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GENERAL INFORMATION

What is the Maine Board of Tax Appeals?  The Maine Board of Tax Appeals (the “Board”) is an independent board within the Department of Administrative and Financial Services that was established to provide taxpayers with a fair system of resolving disagreements with Maine Revenue Services (“MRS”).  The Board is neither part of MRS nor subject to its control in any way.  The Board consists of three members, appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Legislature for terms of three years, who are supported by an Appeals Office that conducts the initial review of appeals.  

When can a Taxpayer appeal to the Board?   First, you must ask MRS to reconsider the assessment or determination you wish to appeal.  MRS will then re-examine its assessment or determination and send you a reconsidered decision.  If you disagree with MRS’s reconsidered decision, you can appeal to the Board if the amount of tax (including interest and penalties) in controversy when you asked MRS for reconsideration was $5,000 or more.

What is the deadline for appealing to the Board?  You must file your appeal within 60 days of receiving MRS’s reconsidered decision.

Do I need an attorney?  No.  The Board provides a fair system for resolving controversies between you and MRS without the need to hire an attorney, although you may be represented by an attorney if you wish.  If you choose to have an attorney represent you, you must submit the Power of Attorney form (“POA”) included in the appendix to this Guide.  The POA may also be obtained from the Board’s Appeals Office or downloaded from the Board’s website at http://www.maine.gov/boardoftaxappeals.  Corporations and limited liability companies must be represented by a licensed Maine attorney.

Burden of Proof.  The law places the burden on you to show that it is more likely than not that MRS has made a mistake in the assessment it issued against you or in denying the amount of your refund request.  The claimed mistake can be a mathematical mistake, a factual mistake, or a mistake in the interpretation of Maine’s tax laws.  Simply stating that the assessment or refund denial is unfair or that you do not owe the tax assessed is insufficient to show that the assessment or refund denial is incorrect.  Instead, you need to present supporting legal authority (such as court cases or MRS rules and decisions) and/or factual evidence sufficient to show that it is more likely than not that the assessment or refund denial is incorrect.  If you cannot show that it is more likely than not that MRS has made a mistake, the assessment or refund denial will be upheld.

For example, suppose you received an income tax assessment based on MRS’s belief that you are a Maine resident, but you believe the assessment to be incorrect because, although you own property in Maine, you consider yourself to be a resident of New Hampshire.  In order to show that it was more likely than not that MRS had made a mistake, you would need to present evidence showing your links to New Hampshire, such as information about your home there, your driver’s license, voter registration, social memberships, pets kept there, etc.  If you could not present this kind of evidence, the assessment against you would likely be upheld.  

No Ex Parte Communications.  The law forbids ex parte communications between you and the Board or its staff, and between MRS and the Board or its staff.  An “ex parte” communication would occur if you or an MRS employee spoke to the Board or its staff without the other party being present, or if you or an MRS employee wrote a letter to the Board or its staff without sending a copy to the other party.  

To avoid any ex parte communications, you must always send MRS copies of anything you send to the Board, and you must have no oral communications with the Board or any member of its staff without an MRS employee present.  Likewise, MRS must send you a copy of everything it sends to the Board, and MRS employees may not speak with the Board or its staff unless you are present.  The only exception to this rule is for communications limited to administrative or informational matters which are unrelated to the facts or issues involved in your appeal.  An example of the type of communications permitted would be calling the Board to discuss how you were not able to attend a conference on the scheduled date.  

HOW TO BRING AN APPEAL BEFORE THE BOARD

Filing Your Appeal.  Filing an appeal with the Board is simple.  You need only send a letter to the Board appealing MRS’s reconsidered decision (but see the next section on requesting a conference).  This letter is referred to as a “Statement of Appeal.”  The Statement of Appeal must notify the Board that you are appealing MRS’s tax assessment or its denial of your refund request.  A sample Statement of Appeal letter is included in the Appendix to this Guide.  You should make a copy of your Statement of Appeal and then send the original to the Board at:

				Maine Board of Tax Appeals
				134 State House Station
				Augusta, ME 04333-0134

Keep the copy for your records.  It is a good idea to keep all documents relating to your appeal together in a file folder or box.

Requesting an Appeals Conference.  An important decision you must make when appealing to the Board is whether to request an appeals conference.  The appeals conference is an opportunity for you to present sworn oral testimony, make an oral argument, and explain or address any evidence submitted by you or MRS.  You may ask to have the appeals conference conducted by telephone if it is inconvenient or impossible for you to appear in person.  If you decide to request an appeals conference you must request it in your Statement of Appeal, because you cannot request one at a later date.  If you request an appeals conference, there is a $100.00 fee that must be paid to the Board within 21 days of filing your Statement of Appeal.   If you cannot afford to pay the fee, or if you need more time to collect the money to pay the fee, you may send a written request to the Board asking for either:  (1) a waiver of the fee; or (2) an extension of time to pay the fee.  This request must be filed with the Board before payment of the fee is due, and must explain why you cannot pay the fee or why you need more time to be able to pay the fee.  The Appeals Office will notify you whether your request is granted or denied.  Unless your request for waiver or extension is granted, no conference will be held until the processing fee is paid.  

If you do not request an appeals conference, no processing fee will be due and the Board will decide your appeal based only on the written materials submitted by you and MRS.

De Novo Review.  The Board’s review of MRS’s tax assessment or refund denial is conducted as a “de novo” review.  This means that the Board is not bound by what MRS has decided about the facts or law involved in your case, and you (as well as MRS) may raise any facts or legal issues before the Board that MRS has already ruled on during the reconsideration process.  You may also raise any additional arguments or facts you wish to present.  For instance, if MRS decides that you owe Maine use tax on your boat because the agency determined that the boat was present in Maine for more than 30 days in the first year following its purchase, you may still argue before the Board that your boat was here for less than 30 days that year. 

Process after filing.  After you file your Statement of Appeal, the Board’s Appeals Office will send you a written acknowledgement of receipt of your statement and notify MRS that you have filed an appeal.

Submitting Information to the Board.  Once it has received your Statement of Appeal, the Appeals Office will ask that both you and MRS submit all arguments, evidence and any other information for the Board to consider in deciding the appeal.  This information is due within 21 days of the date of the Appeals Office’s request.  You must send MRS a copy of everything you submit to the Board, and MRS must send you a copy of everything it submits to the Board.

When submitting this information, keep in mind that this is one of your most important opportunities to make the Board understand why you think MRS has made a mistake.  Be sure to include all of your reasons for claiming MRS made a mistake, and all of the support you have for those reasons. 

Response to Information Submitted.  After you and MRS have submitted your information to the Board and sent copies to each other, the Appeals Office will give each party 14 days to respond to arguments and information submitted by the other party.  Again, you must send a copy of your response to MRS and MRS must send a copy of its response to you.

Obtaining Evidence.  You should do your best to obtain needed documents or witnesses.  If you need documents that someone else has, and they have refused to provide you with the documents, you may ask the Appeals Officer assigned to your case to issue a subpoena commanding the production of those documents.  Likewise, if a witness refuses to testify, you may ask the Appeals Officer to issue a subpoena commanding that witness to appear and testify.  The request for a subpoena must be in writing, and if a subpoena is issued, you must make sure that it is properly served and pay all costs associated with it, such as travel fees for witnesses.  A subpoena should be requested only when there is no other way to obtain the necessary evidence.

Procedural Conferences.  The Appeals Officer may (but is not required to) schedule a procedural conference if he or she believes that such a conference will be helpful.  The primary purposes of a procedural conference are:  (1) to streamline the appeal by determining which facts and legal issues you and MRS agree on, so that the parties and the Appeals Officer can focus on what the controversy is really about; and (2) to identify the witnesses and exhibits each party may bring to the conference, if one was requested, in order to avoid either party being surprised and unprepared at the conference.  Procedural conferences will usually be conducted by telephone.

The Appeals Conference.  If you requested one in your Statement of Appeal, the Appeals Office will schedule an appeals conference at which you will meet with the Appeals Officer and a representative from MRS.  This is your chance to present and explain your arguments and evidence to the Appeals Officer in person, as well as to have witnesses testify on your behalf.  Likewise, MRS will be able to present its arguments for why its position is correct, along with any supporting witnesses and other evidence.  The Appeals Officer will conduct the appeals conference to ensure that both you and MRS have a chance to make your arguments and respond to the presentation made by the other party.

If you cannot attend your appeals conference in person, it can be conducted as a telephone conference.

After the Appeals Conference or After the Submission of all Information and Responses.   Once the appeals conference has been completed, or, if you did not request a conference, after all information and responses have been submitted, the Appeals Officer will examine the evidence that has been presented and prepare a recommended decision for the Board’s consideration.  Before that decision is submitted to the Board, however, the Appeals Officer will send copies to you and MRS for comments.  All comments regarding the recommended decision must be submitted by a deadline that will be set by the Appeals Officer.  Just as with all other materials submitted during the appeals process, you must send a copy of your comments to MRS at the same time you send the original to the Appeals Officer, and MRS will send a copy of its comments to you.  

The Appeals Officer will consider the comments submitted by both you and MRS, and he or she may modify the recommended decision based on those comments.  If the Appeals Officer makes any significant chances to the decision, he or she will send copies of the modified recommended decision to you and MRS for review, and will give both parties a final opportunity to submit comments (with copies to be sent to each other).  If the Appeals Officer decides not to modify his or her recommended decision, he or she will send you a written response to the comments that have been submitted.  

Consideration by the Board and the Final Determination of your Appeal.  After the comment period for the recommended decision is complete, the Appeals Officer will provide the Board with the recommended decision, together with copies of all comments received and any written response the Appeals Officer has made to those comments.  The Board will then schedule a meeting to consider the appeal, and you will be notified of the date.  You may attend the meeting, as may a representative from MRS.  

You may also submit a written statement to the Board explaining why you think the Appeals Officer’s recommended decision reaches the right or wrong result in your appeal.  This statement may be no more than two pages in length in 12 point font on 8.5 by 11 inch paper (standard sized letter/copier paper), and must be delivered to the Board at least five days prior to the meeting.  In addition, both you and MRS may request that the Board allow the parties to each make an oral statement at the meeting in support of their positions.  These statements are limited to 10 minutes in length.  Requests to make an oral statement must be in writing and must also be delivered to the Board at least five days prior to the meeting.  Please note that the Board will not automatically grant a request to make an oral statement at the meeting.  Instead, the Board will only grant such a request if the Board members believe that they need to hear more from both you and MRS in order to make a fair decision on your appeal.  

You must send a copy of your written statement to the Board and any request to make an oral statement to MRS at the same time you send them to the Board.  

At the meeting, the Board will review the recommended decision and the parties’ written statements, and will consider the parties’ oral statements, if any were allowed.  The Board will then make a proposed decision in your case, which may be to:  (1) adopt the recommended decision; (2) modify and then adopt the recommended decision; (3) reject the recommended decision entirely and make a different decision; or (4) send the appeal back to the Appeals Officer with instructions to consider more evidence or re-examine the evidence and the legal interpretations at issue in the appeal.  If no request for reconsideration (as described below) is made within 20 days, the proposed decision becomes the Board’s final decision on your appeal.

What can you do if you disagree with the Board’s decision?  If you believe that the Board’s decision on your appeal was incorrect, you have two options.  

First, you may request that the Board reconsider its proposed decision by submitting a written request (with a copy to MRS) within 20 days of the Board’s proposed decision.  The Board may grant your request for reconsideration if it finds that either:  (1) you have evidence you wish to present that was unknown to you or could not be obtained by you before the Board issued its decision; or (2) the Board’s decision contains a procedural, factual or legal error that affected the outcome of your appeal.  You need to explain why one or both of these conditions exist in your request for reconsideration.  If the Board does grant your request, it may directly address the issues you raised or it may send the appeal back to an Appeals Officer for review.  If the Board does not grant your request for reconsideration within 20 days from when you filed it, then the Board’s proposed decision becomes final. 

Second, once the Board’s proposed decision becomes final you may file an appeal with the Maine Superior Court for the county in which you live, or in the Superior Court for Kennebec County.  If you take this option, you must file your appeal within 60 days following the date on which the Board’s proposed decision became final, and you must also send a copy of your appeal to MRS.  If you file in Kennebec County, you should send your appeal, together with the filing fee, to: Michele Lumbert, Clerk, Kennebec County Superior Court, 95 State Street, Augusta, ME 04330.  As of July 1, 2012, the filing fee was $150.00.

	You can find links to forms, statutes, rules, and a copy of this guide at the Maine Board of Tax Appeals website:
	http://www.maine.gov/boardoftaxappeals
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SAMPLE STATEMENT OF APPEAL
REQUESTING A CONFERENCE




Maine Board of Tax Appeals
134 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333-0134

Dear Maine Board of Tax Appeals:

	I hereby appeal the attached assessment [or denial of refund] that was issued by Maine Revenue Services, dated _________.

	As part of my appeal, I also request that the Board hold an appeals conference at which I may present my argument for why the assessment [or refund denial] is incorrect.  Enclosed is my check in the amount of $100.00 for the conference processing fee.

							Sincerely,


							_____________________
							Taxpayer

							Mailing address


							Telephone number






SAMPLE STATEMENT OF APPEAL
NOT REQUESTING A CONFERENCE


Maine Board of Tax Appeals
134 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333-0134

Dear Maine Board of Tax Appeals:

	I hereby appeal the attached assessment [or denial of refund] that was issued by Maine Revenue Services, dated _________.

	

							Sincerely,


							_____________________
							Taxpayer

							Mailing address


							Telephone number
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