Skip Maine state header navigation

Agencies | Online Services | Help

DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATIVE & FINANCIAL SERVICES
Bureau of Human Resources
August 26, 2002

HUMAN RESOURCES MEMORANDUM 11-02

TO: Agency/Department Heads and Human Resource Representatives
SUBJECT: 2003 Holiday Schedule for State Agency Employees Not Covered by a Collective Bargaining Agreement



The 2003 Holiday Schedule is issued under the provisions of Chapter 11 of the State of Maine Civil Service Rules and the Benefit Package for Confidential Employees.
HOLIDAY DAY/DATE OBSERVED
New Year’s Day Wednesday, January 1, 2003
Martin Luther King Jr. Day Monday, January 20, 2003
Washington’s Birthday (Presidents’ Day) Monday, February 17, 2003
Patriots’ Day Monday, April 21, 2003
Memorial Day Monday, May 26, 20031
Independence Day Friday, July 4, 2003
Labor Day Monday, September 1, 2003
Columbus Day Monday, October 13, 2003
Veterans’ Day Tuesday, November 11, 2003
Thanksgiving Day Thursday, November 27, 2003
Thanksgiving Friday Friday, November 28, 2003
Christmas Day Thursday, December 25, 2003

1 Memorial Day will change to May 30 if enacted in federal law.

A legal holiday falling on a Saturday is observed on the proceeding Friday. A legal holiday falling on a Sunday is observed on the following Monday. No holidays fall on Saturday or Sunday in 2003.

An employee who is required to work on any of these days will be granted compensatory time off at the mutual convenience of the employer and employee. If the holiday falls on a normal day off, an alternative compensatory day will be granted. Cash payments shall be made only in the instance of departmental policy established in conformance with Chapter 11, Section 1, of State of Maine Civil Service Rules.

To be eligible for holiday pay, employees must be in pay status on the normal workday immediately preceding and the normal workday immediately following the day and date on which the holiday is observed.


S/ Donald A. Wills
Donald A. Wills, Director
Bureau of Human Resources