State of Maine

Bureau of Alcoholic Beverages and Lottery Operations
Division of Liquor Licensing and Enforcement

Application for Off-Premise Taste Testing Event Permit

Please complete this application in its entirety. This application must be signed by the licensee or an agent of
the licensee.

Name of Licensee:

Licensee Number:

Complete Mailing Address:

Daytime Telephone Number: Fax:

Email Address:

Describe specific area to be licensed and attach a diagram: O Inside Event [ Outside Event

Date of Tasting: Time of Tasting: From: To:

(Note: By law, liquor can only be served from 5:00 am to 1:00 am of the next day, every day of the week,
Sunday through Saturday. Function times cannot deviate from this statutory requirement.)

Type of Tasting to be Held: [ Wine O Beer [ Spirits
Is this event: O Private Only O Open to the Public

NOTE: If alicensed sales representative will be pouring beer, wine or spirits at the event, please list the name
of the sales representative and verify the licensing and server training of the sales representative.

Name of Sales Representative:

Is the Sales Representative licensed: Has Sales Representative completed training:
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For the month above, please check which taste-testing event this will be for the month:

O First O Second O Third

Dated:

Signature of Licensee

Printed Name of Licensee

In order to timely process your application, you must file this application at least 72 hour prior to the event.
The Bureau reserves the right to reject an application not submitted by this time.

Once issued, this permit is not assignable and is valid only for use by the licensee named in this application and
for the date, time, and location listed in this application. This permit is issued subject to Maine liquor laws,
Title 28-A, and the Bureau’s Administrative Rules. Penalties for failure to comply with the laws and rules are
provided in Chapter 33 of Title 28-A.

Submit Completed Forms To: Bureau of Alcoholic Beverages and Lottery Operations
Division of Liquor Licensing and Enforcement
8 State House Station
Augusta, Me 04333
Telephone Inquiries: (207) 624-7220
Fax: (207) 287-3434
Email Inquiries: MaineLiguor@Maine.gov

For Office Use Only:

Date Filed:

(1 Approved O Not Approved

Date Approved:

Approved By:
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Requirements for Taste-testing Events:

1. For a Wine Tasting: see Title 28A Section 1205

A.

B.
C.

o lululle

An off-premise licensee must stock a minimum of 125 different wine labels;

Wine may not be served to persons who have not yet attained 21 years of age;

A person may not be served more than a total of 5 ounces of wine having an alcohol content
of 14% or less, or for wine having an alcohol content greater than 14%, a person may not be
served more than a total of 3 ounces;

A person may not be charged a fee for any wine served as part of a tasting activity;

A person who is visibly intoxicated may not be served;

A taste-testing event must be limited to a designated area as provided in the application;

A taste-testing event must be conducted within the hours of retail sale established in Title
28-A,

An off-premise licensee_must obtain the written permission of the Bureau before conducting
any taste-testing event by filing this application for a taste-testing event with the Bureau and
declaring if a licensed sales representative will be pouring liquor at the event under this
permit. The applicant must verify that the sales representative is licensed by the Bureau and
has server education training;

An off-premise licensee may conduct a total of 3 tastings per month, including tastings
conducted under Title 28-A, Sections 460 and 1207;

A taste-testing event is not allowed in any municipality where on-premise and off-premise
liquor sales are not allowed;

An off-premise licensee must purchase all wine served at a taste-testing event from a
wholesale licensee;

Prior to conducting an approved a taste-testing event, an off-premise licensee must
prominently post at the entrance to the store a sign that announces the date and time of the
taste-testing event; and

An off-premise licensee, with prior approval from the Bureau, may conduct an invitation-
only taste-testing event at the licensee's premises in place of or to coincide with a taste-
testing event that is open to the public. A taste-testing event that is exclusively invitation only
IS not subject to the posting requirement in paragraph L.

2. For a Malt Liquor Taste Tasting Events: see Title 28A Section 1207

A.

B.

C.

®mmo

An off-premise licensee must stock a minimum of 100 labels or malt liquor;

Malt liquor may not be served to persons who have not yet attained 21 years of age;

A person may not be served more than a total of 12 ounces of malt liquor having an alcohol
content of 6% or less; for malt liquor having an alcohol content greater than 6% but less than
12%, a person may not be served more than a total of6 ounces; or, for malt liquor having an
alcohol content of 12% or greater, a person may not be served more than a total of 3 ounces;
A person may not be charged a fee for any malt liquor served as part of a taste tasting event;
A person who is visibly intoxicated may not be served,

A taste-testing event must be limited to a designated area as provided in the application;
Taste-testing events must be conducted within the hours of retail sale established in Title 28-
A;

An off-premise licensee must obtain the written permission of the Bureau before conducting
any taste-testing event by filing this application for a taste-testing event with the Bureau and
declaring if a licensed sales representative will be pouring liquor at the event under this
permit. The applicant must verify that the sales representative is licensed by the Bureau and
has server education training;
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I An off-premise licensee may conduct a total of 3 tastings per month, including tastings
conducted under Title 28-A, Sections 460 and 1205;

J. A taste-testing event is_not allowed in any municipality where on-premise and off-premise
liquor sales are not allowed;

K. An off-premise licensee must purchase all malt liquor served at a taste-testing event from a
wholesale licensee;

L. Prior to conducting an approved a taste-testing event, an off-premise licensee must

prominently post at the entrance to the store a sign that announces the date and time of the
taste-testing event; and

M. An off-premise licensee, with prior approval from the Bureau, may conduct an invitation-
only taste-testing event at the licensee's premises in place of or to coincide with a taste-
testing event that is open to the public. A taste-testing event that is exclusively invitation only
is not subject to the posting requirement in paragraph L.

3. For a Spirits Taste-testing Event: see Title 28A Section 460
A A licensee must stock a minimum of 200 different codes of spirits;

B. Spirits may not be served to persons who have not yet attained 21 years of age;

C. A person may not be served more than a total of 1% ounces in % ounce servings of spirits
having an alcohol content of 80 proof or less; or; for spirits containing an alcohol content of
greater than 80 proof, a person may not be served more than a total of % of an ounce in %
ounce servings;

Spirits must be dispensed using a standard measuring device;

Spirits having an alcohol content of greater than 80 proof may not be offered for tasting at

the same time as spirits having an alcohol content of 80 proof or less;

A person may not be charged a fee for any spirits served as part of a tasting activity;

A person who is visibly intoxicated may not be served,

A taste-testing event must be limited to a designated area as provided in the application;

Taste-testing events must be conducted within the hours of retail sale established in Title 28-

A;

An agency liquor store must obtain the written permission of the Bureau before conducting

any taste-testing event by filing this application for a taste-testing event with the Bureau and

declaring if a licensed sales representative will be pouring liquor at the event under this
permit. The applicant must verify that the sales representative is licensed by the Bureau and
has server education training;

K. An agency liquor store may conduct a total of 3 taste-testing events, including tastings
conducted under Title 28-A, Sections 1205 and 1207;

L. A taste-testing event is_not allowed in any municipality where on-premise and off-premise
liquor sales are not allowed;

M-1 Distilled spirits served at a taste testing must be provided by the agency liquor store or
purchased, at the retail list price, by a licensed sales representative participating in the taste
testing from existing stock available for purchase at the agency liquor store.

N. Prior to a taste-testing event, an agency liquor store will post prominently at the entrance to
the store, a sign that announces the date and time of the event; and

0. An agency liquor store, with prior approval from the bureau, may conduct an invitation-only
taste-testing event at the agency liquor store's premises in place of or to coincide with a taste-
testing event that is open to the public. A taste-testing event that is exclusively invitation only
is not subject to the posting requirement in paragraph N.
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