Skip Maine state header navigation

Agencies | Online Services | Help

Skip First Level Navigation | Skip All Navigation

About Discipline

Pursuant to §2506 of the Maine Health Security Act (Chapter 21, Title 24 MRS) requires the following:

§2506. Provider, entity and carrier reports

A health care provider or health care entity shall, within 60 days, report in writing to the disciplined practitioner's board or authority the name of any licensed, certified or registered employee or person privileged by the provider or entity whose employment or privileges have been revoked, suspended, limited or terminated or who resigned while under investigation or to avoid investigation for reasons related to clinical competence or unprofessional conduct, together with pertinent information relating to that action. Pertinent information includes: a description of the adverse action; the name of the practitioner involved; the date, the location and a description of the event or events giving rise to the adverse action; and identification of the complainant giving rise to the adverse action.

 

The Board make take disciplinary action against a nurse's license in response to violations of the law. Nurses must keep in mind that investigations, informal conferences, hearings, and disciplinary actions are conducted from the perspective of protecting the public. The Board does not take any disciplinary action against a nurse's license without due process, which includes the opportunity for an adjudicatory hearing and the right to be represented by counsel.
The only time the Board may suspend a license is if there is enough evidence to believe that there is a threat to the safety of the public in accordance with 5 MRSA Sec 10004. Should this happen, the nurse is automatically scheduled for an adjudicatory hearing within 30 days of the suspension.

To Register Complaints against Nursing Home or Hospitals in Maine- please call 1-800-383-2441

Home Health Care Agencies - Licensing & Regulatory Services, questions & complaints - please call 1-800-621-8222