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TAX LAW CHANGES FOR 1986:

Combined Reports — A single return may be filed on which the aggregate Maine In-
come Tax Liability of Maine-nexus members of a unitary group is reported. See page
2, paragraph 14 and Schedule CB.

Maine Corporate Income Tax Preferential Rates — in the case of an affiliated group
of corporations engaged in a unitary business, the respective preferential rates shall
be applied only to the first $250,000 of Maine net income of the entire group. See page
3, instructions for Line 7a.

Minimum Tax — The method of calculating Maine Corporate Minimum Tax has
changed. See page 3, instructions for Line 7b.

Estimated Tax — There are changes in certain requirements for payments of estimated
tax. See page 2, paragraphs 5 and 7.

NOTICE TO CORPORATIONS NOT REGISTERED FOR REPORTING
SALES/USE TAX ON OUT-OF-STATE PURCHASES. SEE INSERT.

For additional information or forms, contact:
BUREAU OF TAXATION - INCOME TAX SECTION
State Office Building
Augusta, Maine 04333
Telephone: (207) 289-3695

et
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IN ALL CORRESPONDENCE PLEASE REFER TO YOUR EMPLOYER FEDERAL IDENTIFICATION NUMBER.

GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS

1. CORPORATIONS SUBJECT TO INCOME TAX: Every en-
tity subject to Federal Income Tax as a corporation and doing business
within the State of Maine must file Form 1120-ME and pay its ap-
plicable Maine Corporate Income Tax, except corporations having an
election under Subchapter “‘S’’ of the Internal Revenue Code (small
business corporations), insurance companies subject to tax under 36
M.R.S.A., Chapter 357 (Insurance Premiums Tax and Fire Investiga-
tion and Prevention Tax), financial institutions subject to tax under
36, M.R.S.A., Chapter 819 (Franchise Tax), and corporate small
business investment companies, licensed under the United States Small
Business Investment Act of 1958 and commercially domiciled in Maine
and doing business primarily in Maine.

2. BANKING INSTITUTIONS SUBJECT TO FRANCHISE
TAX: Every corporation which is a financial institution, except a credit
union; any service corporation or subsidiary as defined in 9B M.R.S.A.,
section 131 and any financial institution holding company that is do-
ing business in this State must file Form 1120B-ME and pay the Maine
Franchise Tax. Please do not use this Form 1120-ME.

3. DATE FOR FILING RETURN: Corporations reporting for the
calendar year 1986 should file, with payment, on or before March 15,
1987. Fiscal year taxpayers should file, with payment, on or before
the 15th day of the third month, following the close of their taxable
year.

4. EXTENSIONS FOR FILING: The State Tax Assessor may
grant a reasonable extension of time for filing a return, for just cause,
providing a deposit of not less than 100% of the estimated tax is made
on or before the original due date. Negligence penalties may be added
for insufficient deposits. The Extension Voucher provided on Form
1120ES-ME should be used when requesting extensions that require
an additional deposit. If the estimated tax has been paid in full, it is
not necessary to file a request for extension. In this case, attach a copy
of the Federal Form 7004 to the Maine Corporate Income Tax return
when filed.

5. PAYMENT OF CORPORATE INCOME TAX: All taxable
corporations are required to pay estimated tax if the Maine Corporate
Income Tax Liability for the taxable year can reasonably be expected
to exceed $500. See the instructions for Form 1120ES-ME for com-
plete details. The present declaration Form 1120ES-ME voucher will
continue to be used, but note that a signature is no longer required.
As far as practical, Form 1120ES-ME vouchers and instructions will
be mailed directly to taxpayers. However, if you do not receive them,
they are available upon request from the Bureau of Taxation, Income
Tax Section.

6. INTEREST: Interest at the prevailing rate will be added to any
balance of tax due from the original due date to the date of payment,
and should be included with any payments.

7. PENALTIES: Penalties may be applied to any tax due at the
time of filing, if the payment deposited with the Extension Voucher
and estimated tax payments (Form 1120-ES-ME.) are not equal to the
lesser of:

a. Previous year’s Maine Corporate income tax liability, or
b. at Jeast 90% of the tax found to be due at time of filing of
Maine Corporate Income Tax Return.

8. PERIOD COVERED BY RETURN: Your return will cover
the same period as Federal Form 1120.

9. ACCOUNTING METHODS: A taxpayer’s method of account-
ing for Maine Income Tax purposes must be the same as his method
of accounting for Federal Income Tax purposes.

10. FEDERAL RETURN MUST ACCOMPANY STATE
RETURN: In all cases, Maine Corporation Return, Form 1120-ME.
must be accompanied by a legible copy of the Corporation’s Federal
Return, Form 1120, pages 1 through 4, for the same taxable period.
You are not required to provide copies of supporting schedules attached
to Federal Form 1120 filed with Internal Revenue Service uniess
specifically requested. Any corporation which is part of an affiliated
group is required to file Schedule CB and most include a legible copy
of pages 1 through 4 of the Federal consolidated return. If any
member(s) of the affiliated group is a DISC, FSC or Possession Cor-
poration which is not included in the Federal Consolidated Return,
also attach a copy of the Federal return for that member(s).

11, FEDERAL AUDIT CHANGES AND AMENDED RETURNS:
All taxpayers must report any change or correction by Internal Revenue
Service in Federal taxable income within 90 days after final determina-
tion of such change or correction.

Any taxpayer filing an amended Federal Income Tax Return must,
within 90 days, file an amended Maine Income Tax Return. When fil-
ing returns that reflect Federal net operating losses, a copy of the
Federal Form 1139 must be attached.

The State does not provide a Form 1120X-ME for amended returns.
Use Form 1120ME for the year(s) you are amending and print or type
‘‘amended’’ in the upper right corner of the form.

12.  CONSOLIDATED RETURNS: Affiliated non-unitary corpora-
tions will be permitted or required to file a consolidated return only
if the State Tax Assessor deems such a return necessary to fairly deter-
mine net income. Permission to file a consolidated return will not be
granted to effect a tax savings.

13. ALLOCATION AND APPORTIONMENT: The State Tax
Assessor has issued Rule 801 relating to the determination of business
and non-business income. This rule is available upon request.

14.  COMBINED REPORTS: Effective for tax years ending in 1983
and thereafter, a taxable corporation which is a member of an affiliated
group and which operates in a unitary fashion must file a combined
return based upon Federal Taxable Income. Additionally, any open
periods may be amended to reflect combined reporting, either by the
taxpayer or by the Bureau upon audit. Corporations which may be part
of an affiliated unitary group but are not required to file a Federal in-
come tax return are to be excluded from combined filing.

Maine law defines affiliated group to mean a group of two or more
corporations in which more than 50% of the voting stock of each
member corporation is directly or indirectly owned by a common owner
or owners, either corporate or non-corporate, or by one or more of
the member corporations. Unitary is defined as a business activity which
is characterized by unity of ownership, functional integration, cen-
tralization of management and economies of scale.

Effective for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 1986 a single
return may be filed on which the aggregate Maine income tax liability
of the Maine-nexus members of a unitary group is reported. All
members of the affiliated group are to be listed on Schedule CB. For
more detailed instructions, see Schedule CB. If you did not receive
Schedule CB with your return forms and are subject to combined report-
ing, it is available upon request from the Bureau of Taxation, Income
Tax Section.



SPECIFIC INSTRUCTIONS FOR PAGE 1 OF FORM 1120-ME

Line1. FEDERAL TAXABLE INCOME: Enter Federal Taxable
Income from Line 30 of Federal Form 1120 or Line 26 of Federal
Form 1120A. Those corporations which are members of an affiliated
unitary group see further instructions under “‘Combined Reports’’ on
page 2 and on Schedule CB. '

NET OPERATING LOSS: The amount on Line 1 may be a
negative amount only in the year of loss. If Federal Taxable Income
as reported on the Federal return is a negative amount as the result

of a net operating loss deduction, enter zero on Line 1 of Form
1120ME.

Line2a. INTEREST ON U.S. OBLIGATIONS: Enter here interest
on U.S. Bonds, U.S. Treasury Notes, or other obligations of the U.S.,
which by law are exempt from State taxes, but taxable by the Federal
Government.

Line 2b. FOREIGN DIVIDEND GROSS-UP: This is the amount
from Federal Form 1120, Schedule C, Line 10.

Line 2c. FEDERAL JOBS CREDIT ADJUSTMENT: Effective
January, 1977, an adjustment equal to the taxpayer’s Federal Jobs Credit
will be permitted. This should be accomplished by showing here the
amount of the required reduction of salaries and wages on your Federal
return, due to the Jobs Credit. A copy of Federal Form 5884, ‘‘Jobs
Credit,”” must also be attached.

Line 2d. RECOVERY OF 1984 DEPRECIATION ADD-
BACK: Enter on this line one-third of the depreciation adjustment you
were required to make on your 1984 return. Attach a schedule of your
own design to support your entry on this line. ‘

Line 4a. INCOME TAXES IMPOSED BY MAINE OR ANY
OTHER STATE: The Maine Income Tax Law does not permit a
deduction for income taxes imposed by Maine or any other state.
Therefore, income taxes taken as a deduction on Federal Form 1120
must be added back to arrive at Maine taxable income.

Line 4b. UNRELATED EXPENSES: If the corporation(s) included
on this return is (are) part of a group but filing separately for Maine,
then any expenses incurred by the corporation(s), on behalf of sub-
sidiaries or other members of a group who are not included on this
return, must be added back. If these expenses are not readily iden-
tifiable, or specifically assignable to a particular entity or entities, a
reasonable apportionment formula may be employed. Supporting
~ schedules detailing this adjustment must be attached.

Line 4c. NET OPERATING LOSS RECOVERY ADJUST-
MENT: Enter on this line:

(1) The amount of any net operating loss for this taxable year which
is being carried back to previous taxable years pursuant to United States
Internal Revenue Code, Section 172, and

(2)Any amount which has previously been used to offset the modifica-
tions provided by 36 M.R.S.A., Section 5200A, Subsection 1.

Line 6. MAINE TAXABLE INCOME: Corporations who are not
part of an affiliated-unitary group and have income solely from business
activity within this State should enter here the same amount as on Line
5. Corporations having income from within and without the State should
allocate and apportion income on Schedule A and enter on this line
the amount shown on Line 25 of Schedule A. All corporations who
are members of an affiliated-unitary group must complete Schedule
A. See General Instructions in paragraph 14, page 2 of this booklet
and detailed instructions on Schedule CB. ’

Line 72a. MAINE CORPORATION INCOME TAX: For tax years
beginning on or after January 1, 1983 the Maine Corporate Tax Rate
is as follows:

If the Maine Taxable Income is:
Not over $25,000
But not over

The Tax is:
3.5% of Maine Taxable Income
of excess over:

$ 25,000 $ 75,000...... $ 875 plus 7.93% $ 25,000
75.000 $250,000. ..... 4,840 plus 8.33% 75,000
250,000 or more...... 19,417 plus 8.93% 250,000

In the case of an affiliated group of corporations subject to Maine
tax engaged in a unitary business, the respective preferential rates shall
be applied only to the first $250,000 of Maine net income of the entire
group and shall be apportioned equally among the taxable corpora-
tions unless those taxable corporations jointly elect a different appor-
tionment. The balance of the Maine net income of the entire group
shall be taxed at 8.93%.

Line 7b. MINIMUM TAX: A minimum tax is imposed, for each
taxable year, upon every corporate taxpayer required to file a Maine
Corporate Income Tax Return. This minimum tax is based upon that
taxpayer’s items of tax preference as defined in the United States In-
ternal Revenue Code of 1954, Section 57, but excluding the capital
gain tax preference item in the United States Internal Revenue Code
of 1954, Section 57, Subsection (a) (9) (B). The tax imposed is equal
to the result of multiplying the net amount of the tax preference items
by 2.25% reduced by the greater of $1,500 or the taxpayer’s corporate
income tax as listed on Line 7a of the return. Complete Schedule B
to compute the amount to be entered on this line.

Lines 8a, b, c. CREDITS: These lines are for the use of taxpayers
who have made estimated tax payments and/or deposit when requesting
an extension of time for filing, as well as those taxpayers filing amended
returns and claiming credit for tax paid with original return.

Line 8d. SPECIAL QUALIFYING INVESTMENT: Enter on this
line the amount of credit for qualifying investment in the Maine Capital
Corporation and/or the Maine Natural Resource Capital Company. The
amount of the credit is 10% of your qualified investment subject to
limitations as outlined in 36 M.R.S.A., Sections 5216 and 5216A.

Also enter on this line qualifying Jobs and Investment Tax Credit
as outlined in 36 M.R.S.A., Section 5215. Eligibility for the credit
requires the addition of $5 million of IRC sec 38 property and, general-
ly, 200 new employees in Maine within a single taxable year.

Line 9a. TAX BALANCE DUE: If this amount is less than one
dollar ($1.00) no payment need be made.

Line 9b. If the corporafion underpaid estimated tax, attach Form
2220ME to show how you computed the penalty or which exception(s)
avoid the penalty.

Line 11a. AMOUNT OF LINE 10 YOU WISH CREDITED: Use
this block only if you elect to have all or a portion of the overpayment

on Line 10 credited to your next year’s estimated Maine corporate in-
come tax.

Line 11b. AMOUNT TO BE REFUNDED: Enter here the dif-
ference between Line 10 and 11(a). The amount shown on this line
if $1.00 or greater will automatically be refunded.



INSTRUCTIONS FOR SCHEDULE A OF FORM 1120-ME

GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS: Schedule A is provided for corpora-
tions engaged in inter-state business and/or filing combined returns.
Maine employs a three-factor formula to determine the percentage of
corporate business income which is apportioned to, and taxed by,
Maine. This percentage is derived by a fraction, the numerator of which
is the property factor plus the payroll factor plus the sales factor, and
the denominator of which is 3, or the number of factors used in Col-
umn 2, whichever is less. If the allocation and apportionment provi-
sions do not fairly represent the extent of the taxpayer’s business ac-
tivity in this State, the taxpayers may petition for, or the Tax Assessor
may require, in respect to all or any part of the taxpayer’s business
activity, if reasonable:

(a) Separate accounting.

(b) The exclusion of any one or more of the factors.

(¢) The inclusion of one or more additional factors which will fair-
ly represent the taxpayer’s business activity in this State.

(d) The employment of any other method to effectuate an equitable
allocation and apportionment of the taxpayer’s income.

‘““Tax period,’” referred to in instructions for Lines 2, 4 and 6 means
the period represented by adjusted Federal taxable income on Line §,
page 1.

“*Sales’” means all gross receipts not allocated.

Those corporations who are members of an affiliated unitary group
see further instructions on Schedule CB which is available upon request.

Line 13. SALES FACTOR: The sales factor is a fraction, the
numerator of which is the total sales of the taxpayer in the State dur-
ing the tax period, and the denominator of which is the total sales of
the taxpayer everywhere during the tax period. For the definition of

“*sales”” for Maine Corporate income tax purposes, please refer to Rule
801.

Sales of tangible personal property are in this State, (1) if the pro-
perty is delivered or shipped to a purchaser, other than the United States
Government, within this State, regardless of the F.Q.B. point or other
conditions of the sale; or (2) the property is shipped from an office,
store, warehouse, factory or other place of storage in this State and
the purchaser is the United States Government or the taxpayer is not
taxable in the State of the purchaser.

Sales, other than sales of tangible personal property, are in this State,
if (1) the income producing activity is performed in this State; or
(2) the income producing activity is performed both in and outside this
State and a greater proportion of the income producing activity is per-

formed in this State than in any other state, based on costs of .

performance.

Line 15. PAYROLL FACTOR: The payroll factor is a fraction,
the numerator of which is the total amount paid in this State during
the tax period by the taxpayer for compensation, and the denominator
of which is the total compensation paid everywhere during the tax
period. ‘‘Compensation’’ means wages, salaries, commissions and any
other form of remuneration to employees for personal services, in-
cluding deferred compensation. Compensation is paid in this State, (1)
if the individual’s service is performed entirely within this State; or
(2) the individual’s service is performed both within and without the
State, but the service performed without the State is incidental to the
individual’s service within the State; or (3) some of the service is per-
formed in the State and the base of operations or, if there is no base
of operations, the place from which the service is directed or controlled
is not in any state in which some part of the service is performed, but
the individual’s residence is in the State.

Line 17. PROPERTY FACTOR: The property factor is a fraction,
the numerator of which is the average value of the taxpayer’s real and
tangible personal property owned or rented and used in this State dur-
ing the tax period and the denominator of which is the average value
of all the taxpayer’s real and tangible personal property owned or rented
and used during the tax period.

Property owned by the taxpayer is valued at original cost. Property
rented by the taxpayer is valued at 8 times the net annual rental rate.
Net annual rental rate is the annual rental rate paid by the taxpayer
less any annual rate received by the taxpayer from subrentals. The
average value of property shall be determined by averaging the values
at the beginning and ending of the tax period but the tax assessor may
require the averaging of monthly values during the tax period if
reasonably required to reflect properly the average value of the tax-
payer’s property.

Line 19. Apportionment factor or percentage, rounded to 4 decimal
places, to be applied to business income on Line 22. If number of fac-
tors used in Column 2 is less than 3, divide Line 19 by number used.

Line 20. Enter adjusted Federal taxable income from page 1, Line
S of the 1120-ME.

Line 21. Enter on Line 21 all nonbusiness income allocable to'Maine
or any other state during the tax period. Do not include interest on
United States obligations or Foreign dividend gross-up accounted for
on page 1.

Line 22. Amount on Line 22 represents business income only, as
determined by subtracting nonbusiness income (Line 21) from adjusted
Federal taxable income. This is the amount on which the percentage
on Line 19 should be applied.

Line 23. Enter here the result of multiplying Line 22 by the percen-
tage on Line 19. This is your business income apportioned to Maine.

Line 24. This line pertains to nonbusiness income directly allocated
to the State of Maine during the tax period. Any income which does
not arise from activities in the regular course of trade or business, or
which does not arise from property which constitutes an integral part
of the taxpayers trade or business shall be allocated to Maine to the

extent it can reasonably be determined to be derived from sources within
Maine.

Line 25. This figure represents taxable income apportioned and
allocated to Maine and should be entered on Line 6, page 1 of Form
1120-ME.

Lines 26 & 27. Supporting schedules, listing type and/or source of
nonbusiness income and related expenses, must be attached to the Maine
return. For specific instructions on allocation, please refer to Chapter
821, Section 5211 of the Maine Income Tax Law and Rule 801, con-
cerning allocation and apportionment of income. A copy of the law,
Rule 801, or further information may be obtained from: Bureau of
Taxation, Income Tax Section.



