Skip Maine state header navigation

Agencies | Online Services | Help

Skip First Level Navigation | Skip All Navigation

Information for Licensure by Endorsement for Practical Nurses (LPN)

Qualifications for Applicants

The Board of Nursing may issue a license to practice as a practical nurse in Maine if an applicant meets all of the following qualifications:

  1. is a graduate of an educational program in practical nursing approved by the official approving authority in another state or territory of the United States, and
  2. has been duly licensed by an examination, in English, in another state or territory of the United States, such examination is acceptable to the Maine State Board of Nursing, and such license has not been encumbered, and
  3. meets qualifications comparable to those required in Maine at the time of the applicant's graduation.


  • Application form and instructions for filing are available from the Board of Nursing.

    Click here for the LPN/LVN application
    (pdf document)

  • Application submitted must be complete, notarized, have attached a recent passport type photograph (not more than 2 years old), be signed and dated, and be accompanied by the required fee of $50.00, as established by law and stated on the application.

    We now accept Visa/MasterCard!
    (Please print this page and include it with your application.)

    Please provide the following:

    CREDIT CARD # _______________________________

    CREDIT CARD EXPIRATION: (mm/yy)___/___





  • Abandonment of Application
    An application for licensure by endorsement shall be considered to be abandoned if the applicant has not completed requirements for licensure within a two (2) year period from the date of receipt of the application. An abandoned application will be destroyed, and any subsequent application shall be considered to be a new application.
  • The endorsement fee is not refundable.

Verification of Original Licensure

  • Verification of licensure by examination, in English, will be obtained from the state or territory of original licensure.

    Click here for the Maine verification form (pdf document)

  • Any fee for verification required by the state or territory of original licensure must be paid by the applicant.

  • Exceptions: If original licensure is in Alaska, American Samoa, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Guam, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Louisianan-RN, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Northen Mariana Islands, Ohio, Oregon, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virgin Islands, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia-PN, Wisconsin or Wyoming, please click below.

    Click here to process the NURSYS License Verification Request Form Online


If you are applying for licensure by endorsement and have not taken NCLEX®, you must apply to the testing vendor to register to take the examination. The fee is $200.00. Registering online is the quickest way to register with the testing service. You may contact Vue Pearson, the current test vendor, at 1-866-496-2539, Mon-Fri, 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. U.S. central time, or go to®.

Practice Pending Licensure in Maine

An applicant for licensure by endorsement may practice practical nursing in Maine for a period of 90 days from receipt by the Board of Nursing of the application and fee provided such applicant:

  1. is currently licensed in another state or territory,
  2. possesses the official receipt from the Board of Nursing prior to employment, as stated in the law, and has provided the prospective employer evidence, in the form of such receipt, that a properly completed application has been submitted and that the total endorsement fee has been paid,
  3. has provided the employer evidence of current licensure in another state or territory.

Issuance of License

After the application has been approved, verification from the state or territory of original licensure has been received, and the endorsement fee has been paid, an applicant shall be issued a license to practice as a practical nurse in Maine. This original license shall be in effect from the date of issue for a period of at least one (1) year.