need, to better understand the treatment and recovery process, and to implement strategies for return to
safe practice. https://www.mainemed.com/member-services/medical-professionals-health-program



http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/samhs/osa/data/pmp/index.htm
http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/ocfs/cps/
https://www.mainemed.com/member-services/medical-professionals-health-program

