
MISSION STATEMENT
The mission of Maine Revenue Services is to serve the citizens of Maine by administering the tax laws of the State effectively and professionally in 
order to provide the revenues necessary to support Maine government. To accomplish this mission, we will:

• Foster voluntary compliance with the tax laws by providing clear, complete, accurate, and timely guidance to taxpayers to help them understand 
and meet their responsibilities under the law.

• Maintain the highest standards of integrity, fairness, confi dentiality and courtesy in everything we do.
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Use this booklet to report nonresident member withholding for pass-through entities.  For more information regarding withholding for 
nonresident members of pass-through entities, go to the MRS web site at: www.maine.gov/revenue/incomeestate.

                                                                                    

Electronic Filing and Payment Requirements

Rule 102 Revised. Maine Revenue Services recently completed revisions to Rule 102, “Electronic Funds Transfer.” The updated rule, which 
may be viewed on the MRS web site at www.maine.gov/revenue/rules, includes changes to EFT thresholds and various other changes. Revised 
EFT thresholds are based on the taxpayer’s combined tax liability to the state for all taxes collected by the Bureau, except property taxes and 
commercial forestry excise taxes. Beginning January 1, 2009, taxpayers having a total combined tax liability of $50,000 or more during lookback 
periods ending in 2008 are required to remit all payments to MRS electronically. For years after 2009, the threshold is $25,000. Maine Revenue 
Services has several electronic payment options for your convenience.

Rule 104 Revised. Maine Revenue Services recently revised Rule 104, “Electronic Filing of Maine Tax Returns.” The updated rule, available at 
www.maine.gov/revenue/rules, requires electronic fi ling (E-fi le, I-fi le, etc) of all original Maine tax returns of quarterly and annual reconciliation 
for Maine income tax withholding for 2009 if the following thresholds are met or exceeded with respect to employers, third party fi lers, payroll 
processors, and non-wage payers: 

•  First calendar quarter 2009: 50 or more employees/clients/payees that are subject to Maine income tax withholding;

•  Second, third, and fourth calendar quarters 2009: 10 or more employees/clients/payees that are subject to Maine income tax withholding;

•  2010: 5 or more employees/clients/payees that are subject to Maine income tax withholding.

For questions on fi ling income tax withholding returns electronically, call 626-8475, press 1, option 4 or e-mail withholding.tax@maine.gov. 

 Electronic Filing

Electronic Payments
          

www.maine.gov/revenue

Stay current with the latest tax news and information.  
Subscribe to

 the online Maine Tax Alert Newsletter.  It’s free!  
Sign up at www.maine.gov/revenue/publications/alerts
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MAINE REVENUE SERVICES PRIVACY POLICY
Maine Revenue Services (“MRS”) maintains the highest standards in handling personally identifi able taxpayer information. Taxpayers 
have the right to know what information is kept on fi le about them, to have reasonable access to it, and to receive a copy of their fi le.  
Under penalty of law, employees and agents of MRS are prohibited from willfully inspecting information contained on any tax return for any 
purpose other than the conduct of offi cial duties.  In addition, MRS employees and agents are prohibited from disclosing tax information 
to anyone other than the taxpayer except in a limited number of very specifi c circumstances.  No unassociated third parties may receive 
information pertaining to tax returns without written permission from the affected taxpayer except as allowed under 36 M.R.S.A. § 191. 
Communications that do not meet the defi nition of tax information are subject to the general confi dentiality and public inspection provisions 
of Maine’s “Freedom of Access” laws.  When confi dential taxpayer  information is stored by MRS, it is kept in a secure location where it 
is accessible only to authorized employees and agents of MRS. If you have any questions regarding the Privacy Policy, please contact 
MRS at (207) 626-8475.

Dos and Don’ts for Clients of Payroll Processors in Maine:
Using the services of a payroll processor can be a convenient and economical way for an employer or non-wage fi ler to fi le and pay 
withholding taxes. However, employers or non-wage fi lers face certain risks associated with the use of a processor, including possible 
lack of compliance and the risk of loss of funds that are under the control of the processor. Ultimately, it is the employer or non-wage 
fi ler who bears the responsibility for meeting its payroll tax obligations. If you are an employer or non-wage fi ler that uses the 
services of a payroll processor, you should take the following precautions:

 Educate yourself to understand your fi ling requirements and the risks associated with using a payroll processor.

 Verify with the Burerau of Consumer Credit Protection, (207) 624-8527 or www.credit.maine.gov, that the processor is licensed 
and has provided proof of liability insurance to protect client funds, including coverage for crimes such as fraud and theft.  If the 
processor has access to your company’s funds, verify with the state that the company has also posted a surety bond or letter 
of credit, or is enrolled in the state’s Payroll Processor Recovery Fund.

 Obtain verifi cation from the payroll processor and its insurer that the processor’s liability insurance will remain in effect for a 
specifi ed period of time.

 Read your contract with your processor carefully.

 Ensure that the agreement/contract and any power of attorney that your processor has with you specifi cally requires that all 
notices sent by the IRS and State tax agencies be sent directly to you.

 Never hesitate to contact tax authorities or the Burerau of Consumer Credit Protection directly when you feel it necessary.

 Check with the appropriate tax agency periodically to ensure that returns and payments are fi led in a timely manner.

 Insist on verifi cation from your processor that any problem for which the employer has received a tax agency notice has been 
resolved.

 Never assume that everything is fi ne solely because you have not received notice of any problems from the IRS or MRS.

 Never sign a tax return before it is completed. 

 Require that the processor provide copies of returns, not just summaries, at the time of fi ling.

 If you are using a nationwide payroll service, be sure you are assigned a direct contact person and telephone number.

PAYROLL PROCESSORS

A payroll processor is an entity that performs the following services 
for one or more employers or non-wage fi lers: prepares and issues 
payroll checks, prepares and fi les state income tax withholding 
reports or unemployment insurance contribution reports, or 
collects, holds and turns over to the State Tax Assessor income tax 
withholding or unemployment insurance contributions.  By January 
31st of each year, all payroll processing companies must obtain a 
license from the Maine Department of Professional and Financial 
Regulation, Burerau of Consumer Credit Protection (www.credit.
maine.gov).  

All payroll processors must provide proof of liability insurance equal 
to twice the highest weekly payroll processed by the business in 
the preceding year or $5,000,000, whichever is less.  For liability 
insurance coverage, the processor may choose from a fi delity 
bond, employee dishonesty bond, third-party fi delity coverage or 
liability insurance that includes crime coverage.  

Payroll processors who have authority to access, control, direct, 
transfer or disburse a client’s funds must also provide evidence 
of a surety bond in an amount equal to the greater of $50,000 
or the total of all local, state and federal tax payments and 
unemployment contributions remitted by the payroll processor on 
behalf of employers in this state in the 3-consecutive-month period 

of highest volume during the previous calendar year.  The bond 
need not exceed $500,000.  A letter of credit or participation in the 
state’s Payroll Processor Recovery Fund can be substituted for a 
surety bond.

A payroll processor must provide certain information to each client 
at least every quarter. Such information includes an accounting of 
funds received and disbursed, contact information for state and 
federal tax agencies to verify payments have been made, and 
notice that bonding does not necessarily ensure that all claims 
will be covered if the payroll processor fails to comply with its 
responsibilities.

A payroll processor may not designate itself as the sole 
recipient of notices from state or federal authorities for 
nonpayment of taxes or unemployment contributions.  A 
payroll processor shall ensure that such notices are provided 
directly to the affected employers or non-wage fi lers.
Failure to register or abide by all statutory requirements will subject 
a payroll processor to certain civil penalties.  Further information 
and applications may be obtained from the Burerau of Consumer 
Credit Protection.  Call (207) 624-8527 or visit  the web site at 
www.credit.maine.gov (select  “List of license types”, then go to  
“Payroll Processor”).
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Business Change 
Notifi cation

Complete this form to report a change in your withholding account contact information or to cancel your 
withholding account.  Incomplete forms will not be processed.

                         NOTE:  Do not enter a Payroll Preparer’s address or other contact information here.

Step 3
Request to 
cancel
account.
(Do not 
report 
cancellation 
for a seasonal 
shutdown 
period.)

Check this box to cancel Withholding Account

Check this box to cancel Unemployment Insurance Contributions Account.

Reason for Cancellation:          Business Closed
                             
                                                  Business Sold to:   Name:______________________________________________

                                                                                 Address:____________________________________________

                                                                                               ____________________________________________  
                                                                                
                                                                                 Date Business Sold: __________________________________
                   
                                                   Other _____________________________________________________________

Date the business no
longer had employees   ______________________________________  Date of last payroll   ________________________________

Under penalties of perjury, I certify that the information contained on this form is true and correct.
Print Name:__________________________________________________________________________________

Signature:_________________________________ Print Title:__________________________________________

Date: ____________________________________ Daytime Phone:  ____________________________________

Step 1
Identify your
business as
currently on
fi le with  Maine
Revenue
Services.

Current Name:________________________________________________________________________________

Current Address:______________________________________________________________________________

Current Phone Number:________________________________________________________________________
 
Withholding Account Number:_____________________  UC Employer Account Number:_____________________
 

Step 2
List your new
contact
information;
enter only if 
different from 
current
information.

New Name:__________________________________________________________________________________

New ATTN Line:______________________________________________________________________________

New Address:________________________________________________________________________________

New Email Address:___________________________________________________________________________
                                                                                                      (PRINT CLEARLY)

New Phone Number:____________________________Effective Date of Change__________________________

Step 4
Sign and 
mail your 
report.

Paid Preparer’s Signature:____________________________________________________

Firm’s Name (or yours if self-employed):_________________________________________

Address:_____________________________________________________________________________________________________

EIN/SSN: _______________________________Maine Payroll Processor License Number: ___________________________________  

Date: _____________________________

Phone: ____________________________

For Paid Preparers Only

Rev. 12/08

Mail to:  Maine Dept. of Labor, Central Registration Unit
              P.O. Box 1057, Augusta, ME 04332-0057

FORM 941BN-ME MAINE REVENUE SERVICES

 /  /

 /  /  /  /

 /  /

 /  /

 /  /
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GENERAL INFORMATION

Who must fi le?  All pass-through entities required to withhold 
Maine income tax from the Maine-source distributive income of 
each nonresident member (partner, shareholder, LLC member, etc.) 
must fi le Form 941P-ME.  Note: This withholding requirement 
is separate from and in addition to employee income tax 
withholding requirement.
When to fi le.  Returns must be completed and fi led with Maine 
Revenue Services each quarter according to the following 
schedule:

     Quarter Period Covered  Due Date
Quarter 1 ........... 01-01-09 to 03-31-09 ...........04-30-09
Quarter 2 ........... 04-01-09 to 06-30-09 ...........07-31-09 
Quarter 3 ........... 07-01-09 to 09-30-09 ...........10-31-09
Quarter 4 ........... 10-01-09 to 12-31-09 ...........01-31-10

Payment:  Payment of withholding amounts must be remitted 
quarterly at the time of fi ling the return to avoid interest and penalty.  
Prepayments may also  be made by paper voucher (Form 900ME) 
or electronically (EFT or EZ Pay) during the quarter.

Interest and Penalty.  Beginning January 1, 2009, the interest rate 
is 8% per annum, compounded monthly.  The penalty for failure to 
pay the withholding tax on time is 1% per month up to a maximum 
of 25%.  The penalty for failure to fi le a return on time is 10% of the 
tax liability or $25, whichever is greater.  If a return is fi led more 
than 30 days after demand, the penalty is 100% of the tax due.

Where to fi le.  Mail returns, with payments, to Maine Revenue 
Services, P.O. Box 9118, Augusta, Maine 04332-9118.

How much should I withhold?  You must withhold 8.5% of any 
Maine-source distributable income for each nonresident member 
(8.93% for C corporation members).  This percentage represents 
Maine’s top income tax rate.  If you do not know the exact amount 
of income allocated to a member, you must estimate.  To avoid 
penalties and interest, the withholding tax must be based on either 
of the following:

(a) the prior year’s Maine-source member income, or

(b) 90 percent of the current year’s Maine-source member  
income.

Maine-source Member Income.  Maine-source member income is 
the member’s share of the net income of the entity apportioned to 
Maine in accordance with 36 M.R.S.A., Chapter 821.

Are there any exceptions?  If Maine-source entity income 
allocated to a single member for an entire calendar year or prior 
year is less than $1,000, this withholding requirement is waived 
for that member.  However, this does not mean the nonresident 
member will not owe income tax to Maine.  It is possible, especially 
if there is other Maine-source income, for the nonresident member 
to owe income taxes to Maine even if the withholding requirement 
does not apply.

If a nonresident member agrees to comply with all Maine income 
tax laws, no withholding is necessary for that member.  The member 
who has made this agreement must provide the entity with an 
Affi davit and Agreement to Comply with Maine Income Tax (Form 
941AF-ME).  The entity must keep the document on record for at 
least three years.  Further, the entity must annually submit a Pass-
through Entity Withholding Exemption Form (941E-ME) and a List 
of Participating Members in the Compliant Taxpayer Exemption 
(941LM-ME).

If a nonresident member wishes to be included in a composite 

fi ling, the withholding requirement is waived for that member.  Each 
participating member must provide the entity with an Agreement 
to Participate in a Composite Filing of Maine Income Tax (Form 
941CF-ME).  The entity must also fi le a Pass-through Entity 
Withholding Exemption Form 941E-ME with MRS, although a list 
of participating members is not required.  Visit the MRS web site 
at www.maine.gov/revenue for more information about composite 
fi ling.

If a pass-through entity believes, for reasons other than those 
already mentioned, that it should be exempt from the withholding 
requirement, or the entity would like to propose an alternate 
application of the withholding requirement, the entity may apply for 
an exemption.  In order to apply, Form 941E-ME and a letter of 
explanation must be submitted to MRS as soon as possible prior to 
the fi ling deadline for the quarterly return.  If the exemption request 
involves a complicated pass-through entity structure (i.e., tiered 
entities), more time may be required for MRS to issue a decision.  
If the entity requesting an exemption does not receive a decision 
prior to the withholding deadline, the entity will need to submit the 
required withholding.  The entity must reapply for the exemptions 
annually.

Copies of Form 941E-ME, affi davits and more information on pass-
through entity withholding and exemptions are available at www.
maine.gov/revenue/forms.

Composite fi ling. A composite fi ling is a simplifi ed group return 
for two or more nonresident individual members of a pass-through 
entity. Only natural persons and certain trusts may participate in 
the composite fi ling. For a full description of the composite fi ling 
return and process, see Schedule 1040C-ME at www.maine.gov/
revenue/forms.

The advantages to the entity of composite fi ling are that participating 
individual nonresident members need not be listed separately 
on the quarterly return (as is required by the pass-through entity 
withholding requirement), and no Form 1099ME needs to be 
issued to the participating member. The advantage to the individual 
nonresident member is that the entity fi les the member’s Maine 
income tax return (Form 1040ME) and pays the tax due.  

Do not withhold from members who have agreed to participate in the 
annual composite fi ling for 2009 (i.e., those included in the number 
of composite fi ling participants in the “Exemption Breakdown” area 
of Form 941E-ME).  The steps below must be followed in order to 
be exempt from the withholding requirement.  Note that entities 
fi ling a  composite return must make estimated payments in lieu of 
withholding from the participating members.

1)  The entity must collect a Composite Filing Participation 
Statement (Form 941CF-ME) from each nonresident member 
who wants to participate in the group fi ling. This statement 
must be obtained prior to the mailing of the Pass-through Entity 
Withholding Exemption form (Form 941E-ME).

2)  The entity must then submit to MRS a Pass-through Entity 
Withholding Exemption form (Form 941E-ME).

3)  The entity must make estimated payments (Form 1040ES-ME) 
on behalf of the composite fi ling group as long as the aggregate 
Maine income tax liability is greater than $1,000. All members 
of the composite return are grouped together and treated as 
one fi ler for estimated tax purposes. If the tax liability of the 
composite group is anticipated to exceed $1,000, the entity 
must make four equal estimated payments in order to avoid 
the penalty for the underpayment of estimated tax. Estimated 
payments for the composite group are due based on 8.5% of 
Maine-source entity income. As with any estimated payments, 
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Name:

Maine Income Tax Withheld:

Address:

C O M P A N Y I N C

1 2 3 F I R S T S T

1 2 , 3 4 5 . 0 0

Complete Schedule 1P only if you made prepayments during the quarter.  
Complete one row of the schedule for each prepayment made.    If you did 
not make any prepayments, do not complete Schedule 1P. 

Line 5.  Enter the total amount of pass-through entity withholding 
prepayments for this quarter.  Include amounts remitted with Forms 900ME 
as well as amounts remitted by EFT or EZ Pay.  Enter this amount on Form 
941P-ME, line 2.  

Schedule 2P
Pass-through Entity Withholding Listing

All fi lers must complete Schedule 2P, columns 6, 7 and 8 and lines 9 
and 10.  See further instructions below.  Complete all information for each 
Schedule 2P page submitted, including the check boxes at the top of the 
page.   If any nonresident member is other than an individual, a separate 
Schedule 2P must be submitted and the appropriate space at the top of the 
form must be checked.

Column 6.  Enter each member’s last name, fi rst name and middle initial.  
If a nonresident member is other than an individual, enter the business 
name.

Column 7.  Enter each member’s social security number or, if the 
nonresident member is other than an individual, the federal employer 
identifi cation number.  

Column 8.  Enter the total Maine income tax withheld for each member 
during the quarter. If a member’s withholding is greater than $999,999.99, 
enter the withholding on two or more lines to add up to the total withholding 
for the member.  If no income tax was withheld, enter zero.

Line 9.  Enter the total Maine income tax withheld for members listed on this 
page.  If no income tax was withheld, enter zero.

Line 10.  On the last Schedule 2P page only, enter the total Maine income 
tax withheld for all Schedule 2P pages.  If no income tax was withheld, enter 
zero.  Enter this amount on Form 941P-ME, line 1.

Each quarterly return in this booklet is preprinted with the quarter being 
reported, your Pass-through Withholding Account  Number, your business 
name(s) and the calendar period covered.   Your Pass-through Withholding 
Account Number consists of your federal Employer Identifi cation Number 
plus a two-digit state suffi x.  Returns must be completed and fi led with 
Maine Revenue Services on or before the required due date.  

Line A. Number of payees.  Enter the total number of non-resident 
members subject to Maine pass-through entity withholding  this quarter.

Line 1.  Enter the amount of Maine pass-through  entity withholding reported 
for this quarter from Schedule 2P, line 10.  Reduce the amount of this line by 
any amount of real estate withholding payments.

Line 2.  If you elected to make prepayments during the quarter, complete 
Schedule 1P.  Enter the total amount remitted (either with Forms 900ME 
or by Electronic Payments) from Schedule 1P, line 5.  Enter zero if you did 
not make any prepayments.  Include only pass-through entity withholding 
payments made by the fi ling entity.  Do not include Real Estate Withholding 
(REW) payments which are reported on Form REW-1.

Line 3a.  Enter the amount of Maine income tax withholding due with this 
return if line 1 is greater than line 2.  Enclose your remittance with the 
return.

Line 3b.  Enter the amount of Maine income tax withholding overpaid if line 
2 is greater than line 1.  A refund will be sent to you.

Business Change Notifi cation

When the business terminates or the requirement to withhold permanently 
ceases, or there has been a change in the business name, address or 
telephone number, complete Form 941BN-ME on page 3.

Schedule 1P
Reconciliation of 900ME Voucher or Electronic

Prepayments of Pass-through Entity Withholding
Schedule 1P reports prepayments of pass-through entity withholding.  

SPECIFIC INSTRUCTIONS

AMENDED RETURNS
If you made an error on a previously fi led return, you must fi le an amended return to correct the error.  Amended returns (one for income 
tax withholding and one for unemployment contributions) are located in this booklet immediately following Form W-3ME.  Instructions for 
completing these forms are on the back of each form.   Additional forms are available at www.maine.gov/revenue/forms or by calling 
(207) 624-7894.

they may be based either on 90% of the current year’s Maine-
source member income or 100% of the previous year’s Maine-
source member income. For more information about estimated 
tax payments, see the instructions and worksheets for Forms 
1040ES-ME and 2210ME.

4) The fi nal requirement for the composite fi ling exemption is the 
fi ling of the composite return.  Instructions for the composite 
fi ling can be found with Schedule 1040C-ME. Along with the 
composite return (fi led on Form 1040ME), the entity must 
complete and include Schedule 1040C-ME and Schedule 
NRC, which asks for the name, ownership percentage, ID 
number (SSN, EIN, etc.) and share of Maine-source income 
for each participating member.

Form 1099ME.  After the calendar year and by January 31, the 
pass-through entity must supply each member with a copy of Form 
1099ME (available in this booklet or at www.maine.gov/revenue/
forms or by calling (207) 624-7894), showing the total amount 
withheld for the year for that member.  The member must present 
this with his/her individual income tax return in order to prove the 
amount withheld for the year.  A person who furnishes a false or 
fraudulent Form 1099 or fails to furnish a Form 1099 commits a civil 
violation for which a fi ne of $50 for each failure must be imposed.

Form W-3ME.  Pass-Through Entities that withhold Maine Income 
Tax must fi le an annual reconciliation (Form W-3ME) by February 
28 of the following year.  See Form W-3ME for more information.

Note:  Forms in this book are designed to comply with optical 
scanning requirements.  The spaces underlined in 
red must be completed carefully in black or blue ink.  
Letters and numbers must be entered legibly within the 
underlined area.  Letters must appear in upper case 
only and start on the left.  Numbers must start from the 
right. 

 For example:

Do not mail photocopies of the forms in this book to Maine 
Revenue Services.  Photocopied forms cannot be 
processed by the scanning system.  Additional forms 
may be downloaded at www.maine.gov/revenue/forms 
or call 207-626-8475.
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unemployment taxes.  To avoid having to make payments earlier 
than necessary, payments may be scheduled in advance and will 
automatically be withdrawn on the payment date you select. 

To use EZ Pay, simply register online at the time you want to make 
your fi rst payment. Once registered, the system will ask you to 
select the tax type you want to pay.  If you are making a semiweekly 
payment, select “900ME Withholding Semiweekly Payment.”  If 
you are paying a tax balance due with your quarterly withholding 
return, select “Withholding Payment.”  If you are paying a balance 
due from a bill or notice that you received from MRS, select “Bill 
Payment.” If you make semiweekly payments electronically, do not 
send paper copies of Form 900ME to MRS. 

MRS accepts both ACH credit method and ACH debit 
payments for income tax withholding quarterly returns.  
ACH Credit and ACH Teledebit (phone payment system) 
require the submission of an EFT application prior to use.  

EFT Required.  Taxpayers with an annual total combined tax 
liability for all taxes of $50,000 or more must pay electronically.  
For years after 2009, the threshold is $25,000 or more.  Payroll 
processing companies must remit electronically for all clients, 
even if clients are not mandated to pay electronically.  A payroll 
processing company may request a waiver from this requirement 
for good cause.  MRS also encourages voluntary participation in 
the EZ Pay program by those not required to pay electronically.  
There are no payment minimums.

ELECTRONIC FILING REQUIRED FOR SOME EMPLOYERS/PAYORS
 Revised Rule 104 (Electronic Filing of Maine Tax Returns) requires electronic fi ling of Maine income tax withholding returns 

if the employer or payor has 50 or more employees/clients/payees in the fi rst calendar quarter of 2009, 10 or more employ-
ees/clients/payees in the second, third or fourth calendar quarters of 2009, or 5 or more employees/clients/payees in 2010. 
Employers/payors unable to meet the electronic fi ling requirement because of undue hardship may request a waiver from 
the State Tax Assessor.  To view Rule 104, see www.maine.gov/revenue (select “Laws & Rules”).

Try it on your own or call us for assistance.  Experienced personnel will walk you through your initial registration and answer any 
questions you may have.  Call (207) 626-8475, select option 1, then option 4 for a direct connection to the Maine Business Tax Unit.  
For more information, see www.maine.gov/revenue.

Electronic Payment Options
Maine Revenue Services (“MRS”) offers a convenient 
24-hour electronic payment option called EZ Pay.  You 
can access EZ Pay on our web site at www.maine.
gov/revenue/netfi le/ezpay.htm. Almost any type of 
tax payment can be made, including withholding and 

ACH Credit.  A taxpayer may make payments using this method 
by authorizing their bank to withdraw the tax payment from the 
taxpayer’s deposit account and transfer it to the state’s account.  
You must have previously established a relationship with a bank 
that provides this service (generally larger commercial banks) and 
you must have previously registered with the MRS EFT Unit as a 
credit method payer.

ACH Debit.  A taxpayer may make payments using this method 
by authorizing MRS to electronically transfer tax payments from 
the taxpayer’s deposit account to the MRS deposit account.  
ACH Teledebits are initiated through a telephone call to the MRS 
electronic withdrawal payment system (207-624-7777).  This 
telephone payment system allows taxpayers to arrange for debit 
payments with effective dates up to 15 days in the future.  Another 
option available is for the amount due shown on the return you I-fi le 
to be deducted from your account within 3 business days from the 
date you authorize the transfer.

Penalty for Insuffi cient Funds.  The penalty for insuffi cient funds 
applies to electronic funds transfers.  The penalty is $20 or 1% of 
the payment amount, whichever is greater.

Penalty for Failure to Pay by Electronic Funds Transfer.  Any 
person required to pay by electronic funds transfer who fails to do 
so is liable for a penalty equal to the lesser of 5% of the tax due or 
$5,000.

For more information, an application or a copy of Rule 102, visit 
www.maine.gov/revenue and select Electronic Services; send an 
email to efunds.transfer@maine.gov; send a fax to (207) 287-
6975; call (207) 287-8276; or write to:  EFT Unit, Maine Revenue 
Services, PO Box 9100, Augusta,  ME  04332-9100.

The quarterly return and Form W-3ME may be fi led via the MRS Internet fi ling program (Maine I-fi le), which does not require any special 
software.  For your convenience, you may upload wage listing spreadsheet fi les via the Maine I-fi le program.  Maine I-fi le has many con-
venient features:

EASY LOGIN:  The login process is quick, making it faster and easier to get your work done.

FLEXIBLE FILING:  You can fi le returns for any quarter of the year.

FILE UPLOAD:  You can upload employee wage and withholding data from your spreadsheet fi le.

PRE-FILLED PAYMENT DATA:  Semiweekly payments made on Form 900ME or via EZ Pay wil be prefi lled automatically
                                                     on your I-File account, saving you time.

PRE-FILLED PAYEE DATA:  The I-File system for payroll taxes stores your employee data for the next quarter.  
                                                        Payee names and social security numbers will be pre-fi lled automatically.

SECURITY:  Maine Revenue Services uses 128-bit encryption and secure socket layer technology to ensure the data you
                     enter and send is secure.

Unclaimed Property Reporting Requirements
Maine businesses are required to identify, report and remit unclaimed property to the Offi ce of State Treasurer in accordance with 33  
M.R.S.A., Chapter 41.  The required reports may be fi led online (secure server) electronically using free downloadable software available 
at www.maine.gov/unclaimed or on paper.

The report must be fi led May 1st for life insurance property, gift certifi cates/cards, and stored value cards, and November 1st for all other 
unclaimed property, such as, bank accounts, uncashed checks and securities.

For more information, go to www.maine.gov/unclaimed or call (207) 624-7470.


