
     
 

 

 

 

 
July 19, 2016 

 

 

Informational Letter Regarding Enacted Laws 
By the Maine State Legislature During the 127th Second Regular Session 

 
There were a number of laws enacted during the last legislative session that directly impact the 
Maine Board of Dental Examiners.  Below is a list of those laws, including their effective dates and 
implementation status. I’ve also included Public Law 2016, c. 407 as the Board recently adopted a 
policy regarding the mandatory training and how the completed training might be used in 
meeting the continuing education requirements outlined in Chapter 13 of the Board’s Rules. 
 
New laws directly impacting Board’s statute: 

 Public Law 2016, c. 429 “An Act to Revise the Laws Regarding Dental Practices” 
 

 Public Law 2016, c. 488 “An Act to Prevent Opiate Abuse by Strengthening the Controlled 
Substances Prescription Monitoring Program” 

 

New laws not directly impacting the Board’s statute, but directly impacts licensees: 
 Public Law 2016, c. 407 “An Act To Require Training of Mandated Reporters under the 

Child Abuse Laws” 
 

Summaries: 
 Public Law 2016, c. 429 - repealed Chapter 16 of the Board’s authorizing statutue and 

replaced it with the new provisions outlined in Chapter 143.  This new law also requires 
that the Board report back to the Legislature by March 1, 2017, regarding its efforts to 
identify recommendations for further legislative review. Highlights of the statutory 
changes are outlined in the attached document entitiled “Highlights of Statutory Changes – 
Public Law 2016, c. 429.” 

 

 Public Law 2016, c. 488 - amends the Board’s new statute by identifying new requirements 
when prescribing opioid medication.  There are certain provisions of the new law that take 
effect on July 29, 2016, and there are provisions of the new law that will become effective on 
or after January 1, 2017. The new law also provides exceptions to the limitations on 
prescribing opioids, sets new electronic prescribing requirements, and requires 3 hours of 
continuing education every two years as a condition for dentists who prescribe opioid 
medication. 
 

 Public Law 2016, c. 407 - requires those who are mandated reporters of child abuse to 
obtain training approved by the Maine Department of Health and Human Services at least 
once every 4 years. 
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Implementation status: 
 

 Public Law Public Law 2016, c. 429:  there are a number of new statutory provisions that 
will take effect immediately and a number of provisions that will require further 
rulemaking provisions.  The attached document outlines those provisions that need further 
rulemaking. 
 

 Public Law 2016, c. 488: the Board will undergo rulemaking to further implement the 
continuing education requirements. Additional efforts to implement the limitations on 
prescribing opioid medication is not anticipated at this time.  However, a review of Board 
Rule, Chapter 21 “Use of Controlled Substnatces For Treatment of Pain” which is a joint 
rule with other regulatory boards will be examined to ensure that prescribing standards are 
consistent with this new law. 
 

 Public Law 2016, c. 407: the Board does not have any enforcement authority on this new 
law. However, the Board will make efforts to educate applicants and licensees regarding 
the new law via email, website, applications, etc.  Additionally, at its June 24, 2016 meeting, 
the Board voted to adopt a policy stating that it will recognize 1 hour of Category II home-
study credit for dentists or dental hygienists who complete the mandated training provided 
by the Maine Department of Health and Human Services (“DHHS”) in meeting the biennial 
registration renewal requirements.  However, the following criteria must be met: licensees 
must complete the DHHS training within the licensure biennium, licensees are responsible 
for maintaining and producing a record of the training in the event they are audited by the 
Board, and licensees must be aware of the limit on home-study courses as outlined in 
Chapter 13. 

 
 
 
FMI: 
Maine State Legislature: http://legislature.maine.gov/ 
State Agency Rulemaking: http://www.maine.gov/sos/cec/rules/index.html 
Board’s Website: http://www.maine.gov/dental/ 
 
 
 
Should you have any questions regarding this notice, please feel free to contact Penny 
Vaillancourt, Executive Director, by email at penny.vaillancourt@maine.gov or by using the 
contact information provided below: 
 
 
 
 
Attach. 

PHONE:  (207) 287-3333 

FAX:       (207) 287-8140 

WEBSITE ADDRESS:  www.maine.gov/dental 

E-MAIL ADDRESS:  dental.board@maine.gov 

http://legislature.maine.gov/
http://www.maine.gov/sos/cec/rules/index.html
http://www.maine.gov/dental/
mailto:penny.vaillancourt@maine.gov
http://www.maine.gov/dental


 
 
 

HIGHLIGHTS OF STATUTORY CHANGES IDENTIFIED IN 
PUBLIC LAW 2016, C. 429 (EFF. 7/29/2016) 

 
New/Revised Changes from former Title 32, Chapter 16  

Section 
 

Subject Notes 

1) 18302 Definitions  This is a new section 
2) 18304 (2) Unlawful Practice  This section is not to be confused with 

the disciplinary action provisions 

3) 18305 Licensure Exemptions  Clarifies exemptions to licensure under 
the Act 

4) 18302 (1) Board Name Change  Board of Dental Practice 
5) 18322 (3) Board Quorum  Quorum is majority of members serving 

instead of the number “5” 

 Chair; Vice-Chair 
6) 18325 (1) Disciplinary Action  Aligned provisions of Title 10, Chapter 

901 into Board statute 

7) 18345 Dental Hygiene Licensure and 
Authorities 

 Establishes a baseline license with the 
ability to add authorities as outlined 
below: 

o LAN and NOX Permits 
o Independent Practice 
o Public Health Dental Hygienist 
o Dental Hygiene Therapist 
o Provisional DHT 

8) 18347 Endorsement  Two pathways 
o Licensed at least 3 years 

(substantially equivalent – 
examine license laws) 

o Licensed less than 3 years 
(substantially similar – examine 
individual’s qualifications for 
licensure) 

9) 18348 Registrations  Dentist Externships 

 Denturists Externships 

 Dentists - Sedation/general anesthesia 
training 

 Dental Hygienists – LAN/NOX training 

10) 18349 Renewals and Reinstatements  Late renewals - licensees can renew  up 
to 90 days with payment of late fee 

 Reinstatements – licensees can reinstate 
between 91 days and 2 years; board may 
waive examination requirements 

 Beyond 2 years – meet all new 
requirements  
 

JULY 2016 

*Highlights in yellow denote agency rulemaking required 1 



 

 
 
New/Revised Changes from former Title 32, Chapter 16 (cont.) 

11) 18351 Inactive Status  Clarifying language 

12) 18352 10 Day Reporting 
Requirements 

 Change in name 

 Criminal conviction 

 Disciplinary action 

 Material change in conditions or 
qualifications (i.e. sedation permits, 
supervision changes) 

13) Subchapter 4 
§18371 – §18379 

Scope of Practice Provisions  No changes in scope; rather scope in 
board rules now placed into statute 

14) §18371 Scope of Practice – Dentists  Clarifies by including delegation 
authority to unlicensed individuals 

15) §18376 Scope of Practice – Public 
Health Dental Hygienists 

 Puts back into statute a practice category 
that will be added as an authority under 
an RDH license 

16) §18345 IPDH - new pathway to 
licensure 

 The new law provides a pathway for 
RDH w/public health supervision 
experience to qualify for IPDH licensure 

   

   

 
 

Provisions Removed from former Title 32, Chapter 16 
Former Statute 

Section 
 

Subject Notes 

17) 1084 (4), 1094 (1) Posting of Licenses  Removed from statute – nullifies 
Chapter 9 requirement? 

18) Various 
provisions of 
Chapter 16 

Term “dental assistant” or 
“dental auxiliaries” 

 Replaces with the delegation authority 
to unlicensed persons; however, new 
statute does maintain “dental assistant” 
in §18377 (4) – reimbursement 
provisions 

19) 1077 Informal Conferences   §1077 (1) provisions removed in their 
entirety as the authority is contained in 
Title 10, Chapter 901 provisions 

20) Various 
provisions of 
Chapter 16 

Interviews  Removed personal interviews as a 
requirement for licensure 

21) Various 
provisions of 
Chapter 16 

Fee Caps  Individual fee caps removed and one 
fee cap set at $550.00 
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