
Use this area only to report changes in your business
2.  OUT OF BUSINESS?    Check here       , return permit to Bureau and                     

     complete information at right. Date closed:

3.  OWNERSHIP CHANGE?  If you have changed ownership, indicate the date 

      when this occured here     and check the type of change below.

Incorporated
Other (explain on reverse)
Sold to

Partner added or dropped

4.  NAME CHANGE?        Attach explanation to this return.

RDGS Maine Revenue Services
Retail Dealer’s Gasoline Shrinkage

Refund Application
Registration No. Period Begin Period End Due Date 

Do Not Use Red Ink!

*0533000*
00

1. Entity Information

Name of Supplier Authorized Signature Date

ADDRESS CHANGE?: If your address above is incorrect, please 
make the appropriate changes to the preprinted address.

,               ,                

Mail To:
Maine Revenue Service
P.O. Box 1064
Augusta, ME  04332-1064

,               ,                .

RDGS - Revised 7/05

Please read instructions on reverse side.
Also complete questions 1 & 2 on reverse.

Total purchases in gallons        1.

Total Tax Paid  ,               ,                .

Refund Claim        

  2.

For assistance in completing this form, call (207) 624-9609

  3.

Line 1 x .259  

Line 2 x .005

This claim is signed under the penalties of perjury.

Signature/Title Print Name Date Phone #

Supplier’s Statement

The undersigned states that the following gallonage of gasoline was sold to the above retail dealer for the above period, that payment has been received for 
such gasoline, and that he is authorized to make this statement.

Regular gasoline gallons

Premium gasoline

Total Gallons

gallons



               To Retail Dealer

Please submit the following information

1. Location of retail outlets from which gasoline on which refund is claimed was sold. (Computer printouts are acceptable.)
                

street and number

street and number

street and number city or town

city or town

city or town

2. Are you on a consignment basis?  
                

If yes, please give consignor’s name and address

Title 36, § 2906(4) states:  A retail dealer is entitled to a refund for tax paid on account of shrinkage or loss by evaporation of motor fuel in an amount no 
greater than ½ of 1% of the tax paid on gross purchases.  The procedure for such a refund is as follows:

A.  All applications for refunds must be made under penalties of perjury and must be made semiannually within 90 days after June 30th and December 
31st respectively.

B.  The application must be made on a form prescribed and furnished by the assessor and must be accompanied by a statement from the distributor, sup-
plier or wholesaler of the gross purchases of motor fuel made by the retail dealer during the relevant 6-month period.

C.  The assessor shall calculate the amount of the refund due on all properly completed applications and shall certify that amount and the name of the 
person entitled to the refund to the Treasurer of State.  The Treasurer of State shall make a certified refund from taxes imposed by this chapter, PL 1997, c. 
738.

 INSTRUCTIONS

1.  Application for refund with respect to gasoline purchased between July 1 and December 31 must be made within 90 days after 
December 31; application for refund with respect to gasoline purchased between January 1 and June 30 must be made within 90 days after 
June 30.  Late applications will not be accepted.

2.  Refund will be given only with respect to gasoline.  It does not apply to diesel fuel, aviation gasoline or any other motor fuel.

3.   For refund purposes, “Retail Dealer” will be considered to mean any person operating a retail gasoline outlet from which gasoline is 
sold principally to others and delivered directly into the fuel tanks of motor vehicles or boats.

4.  A licensed distributor or other wholesaler, will be considered a “Retail Dealer” only with respect to gasoline delivered into storage 
tanks of retail gasoline outlets operated by the distributor or wholesale dealer.

5.  Where a commission agent or consignee is held accountable only for gasoline actually sold, the principal or consignor will be consid-
ered the “Retail Dealer” for refund purposes.

RDGS - Revised 7/05  For assistance in completing this form, call (207) 624-9609

Yes No

street and number city or townname


