About the Maine Charter School Commission

The Maine Charter School Commission is one of two types of entities permitted to authorize public charter schools in Maine. The Commission can authorize up to 10 public charter schools throughout the state during the first 10 years of Maine's charter school law.

While the Charter School Commission receives some staff support from the Maine Department of Education, it is an independent body.     


Commission Membership

The Charter School Commission consists of seven members appointed by the Maine State Board of Education. Three of the seven are members of the State Board. Maine's charter school law calls for the remaining four members to come from a wide variety of professional backgrounds.

Maine's Public Charter Schools Law

Maine's public charter school law took effect on Sept. 28, 2011. The state's first charter schools opened in the fall of 2012.


Bob Kautz, Executive Director
Maine Charter School Commission
Phone - 207-624-6728 | Fax - 207-287-2109