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THE MAINE LEMON LAW AND 
STATE ARBITRATION 

§  7 .  1 .  Introduction 
The Maine Lemon Law allows consumers with a severely defective new vehicle to have their cases 

heard by a state arbitrator, free of charge. The arbitrator will hold a hearing and issue a decision within 
45 days of acceptance of the completed Lemon Law application. This chapter contains the following 
materials: 

§  7 .  2 .  Consumer’s Guide To State Lemon Law 
Arbitration 

§  7 .  3 .  Maine Lemon Law (10 M.R.S.A. §§1161-69) 

§  7 .  2 .  Consumer’s Guide To State 
Lemon Law Arbitration 

A. What Is The Maine Lemon Law? 
The Maine Lemon Law, 10 M.R.S.A. §§ 1161-1169, protects consumers who have serious 

defects in their new or used vehicles. The law defines a “lemon” as a vehicle either purchased or 
leased in Maine, which has a defect that substantially impairs the use, safety or value of the 
vehicle, and which has not been repaired after a reasonable number of attempts. If your vehicle 
is found to be a lemon then the manufacturer must give you a replacement vehicle or refund your 
money. 

B. What Is The State Lemon Law Arbitration Program? 
If a substantial defect still exists or recurs after a reasonable number of repair attempts, the 

consumer has the right to a refund or a replacement vehicle. If the manufacturer refuses to take 
back your vehicle you can seek a State Lemon Law Arbitration Hearing and receive a decision 
within 45 days of the acceptance of your application. This state arbitration service is provided to 
you at no cost, except for the $1.00 Lemon Law fee you pay when you buy a new vehicle. Please 
keep in mind that not all car problems are serious enough to qualify for relief under the Lemon 
Law. You must apply for State Lemon Arbitration within three1 years from the date your car was 
originally sold and within the manufacturer’s warranty coverage period. 

                                                           
1 Prior to September 13, 2003 the period was two years. 
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     C. What Vehicles Are Covered By The Lemon Law? 
         The Maine Lemon Law covers any new or used car, motorcycle, van, truck or RV, bought 
or leased in Maine from a dealer and which is still within the Lemon Law’s “term of protection.” 
This Lemon “protection period” is the length of the manufacturer’s express warranty, or three2 
years from the date of delivery to the original consumer buyer, or 18,000 miles of use, 
whichever comes first.3 You must notify the manufacturer or the dealer about your vehicle’s 
defect before this protection period ends. Subsequent owners can still be eligible for state lemon 
law arbitration. This can happen if you purchased the vehicle used but it is still protected by the 
manufacturer’s original express warranty. 

Even if they fall within the protection period, the following cars are not covered by the 
Lemon Law: (1) those purchased for a governmental agency, a business which registers three or 
more vehicles, (2) primarily commercial vehicle that have gross vehicle weight (G.V.W.) of  
8,500 pounds or more, or (3) vehicles purchased in order to resell them. 

D. What Problems Are NOT Covered By The Lemon Law? 
The Lemon Law does not cover vehicles with the following types of problems: 

(1) defects which do not substantially impair the vehicle’s use, value, or safety; 

(2) defects caused by owner negligence; 

(3) defects resulting from accident, or vandalism; 

(4) defects resulting from unauthorized repair or alteration of the vehicle by a person 
other than the manufacturer, its agents or authorized dealers. 

E. What Is Substantial Impairment? 
The Lemon Law only covers serious defects—those which substantially impair the use, 

safety or value of the vehicle. However, the law does not list specific defects, which are 
considered substantial. You must be able to demonstrate how your vehicle has been substantially 
impaired. For example, to prove substantial value impairment, you could show that the retail 
value of your vehicle is significantly less than it would be without the defect. Although a defect 
may be annoying, it is not necessarily “substantial”. See Jolovitz v. Alpha Romao Distributors, 
760 A2.d 625, 628 (Me. 2000) (a nonconformity will trigger replacement or refund only if 
manufacturer is unable to demonstrate objectively that the nonconformity has little effect on use 
safety or value. 

F. How Many Repair Attempts Before Your Car Is A Lemon? 
The Lemon Law gives the manufacturer, its agent or authorized dealer a “reasonable number 

of attempts” to repair the substantial defect. The Lemon Law creates a presumption that a 
reasonable number of attempts has been allowed if either of the following happens within the 
law’s “term of protection” (the manufacturer’s express warranty, three years after delivery to the 
original buyer, or 18,000 miles of use, whichever comes first): 

 

                                                           
2   Prior to September 13, 2003 the period was two years. 
3  Thus, new, used or so-called “program vehicles” (e.g., fleet rental vehicles, dealer demonstrators, dealer loaner vehicles) 

could fall under the Lemon Law if they are still within the Lemon Law “term of protection.”  
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(1) a repair was attempted three or more times for the same substantial defect 4; or 

(2) a single repair was attempted for a serious failure of either the braking or steering 
system5; or 

(3) repairs were attempted for any defect or combination of defects that resulted in the 
vehicle being out of service for a cumulative total of 15 or more business days. 

Note: A business day is any day that the service department of an authorized dealer is open 
for business. 

If the defect continues or recurs despite the repair attempts and still substantially impairs 
your vehicle, then you can take the next step in the Lemon Law process—offering the 
manufacturer a final repair opportunity. 

If your defect is so serious that you cannot wait (e.g., a safety problem) you do not 
necessarily have to meet the repair attempts standard. However, you must give the manufacturer 
at least one opportunity to repair and then a “final opportunity to repair.” 

G. What is the “Final Opportunity To Repair ” Requirement? 
Once the manufacturer or authorized dealer has not been able to repair the substantial defect, 

and the problem continues or recurs, you must contact the manufacturer in writing and state that 
you want a refund or replacement and that you will give the manufacturer one final repair 
opportunity, of at least seven business days, to fix the defect. 

You should send notification of the manufacturer’s final opportunity to repair by certified 
mail, return receipt requested, to the manufacturer’s regional office. (See sample.) This way 
you can prove when the manufacturer received it. You may get the manufacturer’s address from 
your warranty information or from the Attorney General’s Lemon Law Arbitration Program at 
207-626-8848.  

It is essential to keep copies of your “final opportunity to repair” letter, request for a refund 
or replacement, as this is a necessary step before you can receive Lemon Law relief. Once the 
manufacturer receives your letter, the manufacturer will have 7 business days to make a final 
repair attempt. You must cooperate with this final repair attempt in order to be eligible for 
Lemon Law relief. 

Make sure you include in your notice telephone numbers at which the dealer or manufacturer 
may reach you or leave a message. You should be prepared to turn over your car to the 
manufacturer for a repair attempt after you give the final opportunity notice. 

The manufacturer may choose not to use this final opportunity to attempt repair. If after the 
seven business days the substantial defect has not been repaired, or has been repaired and recurs, 
you may very well have the right to a refund or replacement under the Lemon Law. If the 
manufacturer does not voluntarily return your money or provide you with a replacement vehicle, 
you may request a State arbitration hearing. 

When you notify the manufacturer of its final opportunity to repair, we recommend you use 
the following form letter (simply fill in the blanks). Keep a copy of the letter for your records. 

 
 

                                                           
4   Prior to legislation effective September 3, 2003 at least two of the repair attempts had to be by the same dealer or the     
    manufacturer. 
5 This provision was effective September 13, 2003. 
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MAINE  LEMON  LAW 

NOTICE OF FINAL OPPORTUNITY TO REPAIR 
Pursuant to 10 M.R.S.A. § 1163 (3-A) 

Consumer 
 
 

Manufacturer 

Address 
 
 
 

Address 

Home telephone 
 

 

Work telephone 
 

 

 
Vehicle Information 
Make 
 
 

Model Year Vehicle Identification Number 

Date of Purchase 
 
 

Dealer Purchased from 
 

 

I request either a replacement vehicle or the refund of the purchase price. The above-named 
vehicle is seriously defective and you have not been able to repair it. 

You now have one final opportunity to repair the following problems with my vehicle: 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

If these repairs are not successfully completed within seven business days following receipt 
of this letter, I will seek full Lemon Law remedies. 

 
Signature of Customer 

 
Date 

Send original to manufacturer 

Submit a copy with your Lemon Law application 

Keep a copy for your records 
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H. How Can I Prove My Vehicle Is A Lemon? 
If you have a serious problem with your vehicle, it is very important that you keep complete 

and accurate records of all contacts with the manufacturer or dealer, and all receipts. You have 
a right to an itemized bill for any repair work, including warranty repair work, under the Maine 
Lemon Law (10 M.R.S.A. § 1169(9)). You should request a copy of these records, and examine 
them to be certain that the problem you complained about is listed. 

Under the Maine Lemon Law you can also request copies of all reports dealing with your 
vehicle, such as reports by the dealer or the manufacturer concerning inspection, diagnosis, or 
test-drives of that vehicle, and any technical reports, bulletins, or notices issued by the 
manufacturer regarding your vehicle’s specific make and model. 

You can also have your vehicle evaluated by an independent mechanic and have him testify 
at your arbitration hearing or if he is not available, write out his diagnosis and submit it to the 
arbitrator. 

I. Am I Only Entitled To A Replacement Vehicle? 
If your vehicle is determined to be a lemon, the manufacturer must offer you a refund or 

replacement vehicle. If the manufacturer offers a replacement vehicle, it must be one that is 
acceptable to you. You are free to reject a replacement vehicle and demand a refund. However, 
you cannot reject a refund and demand a replacement. 

J. How Much Of A Refund Am I Entitled To? 
If you choose to get a refund, you will receive the full contract price of the vehicle. If you 

leased your vehicle, you will receive your down payment, any trade-in allowance, and the total 
of lease payments made to date. 

In either case your refund will be reduced by a reasonable allowance for use.  The mileage 
deduction in a Lemon Law award is based on 1/3 of the IRS standard deduction for operating a 
car for business miles driven, or 10 % of the purchase price, whichever is less.  Contact the 
Lemon Law office for the current mileage deduction rate (800-436-2131 or 207-626-8848, 
lemon.law@maine.gov). 

Note: You may keep your vehicle until you have been given a refund or an acceptable 
replacement vehicle. However, miles driven over 20,000 miles during this time will be included 
when calculating the reasonable allowance for use. 

Cost Reimbursement. If the manufacturer issues a refund, you can be reimbursed for the 
following costs: 

(1) The total purchase price (total price before you subtracted any rebates or deposits 
or your trade-in allowance) or, if a leased vehicle, the lease payments made to 
date; included in the full purchase price are the costs of all dealer added options or 
services (e.g., radio, air conditioning); 

 (2) 
 

collateral charges, including, sales tax, document fees, title and arbitration fees 
and registration fees;   

            (3) 
(4) 

Interest paid on vehicle financing; 
costs incurred by you for towing and storage of the vehicle and for procuring 
alternative transportation while the vehicle was out of service by reason of repair, 
or was undriveable (arbitrator’s discretion); and 

(5) reasonable expert witness fees. 
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Refund/Replacement Costs Not Recoverable. The following are not reimbursable as the 
result of a favorable Lemon Law arbitration decision: 

(1) attorney’s fees; 

(2) time lost from work; 

(3) other  consequential damages; 

(4) excise taxes; 

(5) extended service contracts (warranties); 

(6) rebates. 

K. What Exactly Is Lemon Arbitration? 
Arbitration is an inexpensive and informal way to resolve your complaint without going to 

court. In arbitration, the consumer and the manufacturer present evidence about the condition of 
the vehicle to an impartial arbitrator. The arbitrator will then decide the case and issue a written 
decision. There are two types of lemon arbitration: state-run and manufacturer-sponsored. 

(1) State-Run Lemon Law Arbitration 

The state’s Lemon Law Arbitration Program hears only Lemon Law cases. You will receive an 
arbitrator’s decision within 45 days of acceptance of your arbitration request. Except for a $1 
arbitration fee you pay when you purchase your new or used car, there is no fee for State Lemon 
Arbitration. The Attorney General has selected the Secretary of State’s Hearing Examiners Office in 
the Department of Motor Vehicles to conduct all State Lemon Law Arbitrations. These Hearing 
Examiners are neutral professional examiners, and will hold Lemon Law arbitrations in different 
locations around the state. 

State Arbitration is “All or Nothing.” The purpose of a state-run arbitration hearing is to 
determine whether or not your vehicle qualifies for refund or replacement under the Lemon Law. If 
the arbitrator determines that your vehicle meets the Lemon Law standards, you will be awarded a 
full refund (less the use allowance and the amount of any previous settlement from the manufacturer) 
or replacement. If the arbitrator decides that your vehicle is not a “lemon,” there will be no award. 

(2) Manufacturer-Sponsored Lemon Arbitration 
You may also request manufacturer-sponsored arbitration for Lemon Law defects, as well as for 

other less serious problems. A manufacturer arbitrator or panel will not necessarily apply the Lemon 
Law standards. The arbitrator can order additional repairs or partial or full refunds. Most 
manufacturers are bound by the decisions of their arbitration programs. However, if you are 
dissatisfied with the results of manufacturer-sponsored arbitration, you may then request state-run 
arbitration or you can sue in court under the Maine Lemon Law or other Maine laws. Your warranty 
booklet should provide you with additional information about the manufacturer's arbitration program 
or you can contact its zone or regional office. 

(3)   Differences Between State and Manufacturer Arbitration 

      The two main differences between the manufacturers’ arbitration programs and State Lemon Law 
Arbitration are: 

(a) The manufacturer’s arbitration program can order additional repairs, but the state 
arbitration program can only order a replacement car or a full refund or no relief at 
all; and 
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(b) 

 
The manufacturer is bound by its own arbitrator’s decision, but can appeal a state 
Lemon Arbitration decision. 

 

(4) Lemon Law Court Actions 
If the state arbitrator’s decision is not favorable you can appeal it to Superior Court or you can 

initiate, on your own, a new court action. This new court action can ask for Lemon Law remedies or 
other relief that may be available to you under the Maine Unfair Trade Practices Act, the Maine 
Uniform Commercial Code, common law or other state or federal laws.  If you are considering an 
appeal or a new court action you should certainly consult an attorney. 

  L.    Outline Of The Lemon Law Process  
r Here are the six stages of a Lemon Law claim: 

 

(1) Motor vehicle has serious defect or combination of defects. 
(2) There were a reasonable number of repair attempts but defect continues. 
(3) The Manufacturer was given a Final Repair Opportunity (no more than seven 

business days.) 
(4) The defect is not repaired. 
(5) The consumer receives a State Lemon Arbitration Hearing within 45 days. 
(6) The consumer receives a refund or replacement vehicle if the Arbitrator finds 

that the defect substantially impairs the use, safety or value of the motor vehicle. 
 

M. For Lemon Law Help 
Here are some agencies to contact if you feel your vehicle is a lemon: 
     (1) Information on your rights under the Maine Lemon Law and State Lemon Law 
Application Form: 

Lemon Law Arbitration Program 
Office of the Attorney General 
Consumer Protection Division 
6 State House Station 
Augusta, ME  04333-0006 
800-436-2131 or 207-626-8848 
lemon.law@maine.gov 

      
    (2) To inquire whether your car has a serious defect or has been recalled: 
      National Highway Traffic Safety Administration        1-800-424-9393 
      Web site: www.NHTSA.DOT.GOV 
      Center For Auto Safety (recall and defect information)    1-202-328-7700 
      Web site: www.autosafety.org 

 



7 - 8 MAINE CONSUMER LAW GUIDE 

§  7 .  3 .  Maine Lemon Law (10 M.R.S.A. §§ 
1161-69) 

 

TITLE 10, CHAPTER 203-A MANUFACTURER WARRANTIES ON MOTOR 
VEHICLES 

§ 1161. Definitions 
As used in this chapter, unless the context indicates otherwise, the following terms have the 

following meanings. 

1. Consumer. “Consumer” means the purchaser, other than for purposes of resale, or the 
lessee, of a motor vehicle, any person to whom the motor vehicle is transferred during the 
duration of an express warranty applicable to the motor vehicle and any other person entitled by 
the terms of the warranty to enforce the obligations of the warranty, except that the term 
“consumer” shall not include any governmental entity, or any business or commercial enterprise 
which registers three or more motor vehicles. 

2. Manufacturer. “Manufacturer” means manufacturer, importer, distributor or anyone 
who is named as the warrantor on an express written warranty on a motor vehicle. 

3. Motor Vehicle. “Motor vehicle” means any motor driven vehicle, designed for the 
conveyance of passengers or property on the public highways, that is sold or leased in this State, 
except that the term “motor vehicle” does not include any vehicle used primarily for commercial 
purposes with a gross vehicle weight of 8,500 pounds or more. 

4. Reasonable allowance for use. “Reasonable allowance for use” means  an amount that 
can not exceed the lesser of 1/3 of that amount allowed per mile by the United States Internal 
Revenue Service as provided by regulation, revenue procedure or revenue ruling promulgated 
under the United States Internal Revenue Code, Title 26, Section 162 for the use of a personal 
vehicle for business purposes based upon the mileage reported for that motor vehicle on the 
application for state-certified arbitration accepted by the State plus all mileage directly 
attributable to use by a consumer beyond 20,000 miles or 10% of the purchase price of the 
vehicle. 

5. State-certified arbitration. “State-certified arbitration” means the informal dispute 
settlement procedure administered by the Department of the Attorney General which arbitrates 
consumer complaints dealing with new motor vehicles that may be so defective as to qualify for 
equitable relief under the Maine lemon laws. 

§ 1161-A. Short title    
  This chapter may be known and cited as “the Maine Lemon Law.” 
§ 1162. Scope; construction. 

1. Consumer Rights. Nothing in this chapter in any way limits the rights or remedies which 
are otherwise available to a consumer under any other law. 

2. Manufacturers, distributors, agents and dealers. Nothing in this chapter in any way 
limits the rights or remedies of franchisees under chapter 204 or other applicable law. 

3. Waivers void. Any agreement entered into by a consumer which waives, limits or 
disclaims the rights set forth in this chapter shall be void as contrary to public policy. 
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§ 1163. Rights and duties. 

1. Repair of non-conformities. If a new motor vehicle does not conform to all express 
warranties, the manufacturer, its agent or authorized dealer shall make those repairs necessary to 
conform the vehicle to the express warranties if the consumer reports the nonconformity to the 
manufacturer, its agent or authorized dealer during the term of the express warranties, within a 
period of 3 years following the date of original delivery of the motor vehicle to a consumer, or 
during the first 18,000 miles of operation of that motor vehicle, whichever occurs earliest. This 
obligation exists notwithstanding the fact that the repairs are made after the expiration of the 
appropriate time period. 

2. Failure to make effective repair. If the manufacturer or its agents or authorized dealers 
are unable to conform the motor vehicle to any applicable express warranty by repairing or 
correcting any defect or condition, or combination of defects or conditions, that substantially 
impairs the use, safety or value of the motor vehicle after a reasonable number of attempts, the 
manufacturer shall either replace the motor vehicle with a comparable motor vehicle or accept 
return of the vehicle from the consumer and make a refund to the consumer and lien holder, if 
any, as their interests may appear. The consumer may reject any offered replacement and receive 
instead a refund. The refund must consist of the following items, less a reasonable allowance for 
use of the vehicle: 

A. The full purchase price or, if a leased vehicle, the lease payments made to date, including 
any paid finance charges on the purchased or leased vehicle; 

B. All collateral charges, including, but not limited to, sales tax, registration fees and similar 
government charges; and 

C. Reasonable costs incurred by the consumer for towing and storage of the vehicle and for 
procuring alternative transportation while the vehicle could not be driven because it did not 
conform to any applicable express warranty. 

The provisions of this section do not affect the obligations of a consumer under a loan or sales 
contract or the secured interest of any secured party. The secured party shall consent to the 
replacement of the security interest with a corresponding security interest on a replacement motor 
vehicle, that is accepted by the consumer in exchange for the motor vehicle, if the replacement 
motor vehicle is comparable in value to the original motor vehicle. If, for any reason, the security 
interest in the motor vehicle having a defect or condition is not able to be replaced with a 
corresponding security interest on a motor vehicle accepted by the consumer, the consumer is 
entitled to a refund. Refunds required under this section must be made to the consumer and the 
secured party, if any, as their interests exist at the time the refund is to be made. Similarly, refunds 
to a lessor and lessee must be made as their interests exist at the time the refund is to be made. 

3. Reasonable number of attempts; presumption. There is a presumption that a reasonable 
number of attempts have been undertaken to conform a motor vehicle to the applicable express 
warranties if: 
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A. The same nonconformity has been subject to a repair attempt 3 or more times by the 

manufacturer or its agents or authorized dealers within the express warranty term, during the 
period of 3 years following the date of original delivery of the motor vehicle to a consumer or 
during the first 18,000 miles of operation of that motor vehicle, whichever occurs earliest, and the 
nonconformity continues to exist;  

A-2. The same nonconformity has resulted in a serious failure of either the breaking or 
steering system in the vehicle and has been subject to a repair attempt one or more times by the 
manufacturer or its agents or authorized dealers during the warranty term or the appropriate time 
period, whichever occurs earlier; or 

 
B. The vehicle is out of service by reason of a repair attempt by the manufacturer, its agents 

or authorized dealer, of any defect or condition or combination of defects for a cumulative total of 
15 or more business days during that warranty term or the appropriate time period, whichever 
occurs earlier. 

3-A. Final opportunity to repair. If the manufacturer or its agents have been unable to make 
the repairs necessary to conform the vehicle to the express warranties, the consumer shall notify, 
in writing, the manufacturer or the authorized dealer of the consumer’s desire for a refund or 
replacement.  This notice can be given after one repair attempt if the nonconformity has resulted 
in a serious failure of either the breaking or steering systems in the vehicle. For the seven business 
days following receipt by the dealer or the manufacturer of this notice, the manufacturer has a 
final opportunity to correct or repair any nonconformities. This final repair must be at a repair 
facility that is reasonably accessible to the consumer. This repair effort does not stay the time 
period within which the manufacturer must provide an arbitration hearing pursuant to § 1165. 

4.  Time limit, extension. The term of an express warranty, the 18,000 mileage term, the 3-
year period following delivery and the 15-day period provided in subsection 3, paragraph B, must 
be extended by any period of time during which repair services are not available to the consumer 
because of a war, invasion or strike or fire, flood or other natural disaster. 

5. Dealer liability. Nothing in this chapter may be construed as imposing any liability on a 
dealer or creating a cause of action by a consumer against a dealer under this section, except 
regarding any written express warranties made by the dealer apart from the manufacturer’s own 
warranties. 

6. Disclosure of notice requirement. No consumer may be required to notify the 
manufacturer of a claim under this section, unless the manufacturer has clearly and conspicuously 
disclosed to the consumer, in the warranty or owner’s manual, that written notification of the 
nonconformity is required before the consumer may be eligible for a refund or replacement of the 
vehicle. The manufacturer shall include with the warranty or owner’s manual the name and 
address to which the consumer shall send the written notification. 

6-A. Notification of Dealer. Consumers may also satisfy a manufacturer’s notice requirement 
by notifying in writing the authorized dealer of a claim under this section. The dealer shall act as 
the manufacturer’s agent and immediately communicate to the manufacturer the consumer’s claim 

7. Disclosure at time of resale. A motor vehicle that is returned to the manufacturer under 
subsection 2, may not be resold without clear and conspicuous written disclosure to any 
subsequent purchaser, whether that purchaser is a consumer or a dealer, of the following 
information 

A. That the motor vehicle was returned to the manufacturer under this chapter; 
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B. That the motor vehicle did not conform to the manufacturer’s express warranties; and 

C. The ways in which the motor vehicle did not conform to the manufacturer’s express 
warranties. 

8.  Disclosure at time of retail sale under settlement agreement. A motor vehicle that is 
surrendered to a manufacturer as a result of a settlement of a state-certified arbitration must, at the 
time the vehicle is first offered for retail sale to the public, be affixed with a clear and conspicuous 
written disclosure stating that the vehicle was the subject of a Maine Lemon Law settlement 
agreement. 

 

§ 1164. Affirmative defense. 
It is an affirmative defense to any claim under this chapter that: 

1. Lack of impairment. An alleged nonconformity does not substantially impair the use,  

safety or value of the motor vehicle; or 

2.      Abuse. Nonconformity is the result of abuse, neglect or unauthorized modifications or 
alterations of a motor vehicle by anyone other than the manufacturer, its agents or authorized 
dealers since delivery to the consumer. 

§ 1165. Informal dispute settlement 

 If a manufacturer has established an informal dispute settlement procedure which complies in 
all respects with the provisions of 16 CFR, Part 703, as from time to time amended, the provisions 
of section 1163, subsection 2, concerning refunds or replacement shall not apply to any consumer 
who has not first resorted to that procedure or to state-certified arbitration. This requirement shall 
be satisfied 40 days after notification to the informal dispute settlement procedure of the dispute 
or when the procedure’s duties under 16 CFR, Part 703.5(d) are completed, whichever occurs 
sooner. 

§ 1166. Unfair or deceptive trade practice 

A violation of any of the provisions of this chapter shall be considered prima facie evidence of 
an unfair or deceptive trade practice under Title 5, chapter 10. 

§ 1167. Attorney’s fees 
 In the case of a consumer’s successful action to enforce any liability under this chapter, a court 
may award reasonable attorney’s fees and costs incurred. 

§ 1168. New car leases 
For the purposes of this chapter only, the following apply to leases of new motor vehicles. 

1. Warranties. If express warranties are regularly furnished to purchasers of substantially 
the same kind of motor vehicles: 

  A. Those warranties are deemed to apply to the leased motor vehicles; and 

  B. The consumer lessee is deemed to be the first purchaser of the motor vehicle for the 
purpose of any warranty provisions limiting warranty benefits to the original purchaser. 
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      2.   Lessee’s rights. The lessee of a motor vehicle has the same rights under this chapter 
against the manufacturer and any person making express warranties that the lessee would have 
under this chapter if the vehicle had been purchased by the lessee. The manufacturer and any 
person making express warranties have the same duties and obligations under this chapter with 
respect to the vehicle that the manufacturer and other person would have under this chapter if the 
goods had been sold to the lessee. 

  3.  Termination of lease and obligations.  The lessee’s lease agreement with the motor 
vehicle lessor and all contractual obligations terminate upon a decision that the vehicle does not 
conform to the vehicle’s express warranty and the return of the vehicle to the lessor.  The lessee 
may not be liable to the manufacturer or motor vehicle lessor for any further costs or charges 
under the lease agreement.  The motor vehicle lessor shall release the motor vehicle title to the 
manufacturer upon payment by the manufacturer under this chapter. 

 

§ 1169. State-certified, new car arbitration 
      1. Neutral new car arbitration. All manufacturers shall submit to state-certified, motor 
vehicle arbitration if arbitration is requested by the consumer within 3 years from the date of 
original delivery to the consumer of a new motor vehicle or within the term of the express 
warranties, whichever comes first, and the State has accepted the application as making proper 
Maine Lemon Law claims. 

 State-certified arbitration must be performed by one or more neutral arbitrators selected by the 
Department of the Attorney General operating in accordance with the rules adopted pursuant to 
this chapter. The Attorney General may contract with an independent entity to provide arbitration 
or the Attorney General’s office may appoint neutral arbitrators. Each party to arbitration is 
entitled to one rejection of a proposed arbitrator. 

  2. Written findings. Each arbitration results in a written finding of whether the motor 
vehicle in dispute meets the standards set forth by this chapter for vehicles that are required to be 
replaced or refunded. This finding must be issued within 45 days of receipt by the Department of 
the Attorney General of a properly completed written request by a consumer for state-certified 
arbitration under this section. All findings of fact issuing from a state-certified arbitration must be 
taken as admissible evidence of whether the standards set forth in this chapter for vehicles 
required to be refunded or replaced have been met in any subsequent action brought by either 
party ensuing from the matter considered in the arbitration. The finding reporting date may be 
extended by 5 days if the arbitrator seeks an independent evaluation of the motor vehicle.   In 
addition to the other remedies provided by this chapter, the arbitrator may award a consumer 
whose motor vehicle is required to be replaced or refunded reasonable witness fees for a 
professional motor vehicle mechanic or engineer who prepared a notarized report on the condition 
of the vehicle or who testified at the arbitration hearing on behalf of the consumer. 

  3. Administered by Attorney General. The Department of the Attorney General shall 
promulgate rules governing the proceedings of state-certified arbitration, which shall promote 
fairness and efficiency. These rules shall include, but are not limited to, a requirement of the 
personal objectivity of each arbitrator in the results of the dispute that that arbitrator will hear, and 
the protection of the right of each party to present its case and to be in attendance during any 
presentation made by the other party. 
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4. Consumer arbitration relief. If a motor vehicle is found by state-certified arbitration to have 
met the standards set forth in section 1163, subsection 2, for vehicles required to be replaced or 
refunded, and if the manufacturer of the motor vehicle is found to have failed to provide the 
refund or replacement as required, the manufacturer shall, within 21 days from the receipt of a 
finding, deliver the refund or replacement, including the costs and collateral charges set forth in 
section 1163, subsection 2, or appeal the finding in Superior Court. For good cause, a 
manufacturer may seek from the Department of the Attorney General an extension of the time 
within which it must deliver to the consumer a replacement vehicle. 

5. Appeal of arbitration decision. An appeal by a manufacturer or consumer of the arbitrator’s 
findings may not be heard unless the petition for appeal is filed with the Superior Court of the 
county in which the sale occurred, within 21 days of issuance of the finding of the state-certified 
arbitration.  The appeal must be a trial de novo.  The arbitrator and the Department of the 
Attorney General may not be parties in any such appeal and may not be called as witnesses 

 

The Department of the Attorney General may submit an amicus curiae brief. In the event that any 
state-certified arbitration resulting in an award of a refund or replacement is upheld by the court, 
recovery by the consumer may include continuing damages up to the amount of $25 per day for 
each day subsequent to the day the motor vehicle was returned to the manufacturer, pursuant to 
section 1163, that the vehicle was out of use as a direct result of any nonconformity, not issuing 
from owner negligence, accident, vandalism or any attempt to repair or substantially modify the 
vehicle by a person other than the manufacturer, its agent or authorized dealer, provided that the 
manufacturer did not make a comparable vehicle available to the consumer free of charge. 

In addition to any other recovery, any prevailing consumer must be awarded reasonable attorney’s 
fees and costs. If the court finds that the manufacturer did not have any reasonable basis for its 
appeal or that the appeal was frivolous, the court shall double the amount of the total award to the 
consumer. 

 6. Consumer’s rights if arbitrator denies relief. The provisions of this chapter shall not be 
construed to limit or restrict in any way the rights or remedies provided to consumers under this 
chapter or any other state law. In addition, if any consumer is dissatisfied with any finding of 
state-certified arbitration, the consumer shall have the right to apply to the manufacturer’s 
informal dispute settlement procedure, if the consumer has not already done so, or may appeal 
that finding to the Superior Court of the county in which the sale occurred within 21 days of the 
decision. 

  7. Disclosure of consumer lemon law rights. A clear and conspicuous disclosure of the 
rights of the consumer under this chapter shall be provided by the manufacturer to the consumer 
along with ownership manual materials. The form and manner of these notices shall be prescribed 
by rule of the Department of the Attorney General. The notice disclosures shall not include 
window stickers. 

  8. Manufacturer’s failure to abide by arbitrator’s decision. The failure of a manufacturer 
either to abide by the decision of state-certified arbitration or to file a timely appeal shall entitle 
any prevailing consumer who has brought an action to enforce this chapter to an award of no less 
than 2 times the actual award, unless the manufacturer can prove that the failure was beyond the 
manufacturer’s control or can show it was the result of a written agreement with the consumer. 
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       9. Consumer request for information. Upon request from the consumer, the manufacturer 
or dealer shall provide a copy of all repair records for the consumer’s motor vehicle and all 
reports relating to that motor vehicle, including reports by the dealer or manufacturer concerning 
inspection, diagnosis or test-drives of that vehicle and any technical reports, bulletins or notices 
issued by the manufacturer regarding the specific make and model of the consumer’s new motor 
vehicle as it pertains to any material, feature, component or the performance of the motor vehicle. 

  10. Penalties. It shall be prima facie evidence of an unfair trade practice under Title 5, chapter 
10, for a manufacturer, within 21 days of receipt of any finding in favor of the consumer in state-
certified arbitration, to fail to appeal the finding and not deliver a refund or replacement vehicle or 
not receive from the Department of the Attorney General an extension of time for delivery of the 
replacement vehicle. 

  11. Arbitration and Mediation account. To defray the costs incurred by the Department of 
the Attorney General in resolving consumer new and used motor vehicle disputes through the 
lemon law arbitration program and, for vehicles that do not qualify for arbitration, the consumer 
mediation service, the following fees are imposed. 

A. A $1 lemon law arbitration program fee must be collected by the authorized new car dealer 
from the purchaser as part of each new motor vehicle sale agreement. 

  B. A $1 consumer mediation service fee must be collected by the used car dealer from the 
purchaser as part of each used motor vehicle sale agreement. 

The Secretary of State shall adopt rules to implement this subsection.  The rules must provide that 
the fees imposed by this subsection must be forwarded annually by the dealer or its successor to 
the Secretary of State and deposited in the General Fund.  At the end of each fiscal year, the 
Department of the Attorney General shall prepare a report listing the money generated by these 
fees during the fiscal year and the expenses incurred in administering its consumer dispute 
resolution programs. 


